We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had a very good time at the Meritage. Our room was very clean and appeared to be fairly new.
Our room service attendant, Manny was wonderful, he was very friendly.
The food at both bars was very good.The spa was really nice too. We opted for a late check out (6 pm) so that was really nice. I wouldn't say this is a "resort" and it is NOT worth the money that we paid, but it is a nice place to stay if you are in Napa. Would I stay there again? Not for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spilcher26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for your review! We apologize if we were unable to live up to your expectations. We are pleased, however, to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you'll join us again soon for a bite in the Siena Restaurant or the Crush Ultra Lounge. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,979)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,553 - 1,559 of 1,979 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Loved this place! Beautiful grounds and room, friendly staff (though we did avoid concierge as recommended here), close enough to downtown. We really enjoyed the free wine tasting on Friday night. In the wine tasting cave, the older guy who ties his sweater around his neck like a lame a$$, was very unhelpful and slow to serve us and just seemed really stuck up, but fortunately a couple of other guys showed up and they jumped right in to help us and were great.
Housekeeping tried to take our souvenir wine glasses we got with the cave tasting. Everything else here was great though and I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happymom24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for a great review! We are elated to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate your comments and feedback, and the shortcomings you mentioned will surely be addressed with our teams. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is a very nice property. The grounds are beautiful with many cool features (small vineyard on the hill with a picnic area, outdoor seating with firepits, etc). The staff here was extremely friendly and helpful from the time I arrived until departure. The rooms were well done with comfortable beds and large modern bathrooms with a nice walk-in shower. Our room had a great view of the pool area and vineyard. The property has a nice cafe for a fast, tasty breakfast. We also enjoyed the complimentary evening wine. Overall this was a great place to stay and I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eev2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for a great review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We can assure you our team will be recognized for their efforts in creating such an impression on you! We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the Meritage Resort & Spa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I purchased a groupon for a 2 night stay at the resort. Was a little disappointed when I was quoted less than I paid when I phoned the morning I wanted to stay. Oh well, my fault.
Maybe I am a hotel snob. But this resort is like a huge Best Western to me.
The shower curtain was tattered, the dresser was broken(you had to shove it to get it closed) the bath stop was worn, door on one side of double doors was broken and didn't open, and 2 out of the 3 table lamps would not turn on. (Actually scratch that, I had to take the mini fridge out to plug in the table lamp as it had been pulled out of the wall.) No ipod docking station!(1st thing I feel is important in a hotel room)
As I said, maybe it was me, but I have stayed in other resorts in the area for a better price and rooms twice the size. I was traveling with two children, so it was fine. But if I was just with my husband I would have been pissed. Beds very uncomfortable. Staff was nice though, just not worth the $.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
3  Thank sns646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize if we were unable to live up to your expectations. We hope that you'll give us another chance. We are looking into the issues you mentioned, and thank you for bringing them to our attention. We hope that you'll join us again and experience the world-class guest service that we are known for. Please come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Meritage was a wonderful place to stay. From the front desk staff, to everyone that works at the resort, they are caring and share great customer service with guests. The Cave is beautiful inside and the wine tasting was a lot of fun and educational. The rooms were first class and very comfortable. The bathrooms are spacious and have beautiful tile, a large walk-in shower and top- rate accessories. The conference center was spacious and boosts a comfortable atmosphere. The food served at the resort was wonderful and the staff was very accommodating for all types of requests. I will definitely return to The Meritage for a vacation with my family in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you for a terrific review! We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and we appreciate your loyalty. Please join us again for a bite in the Siena Restaurant or a Swedish Massage at the Spa Terra. We look forward to your return, and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This resort is located in an office park area, about 7 miles from downtown Napa. The room we had was a double queen. Very beautiful and spacious with a large bathroom. Room service was efficient, and the breakfast delivered was excellent. We dined in both Crush (salads for lunch were nice) and Siena, where I had a delicious chicken avocado club for lunch. The spa is gorgeous. I enjoyed a nice massage and relaxed in the sauna followed by the jacuzzi. I highly recommend these services and/or the tasting room in 'The Cave'. Anytime we needed anything, the staff was accommodating and polite. My only gripes were on check in, we noticed the room refrigerator was not working and it required calling guest services three times (within four hours)before a maintenance man finally showed up, switching our refrigerator with another. On our morning of check out, we were relaxing in the room, when at 8:30am, housekeeping knocked on the door to see if we had left yet. This is just too early, in my opinion. We did receive a corporate rate of $159/night and for this rate, and even a bit more, I would return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the invonviences you encountered during your stay. We would like the opportunity to remedy the situation. Will you please contact the Front Office and ask for me directly? I am hoping to learn more about your situation, so it won't happen again. I look forward to hearing from you!

Kindly,
Evan Harrelson
707.251.1909

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Driving up to the The Meritage Resort and Spa was seeing a beautiful resort. From the time we entered the resort the warmth and friendlness of the staff was apparent everywhere!! The man
at reservations was so pleasant and helpful! Our room had water and a welcoming bottle of wine for us! We truly enjoyed The Crush with its unique bowling alleys, great food and wonderful staff that were so attentive! We enjoyed the wine tasting in Trinitas Wine Cave,too.. We had dinner at the Siena Restaurant that was amazing with wonderful service! The grounds are extraordinary and pictures do not do it justice! Getting up in the morning and looking out over the vineyards is breath-taking! We can hardly wait to go back! Great job by all!! Claudiac 01/17/13

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you for an excellent review! We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the Meritage Resort & Spa. It sounds like you truly took advantage of many of the amenities we have to offer. Our team will surely be recognized for leaving a lasting impression on you. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
3.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,064 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
5.7 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
4.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
4.1 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558-7524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Napa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#9 Business Hotel in Napa
#14 Family Hotel in Napa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range: $244 - $653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the rolling vineyards of California's Wine Country, The Meritage Resort and Spa illuminates with gracious hospitality, unrivaled amenities, culinary delights, and a wine and spa experience that you'll never forget. Here you can enjoy the best of Napa Valley without leaving the hotel grounds - wine tasting, award-winning cuisine, rejuvenating spa treatments, bowling, and luxurious accommodations over on 32 acres of stunning real estate. The Meritage Resort offers the perfect blend for the perfect stay. After the resort opened in 2006 and the Estate Cave opened in 2007, it expanded with a $40 million enhancement in Spring 2012, followed by a revitalization of the main resort in early 2014, to deliver guests the ultimate Four-Diamond Napa Valley resort experience. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing