We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was a great getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Was a great getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Went for a work retreat. What a treat! While it is away from downtown Napa, once you arrive, there's plenty to enjoy without leaving the resort. The spa experience was sublime! Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willp916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for an outstanding review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to you return to the Meritage Resort & Spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    490
    248
    85
    68
See reviews for
228
710
22
406
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

I was part of a large corporate group doing a "getaway weekend" in Napa. The property is incredibly lovely and well-maintained; the staff was gracious, welcoming, and helpful in a non-obtrusive manner.

My room was perfect -- clean, welcoming, and quiet. I also appreciated the green features of the room -- you have to use your room key card in order to activate the room's foyer light.

The spa was unique -- it's set under the property's vineyards. Unfortunately, they were having problems with the hot water first thing in the morning; my own treatment was unaffected (facial instead of something like a body scrub). The staff was doing their best to ameliorate the situation, and my own treatment was relaxing, thorough, and expertly done.

I would urge a fellow traveler that if the weather allows, go for a walk on the vineyard grounds -- the walking trail is a bit steep in some areas, but well worth the time for its beauty and quiet.

Highly recommended for a weekend getaway!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDD32999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for a terrific review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and weekend getaway. We hope that you'll join us again for business or pleasure, and we look forward to your return. Next time, give the Crush Ultra Lounge a try! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We enjoyed our Girl's Getaway for a couple of days at this resort. The best was the spa!!! It is an incredible spa, with the most professional staff. Would definitely go back, maybe next year will be returning, but for a longer time. So many things to do in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbody101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for an excellent review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your girls weekend. We hope that you'll join us again soon for a massage in the Spa Terra! Please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife had a two day event in the conference center so I tagged along for the overnight stay. Know this hotel is not in the vicinity of downtown Napa, it is situated in an industrial park. The resort does offer frequent shuttle service to the downtown area. Once you get past the office park and drive up to the facility the industrial part seems to melt away. The bell staff was very welcoming, willing to aid with luggage and escorted us to the check in desk.

The rooms are very well appointed, roomy with a trendy meets old Tuscan style. The bathroom was well laid out with a water closet, duel sinks and large shower. Considering the trend is going away from the old traditional bathtub/shower combo, at least put in a teak bench. Reasons for which ladies will agree. Our room faced the vineyard, and if you ask upon checking in, it may be possible to secure a room with a balcony and vineyard view. Another nice touch is in the room a bottle of wine, two wine glasses and a wine opener. Very nice!

Another trend is hotels changing their amenities to be classified as a resort. Really? This hotel is wonderful, beautifully appointed, has a spa, a restaurant, conference center and a coffee house. However, I think it is far from a resort; It is just a way to charge a "resort fee".

One has to go explore the caves, as well as walk through to the vineyard to the statue of the crusher. I will leave that you to explore more on you own. Given the opportunity to splurge on a Napa weekend, I would return through the industrial park to a large gem nestled against the backdrop of a vineyard.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 4000 building with a vineyard view. P.S. If you enjoy a great quality wine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChipsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your review! We apologize if we were unable to meet or exceed all of your expectations. With a bowling alley, restaurant, bar, spa, wine tasting cellar and much more we truly feel we deserve the resort title and would love the opportunity to prove it to you next time. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Myself and my 2 best friends planned a girl weekend for my thirtieth birthday and we couldn't have had a better time at the Meritage. We flew into San Fran and rented a car. I would recommend this that way you can get around to any or as many wineries as you please. The drive wasn't bad but traffic is pretty bad. I live in New York City and I still found the traffic to be a bit much. The resort is secluded on its own grounds but it is very easy to navigate around to both eat and visit other wineries. The staff is excellent no complaints at all with customer service. Rooms are immaculate. And the grounds are breathtaking. We visited numerous wineries at the suggestion of Justin and another concierge whose name slips my mind. Lots of 2 for 1 coupons at the resort but also from 4square. Ate all our meals downtown and have zero complaints as well regarding food. Def a trip to remember and we will be coming back very soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kassandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are pleased to hear that you and your girlfriends enjoyed your stay. It sounds like you truly took advantage of what Napa has to offer! We apologize if the traffic was a disruption, or caused you any inconveniences. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Meritage was fantastic!! The grounds are gorgeous with wonderful views of Napa! My best friend and I checked in and were very pleasantly surprised with the gorgeous room. The complimentary bottle of wine in the room was perfect. The concierge was fantastic and very helpful. To top it off, the bell man, Travis, went out of his way to make our stay wonderful. Everyone was attentive and we felt like the only guests in the whole resort! Great experience all around and we will definitely be coming back to visit next time we are in Napa! Thank you Meritage (and especially you, Travis!)

Room Tip: Make sure to find out what your balcony will look out upon.... We had a view of the parking lot, whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for an outstanding review! We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We can assure you Travis will be recognized for his efforts in making your stay memorable. We hope that you and your friend will be back to visit us soon. Give our Spa a try next time, or the wine tasting in underground cave! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

This hotel is absolutely AH-Mazing. Super pretty, rooms are opulent, and my best friend and I got free movie rentals of Twilight! The bell boy, Jay, was above and beyond helpful. He went out of his way to make our stay perfect. He delivered us our movies we wanted and even brought us popcorn on our girls weekend. Just perfect. This guy deserves a raise!!!!

-Angela R.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a balcony with a view! Also, some buildings were built only 6 months ago, so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for an excellent review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that Jay made such a positive impression on you. We can assure you he will be recognized for his efforts! We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
4.0 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
3.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
3.5 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
4.1 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
11.8 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Property: The Meritage Resort and Spa
Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558-7524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Napa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#9 Business Hotel in Napa
#14 Family Hotel in Napa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the rolling vineyards of California's Wine Country, The Meritage Resort and Spa illuminates with gracious hospitality, unrivaled amenities, culinary delights, and a wine and spa experience that you'll never forget. Here you can enjoy the best of Napa Valley without leaving the hotel grounds - wine tasting, award-winning cuisine, rejuvenating spa treatments, bowling, and luxurious accommodations over on 32 acres of stunning real estate. The Meritage Resort offers the perfect blend for the perfect stay. After the resort opened in 2006 and the Estate Cave opened in 2007, it expanded with a $40 million enhancement in Spring 2012, followed by a revitalization of the main resort in early 2014, to deliver guests the ultimate Four-Diamond Napa Valley resort experience. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing