We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Rotary convention” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Meritage Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
moraga, ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Rotary convention”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

The rooms were lovely and the staff very helpful ,beautiful setting . We had a room price negotiated for our conference however the regular rates seemed very steep for the area of Napa where the hotel is located.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mariemoragaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay while in Napa. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    445
    228
    79
    62
See reviews for
196
622
21
359
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Summerville, SC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I just returned from a conference at the Meritage. Our large group seemed pleased with the hotel in general. The staff is very pleasant and the property is very pretty. I've stayed in Napa several times before and will say that it's a little further out than I prefer and I'm not sure I would return for a personal stay. That being said, the Crush bar (with bowling alley) and conference facilities were nice. The conference meal (as is almost always the case) was just average. Attendees gave good reviews to the spa services (the only complaint being the prices). Overall, I would recommend this to any conference planner or large group looking to host an event in the Napa area.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over the bowling alley!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your review! We apologize if we were unable to live up to or exceed your expectations. We hope that you'll give us another try and come for a massage in our Spa Terra or some wine tasting in our Trinitas Wine Cellar. We look forward to the opportunity to prove that the Meritage is truly an outstanding place to stay while in Napa. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

First off I have to say that every single staff person we encountered, from housekeeping to groundskeepers to the desk would all inquire whether we were having a pleasant stay, and whether they could do anything for us. The rooms were beautifully appointed with genuine quality - nice heavy doors, great linens, everything was top notch. The fitness center was a really great gym for once, not a solitary stationery bike in an airless room. The spa was fantastic - Kevin gave the best massage I've ever had. Although the place is big, having recently added a couple hundred rooms, the service and quality gave it a far more boutique feel. The grounds are nothing short of spectacular - with a gorgeous path through the resort's own vineyards. Fire pits and outdoor seating dot the property. They make a huge effort to please the guest, and it works. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamelja F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you so much for an excellent review! We appreciate your comments especially regarding our team members. They are truly the heart and soul of our operation. We hope that you'll join us again soon for a bite in our Siena Restaurant or a drink at the Crush Ultra Lounge. We look forward to your return to Napa and the Meritage Resort and Spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We recently stayed on Nov 7 and Nov 10. The first night we were on the second floor of Bldg 4. I listened to people walking over my head all night. This is what I would expect from a much cheaper hotel, not one of this price range. We had a group with a total of 3 rooms. All of our group griped about the hot water and shower pressure the next morning. Location is great and a beautiful facility, but not worth the room rate. On the second stay, we were put in the main building. The rooms were much smaller and again we had little hot water. I expected much more than they provided in amentities in the room. Having powder creamer and not liquid is a true sign that they are not paying attention to the details of being a luxury hotel! We will be visiting and making recommendation for Napa as our friend recently purchased a vinyard in the area. The Meritage did make the cut for recommendations. The only positive thing is the location to the Napa Jet Center.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building and ask for a discounted rate. Not worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaSail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize if we were unable to live up to your expectations. We hope that you'll join us again so we may make up for the challenges you faced during your previous stay. We look forward to your return, and hope to be able to show you the world-class service we pride ourselves on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I recently went on a trip to Napa for a wedding with my family. We decided to taste at Trinitas on the evening we arrived and we were in for a treat. Not only were Michael and Chloe friendly and knowledgeable but they also provided such an enjoyable experience that it made the trip. We especially loved hearing about their recommendations for their wine including moscato slushies and other interesting facts and pairings. We ended up purchasing multiple bottles not only due to the quality but also due to the experience. I would definitely recommend this tasting and location to anyone that asks!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for an outstanding review! We are please to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us at the Trinitas Cellars and the Meritage Resort and Spa. We hope that you'll join us again soon for a stroll through our vineyard! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Ohio
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Staying here for a conference. Staff is very attentive and the rooms are nicely appointed. The larger setting is beautiful and conveniently located. Spa services available a bit pricey but to be expected.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank savoy555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for a terrific review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area. We hope that you'll join us again soon for a bite in our Siena Restaurant or some bowling at the Crush Ultra Lounge. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

When asked "if there were anything you would have liked to see done differently or better, what would it be", one can usually come up with at least something. Not in the case of the Meritage Resort! This hotel, its people, its setting, its level of service and the overall experience are absolutely second to none. I/we have had the privelege of traveling to quite a few very nice hotels and resorts all over the continent, and the Meritage has taken the top spot of them all! The manager (Evan) is as professional, caring and dedicated to providing an excellent customer experience as one can be provided. The concierge manager (Andre) went above and beyond for us in several ways which resulted in some just incredible experiences for us. The bellmen that helped us many times during our visit (Dillon, Jay and Manny) were all attentive, caring, professional and very helpful each time we asked them for assistance, and a young man named Zachary was remarkably polite and responsive when we caught him totally off guard with an early morning simple question (which really didn't even have anything to do with the area he worked in! ). Its quite obvious that all of the people within the Meritage are very well trained, and they hold themselves to a very high standard of customer service and care. Its as obvious that the leaderhip and management of the hotel are among the industry's best, clearly guiding and directing the efforts of all the Meritage people towards making customers of the hotel feel like they're whats most important to them. We didn't stay in any other Napa hotels so we can't compare the Meritage to anything else there, but we can tell you that there is no reason to even try any other high end hotel in the area. The Meritage is by far the best there is, in every way, and we recommend the hotel, the people of the hotel, the services and the experience of the hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the spa and vineyard, and we loved it every morning and every evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boaters63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for an outstanding review! We are so pleased to hear how much you loved the Meritage Resort and Spa! It sounds like you truly appreciate good hospitality and are able to recognize it. For that we truly thank you from the bottom of our hearts. Our team members will surely be recognized for their efforts in making your stay memorable. We hope that you'll continue to choose us upon future visits to the Napa area. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
3.5 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
4.0 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
3.7 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#5 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
11.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
4.1 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Property: The Meritage Resort and Spa
Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558-7524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Napa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#9 Business Hotel in Napa
#14 Family Hotel in Napa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the rolling vineyards of California's Wine Country, The Meritage Resort and Spa illuminates with gracious hospitality, unrivaled amenities, culinary delights, and a wine and spa experience that you'll never forget. Here you can enjoy the best of Napa Valley without leaving the hotel grounds - wine tasting, award-winning cuisine, rejuvenating spa treatments, bowling, and luxurious accommodations over on 32 acres of stunning real estate. The Meritage Resort offers the perfect blend for the perfect stay. After the resort opened in 2006 and the Estate Cave opened in 2007, it expanded with a $40 million enhancement in Spring 2012, followed by a revitalization of the main resort in early 2014, to deliver guests the ultimate Four-Diamond Napa Valley resort experience. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing