We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice resort, terrible experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Meritage Resort and Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Ft Worth TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice resort, terrible experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Upon our arrival at around 3:15pm, we checked in but they would not allow us to our room yet. Their policy does state 4:00pm check in. We sat outside on the deck and went back at 4:00. They turned us away again. After 4 attempts, at around 4:30, we were upset. They gave us keys to a room which was a double. I had the print out of my reservation which was a king room, took it back to them and they still did not have our room. We had early dinner reservations, so we had to leave our luggage in the double room where they promised to have it moved to our correct room by the time we returned. Of course, when we returned - still not done. This set the tone for the remainder of our stay. The manager did attempt to correct the mistake with a small discount and a bottle if champagne. The problem was more the attitude of the staff at the front desk however. I would have rather had good service, the correct room and a relaxing trip with my husband than the discount and frustration.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize if we were unable to live up to your expectations, and for any inconvenience we cause you during your stay. We want to assure you that the service you received is not indicative of the type of service we want to provide every guest. We hope that you'll join us again soon for a relaxing massage at Spa Terra or some bowling at the Crush Ultra Lounge. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    475
    244
    82
    67
See reviews for
218
669
22
388
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We set out for a couples weekend with us and another couple. Checking in was a flash and staff was very informative. Our rooms were brand new and updated. The concierge booked a car for our party of 4 to a restaurant called Brix north of Napa. (also wonderful) Later that night after dinner we wanted to continue hanging out and drinking so The Meritage has a bar with a BOWLING ALLEY! We had a blast bowling and playing other games till almost midnight what a day! We booked spa reservations prior to dinner so woke up at 8 to two 90 minute massages and a relaxing morning in the spa cave. Overall this place was a perfect retreat with so much to offer and we will be definitely returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for a terrific review! We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and your time in Napa. Crush Ultra Lounge is definitely a fun place to get drinks and do a little bowling. We hope that you'll join us again soon for a relaxing massage in the Spa Terra or some wine tasting! We look forward to your return to the Meritage Resort & Spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

The facilities and rooms are great! The spa experience is the best I have ever had. Shuttle service to Napa downtown restaurants is convenient. The location is great for a wine tour of Napa and Sonoma. Highly recommend this resort as the staff makes you feel special.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drsdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for a terrific review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and we anxiously await your return. Join us in Spa Terra for a relaxing massage next time. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We read the reviews and were concerned that it would not have the cozy, unique, bed and breakfast feel a lot of people look for in the Napa Valley experience. We took the plunge and discovered it wasw a grat place to call home base especially since we love the winses from the Stags Leap District. The room was clean and comfortable and the concierge would bring us back. ANything and everything we needed he set up perfectly. He made us feel like he wanted to help us with everything we requested.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for a fantastic review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Meritage Resort and Spa, and Napa Valley. We hope that you'll join us again soon for a bite in our Siena Restaurant. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

The resort is beautiful, but you quickly become a captive audience. Upon checking in, you are given a card to take to the concierge for your “welcome package”. After a brief intro to Napa wineries, restaurants and given a couple of wine tasting coupons, the sales pitch to attend a time share presentation starts. We did not want to be just rude and walk away, so we listened for a few minutes. It went on and on and we had an appointment elsewhere so we agreed to attend with the coaxing of $100 in vouchers to be used at the hotel or at select restaurants. It turns out the restaurants listed on the vouchers were fully booked for days and the only restaurant selection was at the hotel. The actual presentation was 90+ minutes for a ridiculous daily time share scheme. We could not wait to get out of there. The fact that a high dollar resort has to stoop to such tactics, forces me to give this place a negative rating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize if you were made to feel uncomfortable at any time during your stay. We hope to be able to make this up to you upon a return visit. We can assure you that we will address this with our team, and truly thank you for your comments. We look forward to your return, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I travel often for business and pleasure. The Meritage was one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. The room was absolutely clean and wonderfully appointed. I appreciated all of the common areas and the fitness center was great.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a vineyard view - very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynmof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for an outstanding review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you'll return soon for some bowling in our Crush Ultra Lounge, or a sip in our wine cellars. We look froward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a 4 diamond AAA resort, as such I expected it to live up to this billing. I stayed here for a 4 day conference and was favorably impressed. I would recommend getting a superior room with the patio- it's worth it. I found the room spacious with a great bathroom and shower. The bed was super comfortable. I did hear a little bit more noise from neighbors than I would like, but didn't affect my sleep.
The restaurant had excellent food, we had lunch here every day and I enjoyed each meal.
One of the fun things we did was bowling- there is a 6 lane bowling for 10 dollars per hr in the bar, name Crush.
The wine cave was pretty and the wines were decent but very overpriced given the quality- much much better wines for that price point outside your hotel.
The hotel is pretty far away from the vineyards, you definitely need a car.
I plan to return, I thought the resort was quite charming.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishingmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your fantastic review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and time with us while in Napa. We appreciate your comments and feedback, and hope to provide you with the same quality of service upon any future return visits. We look forward to your return, and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
4.0 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
3.5 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
3.7 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
4.1 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
11.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Property: The Meritage Resort and Spa
Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558-7524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Napa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#9 Business Hotel in Napa
#14 Family Hotel in Napa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the rolling vineyards of California's Wine Country, The Meritage Resort and Spa illuminates with gracious hospitality, unrivaled amenities, culinary delights, and a wine and spa experience that you'll never forget. Here you can enjoy the best of Napa Valley without leaving the hotel grounds - wine tasting, award-winning cuisine, rejuvenating spa treatments, bowling, and luxurious accommodations over on 32 acres of stunning real estate. The Meritage Resort offers the perfect blend for the perfect stay. After the resort opened in 2006 and the Estate Cave opened in 2007, it expanded with a $40 million enhancement in Spring 2012, followed by a revitalization of the main resort in early 2014, to deliver guests the ultimate Four-Diamond Napa Valley resort experience. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing