We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Escape to Napa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Placentia, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend Escape to Napa”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel was great on many levels. The restaurant staff were very friendly and took care of us without having to get their attention. The rooms were spacious and the facilities first rate. The spa looked fabulous but we did not get a chance to visit on this trip. The concierge staff were very helpful in getting us into a great restaurant and even checked us in early for our return trip home. The hotel shuttle was readily available and very flexible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for a fantastic review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you'll join us again soon for a massage at the Spa Terra. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    947
    507
    266
    96
    75
See reviews for
250
747
23
424
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Issaquah, Washington, USA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Wonderful experience! exceptional customer service, and quite a beautiful property. We were upgraded for our 10th anniversary, and had a lovely room right under the vineyard! The location, at the very south end of Napa, sounded like it would have been farther to drive to the wineries, but in fact, it is so convenient, and right off the main highway, literally minutes to the action! The spa was first rate ( and i spa ALOT! ), and the pool area is relaxing and quiet, with again, a lovely view of the vineyard. This resort is certainly set up for conferences and large meetings, but you dont ever notice, the service and grounds are so nicely serene. The ONLY thing i would say negative, is the parking lot surrounds the entire hotel, so you see it no matter what room you have, but again, dont let it sway you! we will definately make this our "go to" resort in Napa, and would highly recommend it to anyone! Also, the photo of the resort on the website does not do it justice, SO much grander and prettier!!!

Room Tip: rooms in building 4 have the balconies that face the vineyards, and dont be afraid that the bowling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monicajohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for a fantastic review! We appreciate the time you took to review us, and we look forward to your return. We understand that some of the features of our location may not be to your liking, and for that we apologize. We hope that you'll join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was my first trip to the Valley and our first impression of the city of Napa and this property were less than stellar. As you drive in you see that the resort is shoehorned into a industrial park on the edge of town. Nearby, ugly buildings compete for the eye with the brown hills near Napa. Our first room was in their sister condo property, which faced the industrial park and parking lot. The room was very nice and included a kitchenette, but we traded later for one that faced the interior of the resort and this was much better. The staff was pleasant and helpful in making this change. Behind the resort is a small vineyard that you can stroll in and this again helps with the sense of place. That day we visited the city of Napa which appears to be falling to pieces in its center, a large number of its storefronts were closed, giving a ghost-town feel. I was about to write off the Napa Valley in general until the next day when we ventured further north, finding the rolling green countryside, picturesque vineyards and quaint towns that we had expected. This is a very nice hotel, with pleasant staff and amenities, but it is only "pretend" wine country. For my money I would rather have stayed further north in the Valley in the center of it all.

Room Tip: Be sure you have a room that faces the interior of the resort or you will find yourself looking out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfrands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize if we did not live up to your expectations, or if our location was not desirable to you. We hope that you'll give us another chance so you may discover all the wonderful amenities the Meritage has to offer, such as the Spa Terra, private wine tasting and the Siena Restaurant. We look forward to your return, and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great all inclusive place to stay, golf, spa, winery, restaurants, great place to stay and great price.
Good food too. Concierge was above and beyond excellent! Rooms were very quiet and courtyard was welcoming and relaxing

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for a terrific review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the Meritage Resort and Spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, CA
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have stayed at this resort twice and am impressed by the courteous service and beautiful accomodations. The resort was expanding and under in construction in 11/11, but the expansion is finished and the results are wonderful.

Rooms are light (and have plenty of lighting), spacious and comfortable. Bathrooms are large with double sinks, large shower, etc and stocked with nice amenities. Our room had a mini-fridge, stocked with 2 complimentary bottles of water and a bottle of chardonnay. Two wine glasses and wine opener were also in the room, adding to the charm of the location. We were able to enjoy the wine while looking out at the vineyard on the patio of the room (new building, southern exposure). Truly relaxing and enjoyable in October. The beds, pillows and linens are excellent! Wake up call was be a real person, exactly at the requested time.

Check in was simple, even though our room wasn't available when we arrived. They pre-registered us and gave us a phone call when our room was ready.

The truly outstanding improvements to the property from 2011 are the outdoor seating areas. There are many clusters of comfy couches and chairs arranged around fireplaces, making the evenings especially relaxing and enjoyable. The pool area has also been changed since 2011, with the main pool now for adults only, and a kiddy pool available in a separate area for families and kids. I especially appreciate this "special" space that is reserved for adults...there are lovely loungers, pool service, and a nice seating area with fountains that light up at night. The resort did a fantastic job of dressing up this space!

Another fun addition to the resort is the bowling alley! I believe they have 6 lanes..funky, fun lighting, music, etc. The bowling alley is also a "sports bar", with several pool tables, along with many large screen TV's for sports fans. The bar service was excellent regardless of how many people arrived at one time. They offer appetizers and sandwiches, salads, etc,: service was quick, and the food was tasty. Although you would think the noise would be unbearable, it was actually a pleasant and fun environment with good acoustics.

In the back of the property there is a wine cave which offers wine tasting. I believe it was $25pp, although the concierge offered a $5 discount coupon. Personally, I think that is a bit pricey. The wine is from Trinitas, and I have tasted a couple of their vintages without being overly impressed, but as always, wine is a personal thing.

The entire staff appears to be professionally trained and managed, as everyone was extremely pleasant and friendly. The exception was one hostess in the restaurant who couldn't be bothered to fill us in on the menu of the pool bar versus the restaurant menu. I am certain any other staff member would have offered to go fetch the pool bar menu.

There is a bar in the lobby, as well as one at the pool....both have TV's for sports fans. A complimentary shuttle starts at 4:00 and runs to town every 45 minutes. It is very reliable and makes going to dinner in town a breeze (bus holds 27 people so there is plenty of room)...and certainly is convenient if planning on having wine/s with dinner.

Meritage has a resort, which I have heard good things about...I have't tried it on either trip so I have no opinion.

This is a nice resort, out of the traffic and congestion of other areas in Napa. It is located south of the town of Napa. With the improvements the resort has made in the last year, along with excellent services and accommodations...I will definitely be returning to this area again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CubsWillRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for a tremendous review! We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, and we truly appreciate your loyalty. We love the attention to detail you provided our future guests, and cannot thank you enough! We hope that you'll join us again so we may continue to show you the world-class service we pride ourselves on. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Fabulous accommodations and wonderful helpful and attentive staff. Special thanks to Ruby, the SoaTerra manager. The shuttle to downtown Napa allowed our driver to cut loose and enjoy herself. Wonderful perk!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMS-AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and took advantage of our complimentary shuttle. Hopefully we will see you again for some bowling or a drink in our Crush Ultra Lounge. Please join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at the Meritage Resort 7-10 October and still have no idea about our final bill was/is. The Resort was plagued by computer problems for most of our stay making our final billing a mystery. That is unfortunate for we otherwise had perhaps the best vacation of our lives. We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary, and received a beautiful room with balcony overlooking the vineyards. The resorts services include a six lane bowling alley and full service spa. The spa services we received were first rate, although I still don't know how much I paid. Their wine cave/tasting room was also excellent and although we tasted up and down the Valley thought the Meritage had the best wines. The customer service, room service, everything was first class. Just like to know how much I paid.....

Room Tip: Upper floors that face vineyard, with balcony are the best. You may pay more but its better than lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosox61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your review, and thank you for choosing us for such a memorable occasion. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences we put you through during your stay. We hope that we can make up for it on future visits, and we look forward to your return. Congratulations on 25 years of marriage, and cheers to the next 25!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
3.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,991 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
3.5 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
4.1 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
11.6 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Property: The Meritage Resort and Spa
Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558-7524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Napa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#9 Business Hotel in Napa
#14 Family Hotel in Napa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the rolling vineyards of California's Wine Country, The Meritage Resort and Spa illuminates with gracious hospitality, unrivaled amenities, culinary delights, and a wine and spa experience that you'll never forget. Here you can enjoy the best of Napa Valley without leaving the hotel grounds - wine tasting, award-winning cuisine, rejuvenating spa treatments, bowling, and luxurious accommodations over on 32 acres of stunning real estate. The Meritage Resort offers the perfect blend for the perfect stay. After the resort opened in 2006 and the Estate Cave opened in 2007, it expanded with a $40 million enhancement in Spring 2012, followed by a revitalization of the main resort in early 2014, to deliver guests the ultimate Four-Diamond Napa Valley resort experience. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing