We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short weekend but not short on good wine, good fun and hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Short weekend but not short on good wine, good fun and hospitality”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Anniversary weekend in a great area of the US. Wine tastings at the home vineyard started our weekend off just right. Many Local dinner spots or even eating at the resort is to your preference. The staff couldn't be nicer from the front desk to the wait staff to the spa staff. By the way, the spa is a must do! I like driving my own vehicle but they have shuttle service into the town of Napa at no charge.

We"ll be back!

Room Tip: I would get a balcony facing the vineyard.....we faced the pool which was nice but no balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for an outstanding review! We are thrilled to hear that you and your spouse enjoyed your stay, and that we could make your anniversary special! We hope that you'll join us again on many more anniversaries, and we wish you many more years of happiness. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    937
    501
    261
    94
    73
See reviews for
242
737
23
423
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kenwood, California
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2012

It took forever to get checked in! The bed was hard. We found an open bottle of wine in our refridgerater and someone had used our bathroom. We were very disappointed in our visit to the tasting room, as we were not greeted or attended to even though there was only one other couple there. We left angry. We had a good experience in the Spa, however.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darci A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for reviewing us. We apologize for any inconveniences you went through during your stay, and we can assure you this is not the norm. We are looking into the issues you addressed. Please join us again so we may make up for the challenges you faced. We would love to see you and your spouse again in our tasting room or our Crush Ultra Lounge. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I booked Meritage for my girlfriends birthday weekend and I couldn't have been more pleased. The pleasure of the resort started weeks before when I reached out to the concierge service to arrange for roses and champagne waiting for us in the room, which ROSEMARY was the concierge person that was awesome. Starting with the check in, Evan the front desk manager checked us in and was nothing less then professional and courteous. Our room wasn't ready because we were early so we enjoyed a nice lunch at there cafe before heading over to the SPA for our couples massage. The massage and the spa was fantastic, which ended with a cheese platter and a glass of bubbly :-).. We finished our massage and the room was ready, got in and the roses and champagne were waiting and the room was clean and fresh smelling. I wanted to thank all the staff for making our stay very pleasurable!!

On another note, my girlfriend forgot her expansive hair dryer and straight iron and just remembered today, almost a week later. I called the front desk manager EVAN and within the hour he had called me back and located the hair dryer and straight iron. They also said that they would over night it to us. With that said, you can see that the staff is honest and our belongings didn't disappear.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idjr75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for a great review! We are pleased that we could make your girlfriend's special weekend memorable. Please know the team members who assisted you will surely be recognized for their efforts! We look forward to your return, and hope to see you again soon at the Meritage Resort and Spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We just had a late dinner/snack at the Siena Restaurant and Jack made the experience a real pleasure. He made us feel very welcome, gave good advice on the menu, and provided excellent service. If you go there, ask for Jack! (We are staying at Vino Bello next door to the Meritage.)
John and Lucy Witeck, Honolulu, HI

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for a wonderful review! We are happy to hear that Jack made such an impression on you in our Siena Restaurant. We hope that you'll join us again soon for some wine tasting in our cave or a stroll around our vineyard. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

completely amazing experience.Hotel staff & concierge were very professional,offering instant & accurate advice .Restaurant staff made our dining experience a pleasure.Would like to express an opinion about your complementary bottle of wine,instead of 1bottle of either red or white,you should offer splits of 1 red & 1 white to accommodate the guests preference.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for an amazing review! We are pleased to hear that you and your spouse enjoyed your stay. We are grateful for your suggestion, and will look into making that possible. We hope that you will join us again for a drink in our Crush Ultra Lounge, or maybe even some bowling! Please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I couldn't be happier with my experience at the Meritage. It was our first time in Napa and I wanted to make sure it was perfect because I wanted to propose to my girlfriend on the trip. I proposed to my girlfriend on the balcony of our room overlooking the vineyard and in view of the crush statue. The hotel manager (Evan) was extremely helpful in ensuring everything went off without a hitch, and even had the ring delivered to him to put in the safe vs me taking it with me on the plane. The concierge (Rosemary) was extremely helpful setting our our private wine tour, spa reservations, and dinners, and did so over phone weeks ahead of time. The hotel staff were very courteous, and our rooms were very clean. We stayed in building 4 (the newest one) and it was clean and quiet. If you go, make sure you use the spa - we did the couples massage, and my fiance also had the Bella facial, and my fiance said it was the best she had ever experienced. We also chose to have room-service breakfast every morning, which was delicious, and very convenient. We are definitely going back.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view of the vineyard - which made for a very romantic setting, and was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgerson88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for an excellent review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and our amenities. The team members you mentioned will certainly be recognized for their efforts in assisting you! We would love it if you and your bride-to-be join us again, did you know we do weddings too? Please let us know if we can have the honor of being a part of your special day! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We read the reviews so knew what to expect in terms of location. Yes, it is indeed situated in a corporate park. This didn't detract from the stay but I suppose given the amount you pay for a room you would expect the hotel to be situated up a hillside surrounded by nothing but vineyards.

Hotel certainly has a Tuscan theme going on. I would have thought it better to have a Californian vineyard theme going on rather than trying to recreate a bit of Italy but once you get over the fake air it is fine. Check in was smooth and efficient.

We had a room on the top floor of the new block. It was certainly big enough, with a massive bathroom. Bed was extremely comfortable and for once we enjoyed watching the television as there were loads of channels including a free movie channel (movies weren't new but certainly not dated either).

We had some issues with the room which mainly centered around noise. As some other reviewers have pointed out, for the section of the hotel we were in that has been newly built, the walls are paper thin. Just always try to go for the top floor as this will minimise issues. It seems incredible that we could hear somebody in the next room snoring...talking to their partner...listening to the television..! Cleaning of our room was certainly hit and miss as well. Some days it was fine, but on the last day the bin wasn't emptied, no clean wine glasses, no free water and no replacement creamer. For what you pay, you would expect these things not to be overlooked.

The pool area is gated and is adults only. Not quite enough sunbeds to go around as by mid afternoon the place was heaving on a Saturday. Lovely big comfortable 'beds' under a tent like structure. Half the pool will always be in shade as the sun moves across. Good for me as I don't like to be out in the sun all day but if you want to sunbathe all day you will need to keep moving around to find the sun.

We ate in the main restaurant one night - naturally Italian in theme. Waiter was charming. Food was very good although expensive. We had room service one night as we had a heavy cold and the food was appalling. Fridge in the room and tea/coffee making facilities.

The constant 'music' being played through loud speakers all around the hotel was irritating. They need to ditch it. There really is no need to sit on your balcony and hear the wretched music...or indeed hear it by the pool..in the lobby..and even in the restaurant. Tacky and distracting.

We enjoyed the bowling alley! It was good fun. I would think if you came as a group of people (we did see a lot of hen parties) then the spa, wine tasting tours and bowling alley probably add to the enjoyment.

We didn't stay long enough to take up any tours although we did get a price - very expensive. So it was nice just to be able to walk around the vineyward situated at the back of the hotel and have a discounted wine tasting session. We had a car of course so it was easy for us to get about although there is a free shuttle bus which goes in to the town of an evening so there is the chance to get off the property, find something to eat and drink in town, and be shuttled back. There is a surprising lack of places to eat in the hotel. The restaurant is good but expensive. The Krush lounge has bar food. There is a bar next to the hotel lobby but it is tiny and shuts down at 10pm.

Given what you can pay in Napa then this a good hotel and overall we had a peaceful stay. Just turn the air con up a bit to drown out the potential snoring neighbour!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MazM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your review! We apologize if we were unable to live up to your expectations. We are looking into the issues you faced, and appreciate the comments and suggestions you offered. We hope that you'll join us again so we may make up for some of the challenges you encountered. Please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
3.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,944 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
5.7 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
4.1 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
11.8 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Property: The Meritage Resort and Spa
Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558-7524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Napa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#9 Business Hotel in Napa
#14 Family Hotel in Napa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the rolling vineyards of California's Wine Country, The Meritage Resort and Spa illuminates with gracious hospitality, unrivaled amenities, culinary delights, and a wine and spa experience that you'll never forget. Here you can enjoy the best of Napa Valley without leaving the hotel grounds - wine tasting, award-winning cuisine, rejuvenating spa treatments, bowling, and luxurious accommodations over on 32 acres of stunning real estate. The Meritage Resort offers the perfect blend for the perfect stay. After the resort opened in 2006 and the Estate Cave opened in 2007, it expanded with a $40 million enhancement in Spring 2012, followed by a revitalization of the main resort in early 2014, to deliver guests the ultimate Four-Diamond Napa Valley resort experience. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing