We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left the kids at home, for a change,..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2012

So, four couples got away for a rare weekend visit up to beautiful Napa for some wine tasting, R&R and had an absolutely fabulous time. We were very well-received by the friendly, engaging and extremely helpful staff at the Meritage. The rooms were very clean and all the amenities were well placed. Didn't eat at the Restaurant, but instead took the convenient shuttle to downtown for dinner (should have eaten at Siena). I tried the "Napa Heat" cocktail beverage at Crush and that was very good - had a few,... (too many). Having been raised Catholic, I took advantage of the fully sanctioned Catholic church on site since I need weekly absolution and so that covered me for the week. Breakfast and Fitness Room were above average,...

Having worked at Hotels for quite some time, I rated the Meritage as "very good" - don't think I've ever rated anything as "excellent", just to clarify because of high standards.

Highly recommended though!!

Downside,... if I had to say something: there's no clear path to the "Grape Crusher" statue. Once the concrete path ended, you had to walk through Merlot Vineyards uphill, then through barbed wire and jump the rail to finally get to the statue. We wanted to get a picture of statue, but the path leads straight to his "backside" - who wants to take a picture in front of a gigantic buttox? You can jump the rail and go to the front side, but your camera lens will look straight into the sun. Pigeons have taken their toll on his shoulder, hat and back. The weather on Saturday was 100 degrees and a dip in the pool was definitely in order. Problem was the pool was under construction and being renovated (in mid June?). The adjacent pool could not accomodate the amount of guests wanting to use the pool. No chairs available and called for an umbrella that never came - thankfully, a group of guests were just about ready to leave and they let us use their area under the veranda, otherwise we would have been miserable. The Jaccuzi closes too early and should be situated away from the guest rooms - we were kicked out both nights. Also, where's the night life in Napa?

We're coming back!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Thank you for your review! I am glad to hear you and your friends had a great time exploring Napa and the resort. Your comments are greatly appreciated regarding the pool renovation and pathway to statue. I can assure you the pool will be back in no time and please join us again to experience it! Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,778 - 1,784 of 2,019 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012

I stayed at the Meritage because it was the recommended hotel for a family wedding and it was my first time to Napa.

The hotel, while only six years old, feels a bit dated in places. The overall configuration of the guest room wasn't ideal because there were so many big doors that made walking around difficult at times (e.g., big closet doors open out and hit the bathroom door that opens out). The A/C was decent but was noisy for sleeping. The view overlooking one of the pools (partially underconstruction) and the vineyards was pleasant. I was surprised not to find a shower cap, sewing kit and slippers among the bathroom amenities.

Breakfast wasn't included in the room rate, however the offering was nice. The fresh fruit was plentiful and so naturally sweet.

The hotel location is secluded and is in contrast to resorts that are situated in the quaint towns of Yountville and St. Helena. You need a car to access anything outside of the resort. The hotel does offer an afternoon / evening jitney into the town of Napa so you can enjoy a bottle of local wine without worrying about driving home.

The hotel has a great gym that's well equipped, spacious and open 24 hours a day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

Thank you for your review, and for choosing our hotel for your first visit to Napa! We apologize for any inconveniences you may have had to grow through while staying with us. Please rest assured that these issues are being addressed. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our fitness facilities and the transportation to Napa. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Me and my girlfriends were long over due for a girls weekend away in Napa and my trusted collegue suggested that we stay at The Meritage Resort. Honestly, I was hesitant because it's located outside of downtown napa, but my concerns were completely dismantled when my friends and I arrived at the resort. From arrival to departure, the staff treated us like family... The ones that love and adore you; it felt like home. The only down side is that there's no valet. Bowling, spa, wine tasting cave and outdoor pools! It's all good in the Meritage hood!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yjo1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Thank you for the excellent review! We truly appreciate the time you took to review us and share your opinion. It is always a pleasure to hear when our guests enjoyed their stay and especially when they were hesitant before arrival. I am glad to hear you took full advantage of our amenities and the surrounding area such as the world renowned wine tasting! Please return soon, and we look forward to being your home away from home again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The hotel is very nice. Great rooms, nice pool, nice grounds.

However, when you check in, they tell you to go to the concierge for a "welcome package". I was thinking that the "welcome package" would include discounts to wineries or some other valuable information. Instead it was the concierge showing you a map of Napa and then desperately trying to get you to sign up to go listen to a timeshare talk the next morning (8:30-10:00). The "concierge" is more like a used car salesman instead of someone who is going to actually help you have a better trip. It was very off-putting because I had just proposed to my girlfriend about 2 hours before we went to talk to the concierge and she pretty much said that it was nice how "understated" the ring was...wtf kind of compliment is that?? We were trying to make dinner reservations and thought that we were going to just stop by to get the welcome package. After we told her that we had just gotten engaged (and she "complimented" the ring) she moved on to telling us about "vacationing of the future" and how if we signed up to go to some talk the next morning we could get all kinds of free things like an all expense paid trip to Hawaii..yeah right. It was so pathetic, off-putting, annoying that I couldn't believe it. At one point my fiancee got a call from a family member who wanted to congratulate her on the recent engagement and the concierge was offended that she answered the call instead of listening to her never-ending sales pitch. The concierge just kept talking even louder so my fiancee had to just walk away, meanwhile the concierge is still talking at her with the look of "where are you going? Listen to me!!!" Unbelievable.

The hotel is very nice though, and I would certainly recommend it. I would, however, recommend that you DO NOT go to the concierge to get your "welcome package" (even though they will call you in your room to remind you about it!).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank green_monster12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you for your review. We apologize for any challenges you may have faced during your stay. We share our property with the Vino Bello Timeshare resort, and we like to inform all of our guests of the different options while staying with us. We hope that you will return soon, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This is a strange mix of hotel and time share. We had a late check in, after 10 pm, and knew the minute we got to our room we were going to be unhappy. It was small, and cramped, and all night long the air conditioner whined loudly. We finally turned it off, and opened the sliding door. The staff then started dragging patio furniture along the road outside of the room. It turned out our vineyard view room was really of the service road and a wall; if you looked up and to the right you had a glimpse of vines. We requested a room change to an upper floor and once we changed we were much happier. We did hear others complaining about being put into time share units that were not the caliber they expected for the room rate. You are not near Napa; you must drive to get there, and traffic can get jammed. The pool area was under construction. All in all, for the pricey rate, I was disappointed and would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Be sure to stay on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rugger Hugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Thank you for your review Rugger Hugger! I apologize for the inconvenience you went through, and can assure you that these issues are being addressed. Due to our location we can sympathize with how you felt about being able to get around. Next time, please check out some of the local winery tours. They pick you up right from the hotel and drive you back safely! We hope you'll try us again, so we may show you truly what the Napa Valley experience is really like at The Meritage Resort & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Great resort! Great experience! Check-in was quick and friendly. The rooms are beautiful and nicely sized with excellent bedding, seating area and desk! Very spacious bathroom with large shower, great cabinets and double sinks. Loved the bottle of wine in the room. Enjoyed the comfortable patio. Breakfast was good. Bar was average and expensive. Will come back!

Room Tip: Loved room 4414 on first floor by spa. Very quiet as it is at end of resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you for reviewing us! We appreciate you choosing The Meritage Resort & Spa as your destination while in Napa. We look forward to your return, and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed here while attending a meeting. The rooms are nicely sized and the double sinks in the bathrooms is always a plus. The deadbolt on sleeping rooms in new wing were improperly installed - at least in our room and another we tried... Also they need to work on the trip hazard electric outlets in their ballrooms - they Ned to be more proactive about that.

The food was very good - and all staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveling_a_lot4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you for this excellent review and for choosing the Meritage Resort and Spa for your visit to Napa! We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while staying with us. We are looking into the maintenance issues you addressed, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
3.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,099 reviews
5.7 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
4 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
3.5 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
4.1 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558-7524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Napa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#9 Business Hotel in Napa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range: $235 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the rolling vineyards of California's Wine Country, The Meritage Resort and Spa illuminates with gracious hospitality, unrivaled amenities, culinary delights, and a wine and spa experience that you'll never forget. Here you can enjoy the best of Napa Valley without leaving the hotel grounds - wine tasting, award-winning cuisine, rejuvenating spa treatments, bowling, and luxurious accommodations over on 32 acres of stunning real estate. The Meritage Resort offers the perfect blend for the perfect stay. After the resort opened in 2006 and the Estate Cave opened in 2007, it expanded with a $40 million enhancement in Spring 2012, followed by a revitalization of the main resort in early 2014, to deliver guests the ultimate Four-Diamond Napa Valley resort experience. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing