We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay...but what is up with the "concierge"??”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice stay...but what is up with the "concierge"??”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The hotel is very nice. Great rooms, nice pool, nice grounds.

However, when you check in, they tell you to go to the concierge for a "welcome package". I was thinking that the "welcome package" would include discounts to wineries or some other valuable information. Instead it was the concierge showing you a map of Napa and then desperately trying to get you to sign up to go listen to a timeshare talk the next morning (8:30-10:00). The "concierge" is more like a used car salesman instead of someone who is going to actually help you have a better trip. It was very off-putting because I had just proposed to my girlfriend about 2 hours before we went to talk to the concierge and she pretty much said that it was nice how "understated" the ring was...wtf kind of compliment is that?? We were trying to make dinner reservations and thought that we were going to just stop by to get the welcome package. After we told her that we had just gotten engaged (and she "complimented" the ring) she moved on to telling us about "vacationing of the future" and how if we signed up to go to some talk the next morning we could get all kinds of free things like an all expense paid trip to Hawaii..yeah right. It was so pathetic, off-putting, annoying that I couldn't believe it. At one point my fiancee got a call from a family member who wanted to congratulate her on the recent engagement and the concierge was offended that she answered the call instead of listening to her never-ending sales pitch. The concierge just kept talking even louder so my fiancee had to just walk away, meanwhile the concierge is still talking at her with the look of "where are you going? Listen to me!!!" Unbelievable.

The hotel is very nice though, and I would certainly recommend it. I would, however, recommend that you DO NOT go to the concierge to get your "welcome package" (even though they will call you in your room to remind you about it!).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank green_monster12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize for any challenges you may have faced during your stay. We share our property with the Vino Bello Timeshare resort, and we like to inform all of our guests of the different options while staying with us. We hope that you will return soon, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    926
    498
    258
    93
    70
See reviews for
238
729
22
418
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This is a strange mix of hotel and time share. We had a late check in, after 10 pm, and knew the minute we got to our room we were going to be unhappy. It was small, and cramped, and all night long the air conditioner whined loudly. We finally turned it off, and opened the sliding door. The staff then started dragging patio furniture along the road outside of the room. It turned out our vineyard view room was really of the service road and a wall; if you looked up and to the right you had a glimpse of vines. We requested a room change to an upper floor and once we changed we were much happier. We did hear others complaining about being put into time share units that were not the caliber they expected for the room rate. You are not near Napa; you must drive to get there, and traffic can get jammed. The pool area was under construction. All in all, for the pricey rate, I was disappointed and would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Be sure to stay on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rugger Hugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for your review Rugger Hugger! I apologize for the inconvenience you went through, and can assure you that these issues are being addressed. Due to our location we can sympathize with how you felt about being able to get around. Next time, please check out some of the local winery tours. They pick you up right from the hotel and drive you back safely! We hope you'll try us again, so we may show you truly what the Napa Valley experience is really like at The Meritage Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Great resort! Great experience! Check-in was quick and friendly. The rooms are beautiful and nicely sized with excellent bedding, seating area and desk! Very spacious bathroom with large shower, great cabinets and double sinks. Loved the bottle of wine in the room. Enjoyed the comfortable patio. Breakfast was good. Bar was average and expensive. Will come back!

Room Tip: Loved room 4414 on first floor by spa. Very quiet as it is at end of resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for reviewing us! We appreciate you choosing The Meritage Resort & Spa as your destination while in Napa. We look forward to your return, and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
467 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed here while attending a meeting. The rooms are nicely sized and the double sinks in the bathrooms is always a plus. The deadbolt on sleeping rooms in new wing were improperly installed - at least in our room and another we tried... Also they need to work on the trip hazard electric outlets in their ballrooms - they Ned to be more proactive about that.

The food was very good - and all staff was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_a_lot4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for this excellent review and for choosing the Meritage Resort and Spa for your visit to Napa! We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while staying with us. We are looking into the maintenance issues you addressed, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I do not recommend this hotel AT ALL. I live in San Francisco and had a conference here and was VERY disappointed at what they do to guests. They should be ashamed at themselves.
~The hotel is located in a corporate parking lot!
~The prey on 'out of towners' who don't know any better! It is NOT a great representation of wine country.
~There is construction going on all over the hotel and the views outside of your room all have construction views.
~It's VERY overpriced for what you get.
~It is at the very southern tip of the proper wine country and takes you a while to get to any vineyards.
~DON'T waste your time here. You are better off booking a bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Travelexpert333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review The Meritage Resort and Spa. We apologize for not living up to your expectations. We understand that our location is somewhat out of Napa, and we provide a complimentary shuttle each evening to downtown, in hopes of alleviating that inconvenience. We sincerely hope that you would return so we may provide you with the world class service we pride ourselves on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I had to come to the Meritage for a work convention and it was amazing. The staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating. The food was fantastic- They kept bringing snacks to us and they were all delicious. I would absolutely come back with my boyfriend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderwoman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for an excellent review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the Meritage Resort & Spa! We hope that you'll join us again soon whether for business or pleasure, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

First, we got a good deal on this hotel for Napa during the summer. If I had paid full price, I would probably give the Meritage a 1 or 2 star rating but I do factor in the price of hotels in my review. However, despite the good price we were still very disappointed in this hotel.
The Meritage is located in a business park on the southern part of Napa. If you do not know Napa Valley, the city of Napa is on the southern portion of the valley. To get to many of the popular wineries, you have to drive through the city of Napa to reach the wineries. Not a long drive, but probably at least 15 minutes. There is a winery on property, Trinitas, but we did not want to pay $15 a person for wine we were not sure was any good.
The hotel recently added a new wing to the hotel. There is a new bowling alley, coffee shop, and ultra lounge. Even with the $20 a day resort fee, bowling is still $15 an hour per person during the day and $20 an hour per person after 5 pm. The new portion of the hotel was also supposed to include croquet, but we were told the croquet was not available (even though it is listed on the hotel's website).
Also not listed on the hotel's website, that the main pool would be under construction while we were there. We had to trek over to the timeshare side of the resort called Vino Bello. The pool was crowded and it was hard to find chairs at 3 pm. We also found the pool to be too cold for our liking.
The room and bathroom was large and comfortable. Our room came with a refrigerator, coffee maker, two bottles of water each day, and a bottle of wine. One of our two rooms had mold on the walls of the shower. On one of our three days our water was not replenished. The windows of the room opened, which was a welcome surprise.
I think most of our dissatisfaction came from the employees who seemed ambivalent to the guests and when asked a question barely took the time to answer. The concierge was very rude when I asked for a map, the front desk could not answer any questions about the amenities (like bocce ball or croquet) without asking someone else, and several of the employees completely avoided us when we tried to ask a question.
So overall, we would probably not stay here again. Just too far from the fun of Napa (wine tasting) and not enough to do to keep us at the resort.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bopqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconveniences we may have caused you during your stay. The service challenges you encountered are being addressed, and we can assure you this is not the norm. The Meritage Resort and Spa takes pride in providing our guests with the best possible service. We know it is difficult during a renovation when things are not as they should be, and for that we apologize. We truly hope that you'll join us again so we may show you the world class service we feel you deserve. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
4.0 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
3.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
3.5 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
4.1 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
11.8 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Property: The Meritage Resort and Spa
Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558-7524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Napa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#9 Business Hotel in Napa
#14 Family Hotel in Napa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the rolling vineyards of California's Wine Country, The Meritage Resort and Spa illuminates with gracious hospitality, unrivaled amenities, culinary delights, and a wine and spa experience that you'll never forget. Here you can enjoy the best of Napa Valley without leaving the hotel grounds - wine tasting, award-winning cuisine, rejuvenating spa treatments, bowling, and luxurious accommodations over on 32 acres of stunning real estate. The Meritage Resort offers the perfect blend for the perfect stay. After the resort opened in 2006 and the Estate Cave opened in 2007, it expanded with a $40 million enhancement in Spring 2012, followed by a revitalization of the main resort in early 2014, to deliver guests the ultimate Four-Diamond Napa Valley resort experience. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing