We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Says it all. If you're looking for a true Napa experience, the location of the Meritage does not fit the bill. Located south of the city of Napa, the hotel's location and style/layout is best suited for a conference. The room was nice, however the mattress was uncomfortable, and for a relatively new property, the carpet in our room showed various stains. The hotel's restaurant, "Siena" was less than spectacular. They were severely understaffed for dinner, resulting in slow service and a wait for the next course and to place another drink order. The food was good however the curry-coconut sauce overwhelmed the delicate sea bass. The hotel charges a daily resort fee of $20.00 per day for the use of their small gym, and the outdoor pool and hot tub. Though the property boasts an underground spa, unless you book a treatment starting at $70.00+ you cannot use the spa facilities unless you pay $25.00 per day. I would prefer to spend more on a hotel in the heart of the Napa Valley and have the use of their spa facilities at no extra charge, plus most of these hotels will include a full breakfast, and a wine tasting with various cheeses, crackers, and fruit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingdoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Thank you for reviewing us! We apologize for any inconveniences we may have caused you. We are looking into the issue with the Siena Restaurant, and hope to have a solution soon. Our resort fee also includes: parking, wifi access, evening shuttle service, bottle of wine upon arrival, daily water in the guest rooms. We hope that sounds more worth it! Please give us another try, we would love to show you what our service and amenities are really like!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,021)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,853 - 1,859 of 2,021 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2012

We had a great stay at this hotel. At first look we were disappointed by the location of the hotel. But once inside the beautiful, new, clean, staff friendly hotel you forget all that. We were not happy with the view from our room because of current constriction which will be completed soon. It took just a short phone call to the front desk and they were happy to upgrade us.


The beds were the most comfortable hotel beds we have ever slept in. While Napa Valley was great we really recommend a visit to the Carneros
region. The fire pit at night was a nice touch. Craig at the Concierge's desk was very helpful.

We would certainly stay at this hotel again, hopefully next time having time for the beautiful Spa.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akocak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Thank you for your review! We truly appreciate the time you took to review The Meritage Resort and Spa. Thank you for being so understanding about our construction. Craig and the rest of the team will not go unrecognized. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

I've stayed here a number of times and always enjoyed the experience. We love the wine vineyards, cave with spa and wine bar. You won't find this anywhere. They are finishing an expansion with new rooms, balk room etc. but the best part is a new bar with bowling lanes.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kcmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Thank you for an excellent review! We appreciate you continued loyalty to The Meritage Resort and Spa, and look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We were up in Napa for an overnight getaway. When we checked in I asked if it was a good room. He nodded and said it was on the first floor by the pool. Ok.
Turns out it was lodged between the kitchen and the pool. We were woken up by the sound of clanking dishes. Not cool. They shouldn't rent out that room without a discount. They get kudos for giving me hall off after I complained the next day. But be careful when you book there. Otherwise the place seems clean and pleasant enough for a big napa resort. It's not too far from downtown. And if you get a decent room it should be ok

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSydell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageResort1, General Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

Thank you for choosing The Meritage Resort and Spa as your destination in the Napa Valley. I am disappointed to hear that your stay didn't meet your expectations and will address the necessary points to ensure future guests don't encounter the same experience. There is no excuse that your room location was communicated to you incorrectly and I am truly sorry your stay was compromised by our mistake. I would greatly appreciate if you would take the time to contact me so we can discuss your experience in detail. Thank you again for your feedback as it gives us the opportunity to better ourselves as a resort.

Michael M. Palmer, CHA
General Manager
707-251-1901

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We went for a girls trip and had a wonderful trip. The hotel was beautiful and all of staff were VERY helpful. Our room was nice and spacious and had a beautiful view. If you stay, pay the extra $$ for the Vineyard view. The spa services were divine. We would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristinLSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Thank you for an excellent review! We truly appreciate the time you took to review this, and you loyalty to The Meritage Resort and Spa. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We had booked this room through Priceline. I am not sure if this booking service had anything to do with it but we were given a room next to the remodeling and construction area. Upon arrival, the front desk hostess was not very welcoming and did not speak to us until I asked "excuse me, is something wrong?" In her reply, she apologized and that she was reading something. What was frustrating is that we were standing at the desk for a fairly respectable amount of time and she did not acknowledge us.

After the first night of stay, we returned early in the evening and the cleaning service did not come and clean the room. We had to call the front desk to ask them if this was an error. They seemed shocked at the complaint, and sent a maid to clean an hour later. When they did arrive, they did not change the sheets, they just remade the bed. This was evident due to our crumbs from breakfast were still in the sheets. Although the resort provided a complimentary bottle of wine, when we went to open it, the wine key had a hard, food, based gunk stuck to it.

However, the hotel/resort did provide a shuttle to take people to downtown Napa between the hours of 4-10:30. This was convenient if you are not familiar with the area; it will take you directly to the place you want to go, and the shuttle will come and pick you up where ever you are as long as you can name any point of reference.

Overall, I thought it was an average "hotel" with moody and/or lazy hosts/hostesses. The one employee that seemed to have a bit of personality was the bartender as we spent some time talking with her and griping about our stay. Looking back at the trip, it was not that nice of a stay and did not meet the star level advertised.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zebo_610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageResort1, General Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2012

Thank you for choosing The Meritage Resort and Spa as your destination in the Napa Valley. I am equally disappointed that your stay wasn't up to your expectations and I apologize for compromising your valuable vacation time. The hospitality you received did not meet our service standards and I would like to discuss this with you personally so I can make sure it doesn't happen again. Please contact me at your convenience at (707)251-1901. I look forward to hearing from you.

Michael M. Palmer, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We have stayed here twice, once in a regular Queen bed room and once in a room with a balcony. Both rooms were very nice, very clean, lovely large bathrooms, complimentary bottle of wine, comfy bed. The balcony room is quite special overlooking the pool area and vineyard.
The service here is exceptional-I entered the bar area and said that I had a question. I was told "the answer is "yes" before I could even ask!!!
Justin at the concierge desk is very pleasant and totally helpful. His restaurant recommendation was tailored to our likes. We have also had exceptionally friendly people help us at the front desk (Dolores checked us in and went out of her way to accommodate us).
They appear to be trying to minimize the noise from the construction area which is greatly appreciated. Our experiences in the spa area have been a major enjoyment during our stay at the resort. The "cave" has a beautiful and relaxing spa area and provides wonderful spa services.
We always look forward to staying here. Our contact with the management has always been very positive and they are very responsive to our needs.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Thank you for this excellent review! We truly appreciate your loyalty to The Meritage Resort and Spa. It is positive feedback like this that truly make our jobs worthwhile. We hope to see you soon, again and again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
3.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,099 reviews
5.7 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
4 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
3.5 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
4.1 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558-7524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Napa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#9 Business Hotel in Napa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range: $235 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the rolling vineyards of California's Wine Country, The Meritage Resort and Spa illuminates with gracious hospitality, unrivaled amenities, culinary delights, and a wine and spa experience that you'll never forget. Here you can enjoy the best of Napa Valley without leaving the hotel grounds - wine tasting, award-winning cuisine, rejuvenating spa treatments, bowling, and luxurious accommodations over on 32 acres of stunning real estate. The Meritage Resort offers the perfect blend for the perfect stay. After the resort opened in 2006 and the Estate Cave opened in 2007, it expanded with a $40 million enhancement in Spring 2012, followed by a revitalization of the main resort in early 2014, to deliver guests the ultimate Four-Diamond Napa Valley resort experience. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing