We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, wonderful spa, great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Fullerton, California
2 reviews
“Excellent service, wonderful spa, great experience”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We have stayed here twice, once in a regular Queen bed room and once in a room with a balcony. Both rooms were very nice, very clean, lovely large bathrooms, complimentary bottle of wine, comfy bed. The balcony room is quite special overlooking the pool area and vineyard.
The service here is exceptional-I entered the bar area and said that I had a question. I was told "the answer is "yes" before I could even ask!!!
Justin at the concierge desk is very pleasant and totally helpful. His restaurant recommendation was tailored to our likes. We have also had exceptionally friendly people help us at the front desk (Dolores checked us in and went out of her way to accommodate us).
They appear to be trying to minimize the noise from the construction area which is greatly appreciated. Our experiences in the spa area have been a major enjoyment during our stay at the resort. The "cave" has a beautiful and relaxing spa area and provides wonderful spa services.
We always look forward to staying here. Our contact with the management has always been very positive and they are very responsive to our needs.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for this excellent review! We truly appreciate your loyalty to The Meritage Resort and Spa. It is positive feedback like this that truly make our jobs worthwhile. We hope to see you soon, again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    947
    507
    264
    95
    75
See reviews for
250
744
23
424
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

On our 2nd trip here, we met a wonderful concierge named Justin who was very helpful and steered us to some great restaurants and day trips. On our previous trip, we had another concierge named Rosemary who was equally kind and helpful. Ask for them and they'll steer you towards the places that will be personally appealing. Our balcony room was delightful, and the spa immaculate and worth every penny. We will be back again and again, and cannot recommend the spa and wine cave experience highly enough. Only thing that we would hope they would improve upon is the food in their Sienna restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room overlooking the vineyard and wine cave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpaJunkiesRUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for this excellent review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your loyalty to The Meritage Resort and Spa. We will look into your comments about Siena, and thank you for your honesty. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Great place in super location. Had balcony upgrade but was a bit disappointed in that they put us into one of two "mini balcony" rooms that face one another. There are larger balcony rooms facing the spa/winery but apparently were unavailable according to the front desk. Also, the hot tub was broken which was a disappointment. Other than that, great place!

Room Tip: If they offer a balcony, make sure it faces the vines. There are two "mini balcony" rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinceSLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are thrilled that we could be a part of your special weekend. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we'll do what we can to get you a different balcony all to yourself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Don't overlook the fact that for the next several months construction is happening beside the Meritage, so location of the room is important. They do acknowledge this on the website but when I booked , Jan 2012, the webpage showed completion in July 2011. Respectfully, they have made efforts to privatize that zone. Our room was showing a bit tired look with a mattress on the uncomfortable side. Always a risk when staying at non chain type properties. Food was satisfactory in dining room and bar service was very good. Check-in was nothing special and I noted no mention of the resort fee, which was noted on another Tripadvisor review, but expected.
I think they are trying to offer a 5 star experience,but have some steps to take yet. Also, time share is involved I believe ( note the free wine tasting coupon ).
Might try tis property at a future date but with the selection available at time of the season, a good look around mitt be in order.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank opus11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize for not living up to your expectations, and if our resort fee was a surprise. The $15 resort fee actually includes: parking, access to the fitness center, access to the pools and jacuzzi, wifi access, evening shuttle service, bottle of wine upon arrival, daily water in the guest rooms. We hope that you'll try us again soon, and we look forward to having you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We were disappointed to find that this hotel is more like a conference center and is located in a corporate office park at the edge of downtown Napa. Oddly, the Wifi did not work in the room and when we called about it twice, the front desk's response was, "Oh, it often doesn't work with Apple computers." The rooms were comfortable and clean although there was only one hook for towels in the entire bathroom. The entire place felt like it was trying to imitate a spa rather than really being one; it had a pool, a spa, etc., but none of the coziness you'd expect. The breakfasts were excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BetsyRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for your review! We appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback. We apologize for the inconveniences we cause during your stay. Our wi-fi is something we are looking into and hope to have a solution very soon. We hope that you'll try us again and experience our world-class Spa and Wine tasting room. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Is it possible to be very unhappy with a Resort when you don't even get past making a reservation? I found out today that it is. I purchased a Groupon to stay at the Meritage Resort and Spa for a weekend. The first day that Groupon purchasers were permitted to make a reservation was February 15. I called at 9 a.m. on February 15 to make a reservation since the Groupon was only good until mid-May. Instead of handling my call, they took my name and number and told me that they would call back that day. I was not called back so at 4 p.m. I called back. Once again they would not take my reservation and said that they would call back that day. After several calls to the Meritage on February 16, they called back at about 3:30 p.m. I told them 4 different weekends that I was available to use the Groupon. They told me that there were no Groupon rooms available on any of those weekends even though I called at 9 a.m. on the first day that reservations were accepted. Then came the bait and switch. I was told that if I would pay $50 more a night I could get a room on one of those weekends. I refused to pay the extra money and now I must deal with Groupon to get a refund. Customer service and ethics are obviously low priorities at the Meritage.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank CantUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageResort1, General Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
Thank you for your interest in the Meritage Resort and Spa. I do apologize for the inconvenience regarding making your reservation as this is far from a common occurrence here at the resort. We are definitely busy making reservations with the Group On promotion, however there is no excuse for the way your request was handled. Please contact my Reservations Manager Elisse Peck at 707-251-1904 and she will be happy to find a solution for you. If you would like to speak with me directly, please call 707-251-1901. Thank you again for bringing this to my attention as I have taken all proper steps to prevent this from happening to other guests.

Michael M. Palmer, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Beautiful property: the rooms are elegant, clean, and spacious. The washrooms are nice - loved the shower setup. We stayed at a 3rd floor suite and had great views of the pool and vineyard. The lobby is nicely layed out. The pool and jacuzzi was very nice and clean. Relaxing experience. Large and beautiful patio on the ground floor with views of the pool. Great for morning coffee or catch up with emails. Free and fast Wifi.

There is no where to walk around other than just around the pool. It would have been really nice to have walking path along the vineyard especially after all the dining:)

The restaurant (Sian), however was not a good experience. It was average food trying to be Tuscan or something, but just really not well done or tasty. And really over priced for what it was. Fake and pretentious atmosphere. I would recommend eating at the lobby bar if you have to or somewhere off the resort.

Room Tip: I wouldn't bother with the restaurant. Over-priced for what they offer and not very good food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for the excellent review! We want to let you know that there IS a walking path that goes through the vineyards, and we apologize for not being more informative about this. We hope you'll return soon to experience it, and we look forward to seeing you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
3.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,987 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
5.7 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
4.1 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
11.6 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Property: The Meritage Resort and Spa
Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558-7524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Napa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#9 Business Hotel in Napa
#14 Family Hotel in Napa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the rolling vineyards of California's Wine Country, The Meritage Resort and Spa illuminates with gracious hospitality, unrivaled amenities, culinary delights, and a wine and spa experience that you'll never forget. Here you can enjoy the best of Napa Valley without leaving the hotel grounds - wine tasting, award-winning cuisine, rejuvenating spa treatments, bowling, and luxurious accommodations over on 32 acres of stunning real estate. The Meritage Resort offers the perfect blend for the perfect stay. After the resort opened in 2006 and the Estate Cave opened in 2007, it expanded with a $40 million enhancement in Spring 2012, followed by a revitalization of the main resort in early 2014, to deliver guests the ultimate Four-Diamond Napa Valley resort experience. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing