We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property, nice value, location only downfall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Stayed there for a three day Napa wine tour in early November. Price was great, just under $200 a night but we gave up some in location. Well worth it even if it added a little drive time to Yountville and the wine regions north of there. They offer a free van shuttle at night to downtown Napa which was nice, I think from 5:30pm - 10:30pm or so. The property is a little spread out so you may have a walk to your room. Friendly small bar, one restaurant which was fine for breakfast. Nice pool area which I believe was heated along with a hot tub. They have their own little vineyard, wine cave and spa as well. Very nice boutique property. This hotel is in a business park area so I can see it being more of a business stay property but again, it worked well for our group looking to avoid a $400 a night stay. We used Pure Luxury out of Sonoma for our mini bus transportation and they were fantastic. Friendly staff, clean property, small work out room but ok. Looks like a new wing being built. Definitely a winner for a business meeting and very acceptable for leisure. Charming property.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the vineyard in the back
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dfkcluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We understand our location isn't ideal for some people, however we are glad you took advantage of our free shuttle. We hope that you and your friends will return to see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,947)
There are newer reviews for The Meritage Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,806 - 1,812 of 1,947 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2012

We recently spent a week in the Napa Valley visiting the many great vineyards. Our stay was at the Meritage Resort. This property is an excellent operation and the personnel were great and most helpful in all respects. We will be guests there again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1pelagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Thank you for such an excellent review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Meritage Resort and Spa, and we look forward to having you with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

My husband and I travel to Napa 3-4 times a year. We found this place two years ago, by accident, and have returned at least a dozen times. The spa and wine tasting are conveniently located in the cave behind the resort and adds to the romantic ambiance. We always enjoy a wine tasting session then walk into the spa area for a spa treatment (the most beautiful spa we have visited in the wine country).The lobby has a beautiful fireplace that creates a warm, inviting feeling, which on certain evenings, hosts a free cheese and wine tasting hour. The pool area is great in the summer--it is staffed with a bartender that will deliver drinks to you in the pool, and it also houses BBQ's pits, if you wish to prepare your own meal (there is a great fish and meat market located a few miles down the road in Oxbow Public Market). The firepit located in the pool area, is a great place to sit in the evening and relax while enjoying local wines and cheeses.There is also a walking trail above the cave, with beautiful views of the vineyard. The rooms are always clean and nicely decorated. Downtown Napa is five minutes away and the resort offers free shuttle. All in all, this place is one of our favorite places to visit. We always leave feeling relaxed and refreshed. We have recommended this place to business parthers, friends and family, and they have never been disappointed. In fact, this is the place I chosen to celebrate my birthday this year!!

Room Tip: We love the second floor facing the pool, cave and vineyard.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WeetaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Thank you for your excellent review! We appreciate your loyalty, and the time you have taken to review us. We hope you had a great birthday this last time with us! We look forward to seeing you again, and continuing to make you feel at home while in Napa. Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My husband and I spent one night at the Meritage Hotel for out 19th wedding anniversary and loved all the little extra details that you don't get very often anywhere else. From the moment we checked in we were greeted with a smile and "Happy anniversary...." We also got a special card, some chocolate, wine and more smiles for our special occasion..... We loved the service and food at "Siena" and the wine tasting at the Trinity tasting room. The stroll trough the vineyards was also beautiful..... The only negatives were the lumpy pillows and the smallness of the room and that is why I did not give an excellent on everything.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Thank you for your excellent review! We are pleased that we could share you special occasion with you, and that you got to experience our amenities and service. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The Meritage is a lovely Italian feeling resort. We have stayed there three times over the last few years. I, particularly, love the under ground spa, it feels so timeless. The steam room is very nice and very clean. The room had a mini kitchen which we used and enjoyed having. I got a horse back ride in the Sonoma hills that was great and would recommend doing this if you love horses, vineyards and views of the Sonoma valley. We are going back this year. We liked the restaurant and they had very good service.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony facing the pool. The other side of the hotel is parking lot but still has...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honeyp13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our amenities. We look forward to your return and providing you another excellent experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We chose to stay at The Meritage after a few rave reviews from family and friends that had stayed there in the past. From the start we had problems...On our first attempt to make reservations, my husband was put on hold and hung up after being on hold for more than ten minutes. We both have little patience for businesses that do this, but still went back for more. While on trip advisor’s website, we clicked on a link that offered deals for The Meritage, called the number provided and once my husband realized he was not speaking to the hotel directly, he politely explained to the person on the other end that he would prefer to speak with the hotel directly and would call them, this person said, "[--] YOU" and hung up on him! Now we realize the hotel is not fully responsible for this, but this is a company that makes reservations on their behalf, which means that they are representing the hotel.

After all of this we still decided to make reservations. While speaking to the reservationist we were put on hold once again, for her to verify that she could match the price that we saw online, normally this wouldn't be a bother, but it took a while and if you are the reservationist on regular basis, this should be something that you are aware.

We check in without incident. That was probably the most pleasant experience. The first morning of our vacation, we are awakened at 6:30AM, by a chirping battery from the smoke detector. It is very frustrating to be awakened that early while on vacation. The hotel is responsible for staying up to date on the maintenance of smoke detectors and such.

Food at the hotel bar was bad at best. Worst of all, the concierge desk was downright rude and unfriendly. One thing that I thought was unusual is that when you entered and exited the hotel, they would give you direct eye contact but not speak, unless spoken to and unresponsive to a friendly smile. This is in direct contrast to what I accustomed to from a concierge desk!

All these minor things on their own would not have been a big deal, but when you add it all up, it makes for a less than desirable stay.

In the end I complained to the manager on duty, who was pleasant, but somewhat full of excuses. We were given a fifty dollar credit, of course to spend back at the hotel, which I have mixed feelings about.

All in all, not a great place to spend our Christmas break.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MEG7213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for your review. We apologize if we did not live up to your expectations, and we hope that you'll give us another chance. We look forward to the opportunity to show you our world class service! Please join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I've now stayed at the Meritage four times and anticipate that we'll stay there again when we return to Napa. If you can get a good rate, it's worth every penny. Google and shop around. Hold out for specials and you'll get WELL MORE than your money's worth.

Your room will have water and wine waiting when you arrive..and if you're like most people, you'll be spending a lot of time touring. The rooms are nice and clean and the Eggs Meritage is a breakfast that draws me in even when I'm not staying here.

Only complaint would be that in parts of the hotel the walls are thin and the floors are "thin" too. You'll hear your upstairs neighbors walking around. It's worth asking for a higher floor if you're a light sleeper.

Free coffee by the elevators. A nice free shuttle to downtown Napa. Gorgeous views and a gorgeous courtyard. We love it.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the courtyard are worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuRuRoams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Thank you for your excellent review! We are ecstatic that you had synch an amazing experience, and got to take full advantage of our amenities. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
3.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,043 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
5.7 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
4.1 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
11.6 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558-7524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Napa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#9 Business Hotel in Napa
#14 Family Hotel in Napa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range: $272 - $665 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the rolling vineyards of California's Wine Country, The Meritage Resort and Spa illuminates with gracious hospitality, unrivaled amenities, culinary delights, and a wine and spa experience that you'll never forget. Here you can enjoy the best of Napa Valley without leaving the hotel grounds - wine tasting, award-winning cuisine, rejuvenating spa treatments, bowling, and luxurious accommodations over on 32 acres of stunning real estate. The Meritage Resort offers the perfect blend for the perfect stay. After the resort opened in 2006 and the Estate Cave opened in 2007, it expanded with a $40 million enhancement in Spring 2012, followed by a revitalization of the main resort in early 2014, to deliver guests the ultimate Four-Diamond Napa Valley resort experience. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing