We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Meritage Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
112 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

This hotel spa resort is truly a hidden gem in Napa. I was pleasantly suprised and wished I would've experienced it sooner. I reserved a room using the special Winter in the Wine Country. The room was on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool, vineyards, and the cave. The room was spotless, no hairs here and I am quite fastidious. There was a welcoming bottle of wine and water provided at no additional charge. The room had a Tuscan feel to it. The bed was very comfortable as were the pillows.
The concierge did offer the timeshare presentation to us, but we politely declined and that was the last we heard of it. Everyone at the hotel, restaurant and spa provided us with excellent, attentive service, especially the bartenders in the lobby bar. The spa was one of the best ones I've visited. All 3 of my treatments were wonderful. We ate dinner, lunch as well as breakfast in the restaurant. Not one disappointed. We had breakfast in our room one morning and it was delivered hot and delicious, right on time.
I can't wait to be able to visit this lovely slice of paradise. It is a little out of the way, but they offer a shuttle that will take you into downtown Napa if you do need to leave.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room in the main hotel building on the 2nd floor that includes a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PenguinLuver23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review! We are elated to hear you had such a phenomenal experience, and we are looking forward to your return. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    467
    239
    82
    66
See reviews for
217
664
22
380
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

Room is basic and on surface appeared clean but I found dark hair on the blanket (I am blonde) as well as huge amounts of dark hair stuck on the shower wall. Coffee pot was not clean either.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nova5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageResort1, General Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at The Meritage Resort and Spa. Cleanliness is one of our main priorities and I am very surprised to hear what you experienced was well below our standards. What you encountered is far from a common occurrence here at the resort and I can guarantee you I will follow up with the appropriate management to make sure this does not happen again in the future. I would like to discuss the details of your disappointment personally so if you have a moment, please contact me directly at (707)251-1901. Again, thank you for staying with us and I apologize for your compromised experience.

Michael M. Palmer, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Hidden fees. I hated to see a $15/day appear on my invoice as a Resort fee. It seems that this addition is not identified much anywhere. Booking.com did not highlight it either.

Concierge service is there essentially to bring us to a sales pitch for something like timesharing. Don't call them concierge if they are not.

The room they gave us was directly on the exit of the kitchens, so we were never tempted to open the curtains.

The bath is very high, which makes it difficult to enter and exit when you want to take a shower.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for reviewing us. We apologize if our resort fee was misleading. Our resort fee also includes: parking, access to the fitness center, access to the pools and jacuzzi, wifi access, evening shuttle service, bottle of wine upon arrival, daily water in the guest rooms. Please return soon and request a pool view or vineyard view room. The vineyard views are spectacular! We truly hope you'll give us another chance and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

This was my first trip to Napa with my husband and two other couples. The Meritage is about 10 mins away from downtown Napa. However, the resort has a complimentary transport to downtown. They will take you and pick you up within their time schedule. Great resort. Friendly staff particular the chefs in the restaurant who would come out and talk to guests and even help wait staff. (Impressed). There is complimentary coffee every morning outside the elevator and it is delicious. The spa is amazing. You want to spend the day in there. We had couples message and facials each. Amazing. Time flies in the spa. The treatment rooms and relaxing room are very cosy and the showers and locker rooms were effeciently maintained both womens and men. Our resort room overlooked the pool and grape planatation and had a veranda where we would enjoy our coffee. Victoria at the concierge desk was very helpful booking us into some amazing restaurants for dinner. The resatuarants in Napa are amazing serving fresh, tastefull foods. The only disappointment was the gym was small with only a couple of machines of which some were not working however the resort is expanding and is putting in a bigger gym. I would definately recommend this resort and look forward to staying there soon again.

Room Tip: Get a veranda room overlooking the pool. Worth the extra dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BermudaCoelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for your review! We apologize for the inconveniences we may have caused in regards to the fitness facilities, and we are looking into them. It pleases us to hear about your wonderful experience in the spa, as this is something we take great pride in! Please, we hope that you will join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

This was my first trip to Napa. I went with my husband. It was awesome to stay between grape plantation. We had window view towards pool and grape plantation. Place was very good to stay and relax but one thing for which I didnt gave excellent is that it does not serve food for Indians in lunch and dinner as we have to manage ourself by going to downtown.
We spent 5 days over there. The room service was very good. The breakfast they served was really very healthy. It was a good experience.
The location is far away ffrom downtowm Napa as it takes 15-20 min in car.It gives facilities like Gym, Jakuzi.

Room Tip: next resort having same management under meritage resort and spa have studio appartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kridhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for your review! We apologize about not being able to offer dining that suited your needs, however we are pleased that you did find an alternative. We hope that the next time you visit Napa you are able to visit our spa or our bowling alley. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

We had a company offsite at the end of October and Meritage was a great location. The food and guest rooms are wonderful! The only drawback is the sketchy internet service. But as I mentioned, this was a work event. If you ever need to plan a event at Meritage, hopefully you will get to work with Rosanna Hotchkiss. She is awesome!

Room Tip: The Patio Rooms are great. They offer a nice sized balcony with a view of the pool area and vineyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for your review! We apologize about the inconvenience of the internet, and hope that we may make it up to you the next time you stay with us. Please join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

The facility IS what appears to be in an industrial park area, but the grounds are lovely with plenty of FREE parking!
The lobby is luxuriously inviting.
The staff at check-in were friendly and efficient.
Our room was quite away from the elevator, but upon entering the room we loved it.
Our view from the window was off the pool area and vineyard. The room had everything you need; fridge, which had complimentary water, a coffee pot, cups, coffee, wine glasses, opener, and a complimentary bottle of wine. There were thick terry robes, plenty of towels.
There were double sinks and the toilet was in its own room w a door.
The shower was large w great water pressure. However, the shower-head must have been 7 ft high & when you are 4'11", is problematic trying to reach, but if you are tall you will LOVE it. The robe hook was just as high and the sinks felt higher than the norm....which is just an observation. They include a hairdryer and even cotton balls and swabs.
We ate breakfast at the Sienna one monring. The prices were moderate and the wait staff were great. One morning we wanted the newspaper and in minutes the paper was at our door. We visited the bar a couple of times and each time the staff were friendly and attentive, however prices a little high. 1-bottle of Lagunitas IPA, and a cup of tea was $13.
They have a beautiful pool area, a cave w Spa facilities, & wine tasting room.
Because they are a bit of a drive from downtown Napa, they have a FREE shuttle starting @ 5pm and leaves every 1/2 hour until 10.
The only thing we did not like was the concierge. We approached them to help with a place for dinner on our second night. All they focused on was they had been "trying to reach us" "they have this promotion" "when are we leaving".....well the shuttle arrived and we had to leave....without any names of places for dinner. After we checked out and were walking out the concierge again jumped to the "oh just checking in"? "we have these promotions". We said nope we just checked out. I really liked this facility and WOULD recommend it. I would love to go back in the summer to take advantage of the pool area.

Room Tip: I heard one side is adjacent to the new contruction, so may want to ask to not be on that side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Puppylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for your review! We appreciate the time you took to review us, and provide us your feedback. We apologize for any inconveniences we may have caused you in regards to things being out of reach. I hope you enjoyed the shuttle service, and local Napa area as well. We hope that you'll join us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
4.0 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
3.5 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
5.7 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
4.1 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
11.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Property: The Meritage Resort and Spa
Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558-7524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Napa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#9 Business Hotel in Napa
#14 Family Hotel in Napa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the rolling vineyards of California's Wine Country, The Meritage Resort and Spa illuminates with gracious hospitality, unrivaled amenities, culinary delights, and a wine and spa experience that you'll never forget. Here you can enjoy the best of Napa Valley without leaving the hotel grounds - wine tasting, award-winning cuisine, rejuvenating spa treatments, bowling, and luxurious accommodations over on 32 acres of stunning real estate. The Meritage Resort offers the perfect blend for the perfect stay. After the resort opened in 2006 and the Estate Cave opened in 2007, it expanded with a $40 million enhancement in Spring 2012, followed by a revitalization of the main resort in early 2014, to deliver guests the ultimate Four-Diamond Napa Valley resort experience. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing