We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long established restaurant still does it right”
Review of Red Hen Cantina

Red Hen Cantina
Ranked #145 of 286 Restaurants in Napa
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Wine Country Ave
Napa, California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Long established restaurant still does it right”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The Red Hen is an institution in Napa. We were pleased to find that our three different selections were of very good quality and of sufficient portions to match the slightly elevated "Napa" pricing. I was impressed with the over-the-top amount of carnitas in the burrito I ordered. Beers were very fresh. Service was attentive but meal delivery on this Friday night was a bit slow. The complimentary chips and salsa were outstanding and replenished upon demand.
Parking is adequate but requires entrance on the north end with exit only on the south.
Overall, a good experience for us three.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElZid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    60
    48
    9
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This place use to be good a few years ago, now its ok to fair.
The service is ok sometimes but its hit or miss at best. The food not what it use to be at one time. There are better places to get mexican food in napa. The only thing we liked when we use to go there was the outdoor seating.




Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darel1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“much better than the overpriced places farther north”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

this place is good for what it does - simple mexican food at a good price. i had the mexican pizza (bit greasy but tasty) and my wife had the fajitas - also good. the service was mixed- the middle aged blondish lady who showed us to our table and gave the menus seemed bored and uninterested - but the guy who actually waited the table was helpful. the food was also reasonably priced - compared to the crap we saw in other napa cities.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johntaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Oh dear oh dear oh dear”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I am not a huge fan of Mexican food which isnt a good start to visit a Red Hen but staying next door at the isolated hotel we had limited choice one night. Plastic chairs, filthy floor, napkins and rubbish everywhere. Poor food, luke warm and uninspiring. Good point was the young service staff who tried their best to make up for the really moderate experience this restaurant offers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortson, GA
Level 6 Contributor
511 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Truly dreadful food & service - almost the worst Mexican restaurant EVER! :(”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

On a rainy night in Napa 11/18, I decided to try a Mexican restaurant near my hotel without first consulting TA. Mistake!

I had dinner in the bar on an almost-empty Monday night with football on a large-screen TV, but even in the absence of many customers, service was SLOW & uninformative. I usually judge a Mexican restaurant - of which I've eaten at many, having lived in LA for 25 years - by their chili relleno and refried beans. Here they were soupy, largely tasteless, & truly dreadful. Draft IPA & a large selection of tequilas helped, but not much.

During the next week I spoke with some of the locals about the Red Hen & learned - belatedly - that it's held in low regard. Too bad I didn't ask first! :(

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RalphSchmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Hen Cantina also viewed

 
Napa, Napa Valley
 

Been to Red Hen Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing