We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best BBQ!”

Bounty Hunter Wine Bar & Smokin’ BBQ
Ranked #9 of 285 Restaurants in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our Wine & Whisky Bar, Smokin' BBQ & Retail Shop is located in the Heart of Downtown Napa. With an astounding lineup of over 400 highly allocated wines on the shelves available to take home tonight or have shipped home to enjoy later and 40 wines available by-the-glass, you can scan the 18 page wine list on any given day to find a snapshot of truly great wines from around the world. We recently added over 20 of the rarest and finest whiskies to our tasting menu, tasting flights available.Guinness on tap and artisan beers. BBQ served til 12am on weekends.
California
Level Contributor
180 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“best BBQ!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The BBQ is amazing! Ribs, pork, chicken, beef - try it all! Get the sampler and share. It is a small place, so reservations are a good idea. Very nice wine menu also. Service was good, and the staff is very informative about the wines.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank vtowngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    377
    74
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
102 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Sales not service”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Ravenous from commuting and having missed lunch, were just looking to grab a quick bite. Our waitress started with a sales pitch on the wine club and we had to interject to get our order placed. Our BBQ platter never came, but the people who were seated after us and ordered the identical plate already received theirs. We hailed down our waitress to check on our food, and she replied "The kitchen is small. It should come soon" and asked if we wanted more wine. We said we did not want more alcohol, we wanted our food. Rather than check on our meal, she went outside to tend to tables. We asked another server, who promptly emerged from the kitchen with our BBQ platter, which was cold and dry. At that point I think we would have eaten a BBQ paper bag, we were so hungry, and our waitress was not around, so we picked at it. She did come back at some point and we told her the food was cold. She offered to bring another platter, but no way were we going to wait again.

We asked for our bill, and knowing we were dissatisfied, the waitress had someone who appeared to be a manager bring it to us who said "Wow! You really plowed through that BBQ!" The food was so dry and flavorless we merely picked at it, but we were so irritated, we wanted to just pay and leave, and go grab something palatable elsewhere, but the manager hawked over us, making unwelcome small talk, waiting for us to pay immediately, asking if we needed change when we had not even paid yet. We wanted to leave, just did not want to have him standing over us while we settled up. I finally had to ask him to give us a few minutes.

The goal was sales, not service, with wine club pitching out of the gate, to offering buns with our BBQ at additional charge, offering more wine flights when we just wanted our food, dessert offers when we clearly wanted our check, and over the top behavior from the manager.

A much better restaurant with great service and vibe is Zuzu - excellent tapas, wine, and beer selection. Kitchen closes at 11p.

If it's music/bar scene you want - try Silo's at the end of Main on the Napa River.

If you want to grab quick fresh food, go to the taco truck on Soscol Ave around the corner from Bounty Hunter for the best fish taco you've ever had for only $2, and he's there 'til 10pm. Wish we had!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tmmrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome food and great location.”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

although we did wait a little bit for our table pick, once we got seated the food was absolutely delicious. The atmosphere was great and the bar was full of energy. It seems to be a very popular location for the locals and out of towners. I ate so much I was overly stuffed but I thoroughly enjoyed it. I would visit again when I come back to Napa.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Almondnjoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great dining experience”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Being part of a group of six made finding a table a little rough. The hostess was no the best, but one we got to the table, we quickly forgot about it. The food was great, the server was AMAZING, and the prices reasonable. Make sure to check out the beer can chicken.

* definitely recommend calling ahead.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda5166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotter, Arkansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This place was ok. Tourist priced average food. There's really not much more to say about it. We sat outside at teeny-tiny table, and there were some obnoxious locals being annoyingly drunk and loud, right next to us.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bounty Hunter Wine Bar & Smokin’ BBQ also viewed

 
Napa, Napa Valley
 

Been to Bounty Hunter Wine Bar & Smokin’ BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing