We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best winery tour!”
Review of Hendry Ranch Wines

Hendry Ranch Wines
Ranked #22 of 187 things to do in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best winery tour!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Hendry is a very good small winery with a wide selection of wines. There are lots of those in Napa. What makes this one stand out from the rest is the amazingly informative and educational tour given by George Hendry himself. He is very knowledgable about wine if that interests you, you won't find anywhere better. The tour lasts 2-3 hours and ends with a group tasting where he points out how we all taste things differently and gives tips on what wines are best paired with different foods. He is not a wine snob and will not tell you how he can taste a different bowl of fruit with every sip. His information is useful and practical and everyone will be able to relate to what he says. This is by far the best and most interesting wine tour I have ever had. The tour costs $40 per person but there is no charge if you spend an equivalent amount on wine, which is not hard to do. Look at it like a tour with a free bottle or a bottle with a free tour:)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    18
    6
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not as Great as I Hoped For”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Hendry was way too over hyped for what it turned out to be. All of the reviews raved about how great this place was and while it was very informative, it got a little boring. Perhaps it was the time we went or the tour guide. I really wanted to like it because of the wonderful reviews, but was let down.
Our group had about 10 people for the 2 PM tour/taste.
Some reviews have said to skip the tour for the taste. I totally agree.
The tasting is what Hendry is probably known for. You do learn a lot and it is in classroom setting. I appreciated the science behind and the huge amount of knowledge our tour guide had. My party just didn't have a great time. It was a miss for our group.
The wines weren't that great either.
I reluctantly bought the wine to cover my cost of the tour/taste. I guess that makes it much more worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank 905sallylly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent and informative tour”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you are looking to slug some wines, and listen to sales people this is not for you.. if you want to learn in a short period many of the fundamentals of vinyeards and wineries, and some very, very informative information about pairing wines, how people taste wines and why they taste different to different people, this is the one for you. We had George Hendry himself and he is a fascinating gentleman with a wealth of experience which he readily shares, and takes any and all questions and gives informative answers. Highly recommend!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank austintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Wine Tasting”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting Sonoma for a few days, and decided to visit Hendry Vineyards in Napa. This was a fantastic decision. We went just for the tasting, but you can also do a vineyard tour. It is by appointment, and they were extremely accommodating. This was one of the most informative and interesting tastings. There was tremendous detail about how to taste wine and how to pair wines with food. Highly recommended!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporia, Kansas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing tour”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We do not like wine but while we were in California we wanted to learn more about the wineries and how wine is made. This tour plus the wine-tasting following the tour provided us with so much information. George is an amazing person and his tour was awesome; he was willing to answer all questions asked. We even enjoyed the wine tasting; it provided us with quite an education, too!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hendry Ranch Wines also viewed

 

Been to Hendry Ranch Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing