We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Great View!”
Review of Downtown Joe's

Downtown Joe's
Ranked #37 of 285 Restaurants in Napa
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Second
Description: Downtown Joe's Brewery is built into the historic Oberon Building on the Napa River. It has a full bar, river view dinning room and outdoor seating.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great View!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The food is great, casual atmosphere, outdoor seating, live music, right on the water for a pretty view of the river and the mountains. Superb!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrfishur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    216
    98
    33
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“As we speak”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Im sitting at downtown joes as we speak a very down to earth bar with awesome bartenders especially john hes the man.... If you miss john and downtown joes you've completely missed out

Helpful?
1 Thank Bosox413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, CT
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Better places abound...”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We didn't make a reservation for the night of our wine-tasting tour, so we walked around until we found this place. It is basically a pub, but doesn't seem clean or healthy. I ordered the most expensive glass of chardonnay (in Napa) and it did not compare to the fantastic wines I had tasted all day. The food was so-so. The 20-somethings having beer and appetizers looked like they were having a ball. I don't mean to be harsh, but I wish we had made a reservation at one of the fine restaurants in Napa that night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Westportia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
180 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Thought it would be better”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We were walking around the city on our first evening in Napa and thought we would try this restaurant because it looked nice. The food (4 different plates) was just average and the service was poor. We arrived just after it opened and were seated alone on a second floor, given menus and left alone. We almost left but decided to stick it out... wish we had not. The pint of Truman's ale was good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Capn_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good diner, bar food”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Four couples on a self tour tried Joe's in Napa twice; once for lunch and once dinner. Menu is somewhat standard for a bar, diner restaurant, but good and well prepared. Service was erratic with one outstanding server and one that did not earn a tip, which is rare for us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MontanaBunkhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown Joe's also viewed

 

Been to Downtown Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing