We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good dinner and tasty leftovers!”

Angele Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Angele Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 283 Restaurants in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $39
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 5th St.
Description: Angèle Restaurant & Bar is an intimate restaurant perched above the Napa River. The 155-seat restaurant is the realization of the Rouas family's dream to create a refuge that offers delicious French country foods, wines, and occasions for celebration with friends and family. With all-day service within the 80-seat rustic yet elegant dining room and on the 75-seat riverfront terrace, celebration is ongoing. Together the Rouas family have designed an oasis where a European sensibility of food and wine captures the true essence of joie de vivre.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good dinner and tasty leftovers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was a charming place to have dinner. We were lucky enough to get seated in the small back room, right by the window as the rain was receding for the evening. Our entrees were both very enjoyable, but the highlight of the meal was most certainly the dessert. We shared the 'banana gratin' and it was amazing. I'd never heard of banana gratin, but it sounded intriguing and did not disappoint!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ktyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    240
    103
    29
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

An absolutely lovely building, wood ceilings and a charming French rustic decor. Warm, welcoming staff.
Food was incredible, very flavorful; elegant presentation. Angele is the perfect place to relax with a good meal and a glass of wine.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LKT26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great food, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

One of my lunch favorites, this place has great food, but the soups are OUTSTANDING; sometimes remarkable. I can still remember soups i had at lunch at this place from years past. The location is perfect for lunch or a nice, romantic dinner, too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kevin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Restaurant in the Mill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Found this restaurant by chance and sat up at the Bar and ate dinner here. Thought it was a lovely elegant restaurant, with outside seating. Good choice of food and wines and it felt very relaxing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KellsandMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
362 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Large yet intimate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Located in an easy to find location, Angele has an elaborate menu with standard French specialties with lovely twists. I ordered the Coquille St Jacques when I was assured of it's preparation: excellent small-ish sea scallops arranged on a bed or rice with elegant vegetable touches. Not what I had in Paris which at this point seems very dated. There were four of us and each enjoyed her selection which included the quail, the sole and the duck. Our waiter did prompt us into ordering "pommes frites" for the table as it might be a while to receive our food. We did, but our entrees arrived promptly - certainly before we finished this very delicious, but unnecessary appetizer. The space (an old warehouse?) has a very pleasant ambience and service was professional. An enjoyable evening

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PMJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angele Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Napa, Napa Valley
 

Been to Angele Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing