We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot on the river - downtown Napa”

Angele Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Angele Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 288 Restaurants in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $39
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 5th St.
Description: Angèle Restaurant & Bar is an intimate restaurant perched above the Napa River. The 155-seat restaurant is the realization of the Rouas family's dream to create a refuge that offers delicious French country foods, wines, and occasions for celebration with friends and family. With all-day service within the 80-seat rustic yet elegant dining room and on the 75-seat riverfront terrace, celebration is ongoing. Together the Rouas family have designed an oasis where a European sensibility of food and wine captures the true essence of joie de vivre.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great spot on the river - downtown Napa”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The food was excellent, the service great and the location perfect! I would highly recommend visiting this restaurant! It is so comfy and has a great covered outdoor patio. They keep it plenty warm with heat lamps which is nice for the ladies in their dresses ;) This is a perfect spot to spend a nice night with great food, wine and company.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheNutts2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    249
    108
    29
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Unbelievable
My wife and I dine out a quite a bit and appreciate good fine dining at reasonable prices. We have been visiting Napa on an annual basis for a few years and generally stay 2 or 3 nights. We have been overlooking Angele for whatever reason, maybe because we didn’t think we were that fond of French cuisine based on past experiences at home and on the road. We had tried Bouchon Bistro in Yountville and were not impressed.
After looking over the menu at Angele we decided to try the 6 course tasting menu with wine paring. We discussed with our server some likes and dislikes and sat in anticipation. A few minutes later he arrived with 2 glasses of wine which were pared to our first dish. We were surprised to find out that we each had a different type of wine. Our server explained that we were about to experience 2 completely different dinners! Just the sound of that impressed us. Each course we had was similar to each other’s but different dishes eg. One had sole and the other cod, one had pork and the other duck and so on. Every course down to dessert was fantastic and the wine paring was near perfect!
Maybe this happened because it was a week night and they were not too busy. Our next visit to Napa will definitely include Angele and we might have to ask for a quiet night lol. This went down as one of the best restaurant experience we have ever had! Thanks Angele! See you next year.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mothers Day on the river in Napa.”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We've been to many great restaurants in Napa and now Angele is on our list of one of our favorites. We were given a great seat on the outdoor patio with a view of the river. Very friendly staff and we would recommend the fresh bread and pastry basket along with the steak and egg lunch entre. Can't wait to go back.

Helpful?
Thank ChrisandJulieRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“French Dining”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We dined outside and found it great. It was beautiful, warm evening. The service was good although I felt that we were rushed through dinner. Our main course came much sooner than expected. My Faux Fillet was not cooked to my directions. My table mate's gnocchi was bland and not flavorful. The best part of the whole meal was the desserts. The crime brûlée was too warm and not creamy enough.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good but not exceptional”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us by a server at one of the wineries. The service was fine, the food was good, the wine list comprehensive. There was really nothing, though, that would command me to return there and considering there are so many wonderful restaurants in Napa, I would give this a pass my next time around. A friend and I shared the country pate and found it disappointing. The salads we had, while flavorful, contained ingredients that were difficult to get onto a fork. All in all, just sort of a "meh" experience....

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joyce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angele Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Napa, Napa Valley
 

Been to Angele Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing