We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“French Chic with a River View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angele Restaurant and Bar

Angele Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Angele Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 282 Restaurants in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $39
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 5th St.
Description: Angèle Restaurant & Bar is an intimate restaurant perched above the Napa River. The 155-seat restaurant is the realization of the Rouas family's dream to create a refuge that offers delicious French country foods, wines, and occasions for celebration with friends and family. With all-day service within the 80-seat rustic yet elegant dining room and on the 75-seat riverfront terrace, celebration is ongoing. Together the Rouas family have designed an oasis where a European sensibility of food and wine captures the true essence of joie de vivre.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“French Chic with a River View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Angele is located at the very end of Napa Main Street in the River Mill Complex. It has both indoor and outdoor seating. If it seems chilly they also have propane heaters to keep the outdoor spaces toasty. Menu is a mix of classical and innovative. Particularly good is the Rabbit Salad which has very generous portions of rabbit that are covered with fresh greens and a wonderful vinaigrette. We had Sea Bass which was very good and also had Lamb which was done to perfection. Only complaint was the lack of salt and pepper on the table.

Hey Chef--get over it, some folks want to add a little pepper or salt on their own.

Overall--worth a stop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cajungene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    236
    101
    29
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not for anyone wanting a meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

As many other reviews have noted, the portions served here are tiny, theyreminded me of the free samples at Costco. Food was good, but not good enough to justify the prices and tiny portions. Wine prices were terrible. Setting is nice, but not spectacular. There are better resturants in Napa.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fairly expensive but good food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Wide variety of dishes, well presented, excellent wine list. There is a bar in the indoor dining area, and a secluded, tidy, outdoor dining area is available too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tasmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small portions...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Not sure about the other amazing reviews. Made an OpenTable reservation because of the reviews. Average table outdoors. Average service. Average salads. And chose the duck based on the "managers" recommendation. They mud grow mini ducks in Napa..... you could have hid it under a half-dollar coin. Good taste, but more of a tapa and an expensive entree. And the bread was a tiny tiny loaf. I guess they think you won't notice tho after drinking wine all day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A very lovely spot to enjoy your meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

My hubby and I came here for our 12 year first date anniversary. Angele is situated in the updated area of Main Street on the river front. Just a few steps from Sweetie Pie's. We came for a lovely evening on the patio to enjoy wine and dessert. The patio overlooks part of the Napa river walk. It happened to be the first day of summer solstice so it made for a lovely outing on Angele's patio which had heat lamps if it got chilly. Our celebratory order included a Rose sparkling wine and gratin a la banane and my hubby had the clear conscience cocktail and le gateau de chocolat. We shared both of these wonderful dessert creations and both were absolutely lovely. The rose was delightful and we asked our waiter for the measurements of the clear conscience cocktail. It was quite busy in the restaurant with a tour group of 50 people also being seated in the same area as us on the patio. Despite the large group, our waiter was very attentive.

One really small note....I can taste that the water was from the tap. Should get a Brita filter.

We will definitely be returning to Angele again possibly for a real lunch or dinner.

Thank you for a lovely summer solstice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank qtjeep12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angele Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Angele Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing