We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bugs & panic attack = Find another motel”
Review of Napa Discovery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Napa Discovery Inn
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Napa
San Jose, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bugs & panic attack = Find another motel”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Napa Discovery Inn may be the worst motel in all of Napa Valley.

The parking lot is exposed, isolated, and dark. The moment I pulled in I started to feel nervous and uncomfortable. (I'm female and I was traveling alone.) My very first thought was "my truck's gonna get broken into."

Check-in was okay, though there was an overpowering smell of curry (to which I am allergic) and loud talking in the room next to the office. They charged my credit card in advance for two nights--that's not normal for motels in this area.

The parking space in front of my room was too small for my compact pickup, but I didn't want to move it because I wanted it blocking the very exposed front window.

The room was much smaller than online photos indicated. It smelled awful and it wasn't overly clean. A desk and fridge were jammed into a tiny dark alcove. Then I heard the distintive whine of mosquitos coming from right above my head. And finally, a large orange and yellow spider sauntered across the night stand.

I'm phobic about bugs in hotel rooms, so I started to panic. I'd seen chain motels on my way to the Discovery Inn, and knew I could get a room elsewhere. So I took my keys back up to the desk and checked out.

The clerk tried to give me another room. When I said no, and described the bug problems, he started yelling at me. He tried to bully/guilt me into staying. It didn't work and I got the hell out of there. Lost the money, but it was worth it to be in a decent motel (the Hawthorne Suites).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelswithpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    73
    43
    20
    49
See reviews for
25
104
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Napa Discovery Inn is well maintained and clean. The continental breakfast was good and the coffee was excellent. It was an easy hotel to find and is close to downtown Napa. The free high speed wireless internet and free local phone calls were a bonus! Our two day stay was pleasant and comfortable. I would stay here again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TroyDmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I booked this hotel at the last minute because most hotels in Napa were already booked for Friday night. Shortly after booking a room I read a scathing review, with pictures of the Discovery Inn. Due to the horrendous pictures, I was not expecting much at all. Hoping for a bed with no bugs, etc.
When I arrived at the hotel, I was pleasantly surprised. The grounds were neat and clean and nicely landscaped. The room was large, clean, comfortable and quiet. I had a refrigerator, microwave, TV with lots of channels and even an ante room to spread out, if needed. The only con I experienced was the shower leaked a bit and after showering, there was water all over the floor. We just put towels on the floor and it took care of the problem. I don't know what the other reviewer was expecting when he gave his review but we were pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Don't know about the other rooms but we had room 16 and it was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulwestsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Recently made trip to Napa CA. Made reservation at the Discovery Inn. Do not go here! The rooms are run down, no heat, a one man operation and it appears to be a converted warehouse. We checked in and checked out in 10 minutes. We did not get our money back however, well worth the loss and went to the Hilton. This place is so bad they owe me stars for rating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruberuiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Napa hotels

Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is older than it looks like on the web. Location is a bit off. It is near by an auto repair station, surrounding by many banana trees.

I couldnt ask much for the price but overall didnt feel great when staying there.

Also, it isn't a great idea to visit Napa in December either. All the vine trees die so it is not beautiful as you see in the brochure.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HTNHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The worst place ever!!!
Rude owners and they charged our credit card even though we left after finding another hotel! We smelled GOAT URINE! The bathroom was dirty with hairs around the sink and shower! PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE read other reviews!!! This is exactly why we have Trip Advisor! Our eyes were burning and my wife wouldnt even step on the carpet! NASTY! The bedspread and the sheets and towels were old and stained. The refrigerator had someone elses old leftover food inside and there was a half eaten burrito in the microwave! We complained within our first five minutes, found another hotel and left and reversed our credit card charges!
THANK YOU TRIP ADVISOR FOR LETTING US USE YOUR WEBSITE TO WARN OTHERS!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawrence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

This place had bed bugs and all kinds of insects....I got insect bites all over my face. The owner/manager of this place also doesn't acknowledge the fact that this place has bed bugs and insects. Spring was poking out of the spring mattress...which was harmful.

Stay away from this place...please!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.7 mi away
Napa Valley Hotel & Suites, a 3 Palms Boutique Hotel and Resort
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn At The Vines
0.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#10 of 30 in Napa
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Discovery Inn

Property: Napa Discovery Inn
Address: 500 Silverado Trl, Napa, CA 94559-3413
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Napa Discovery Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa Discovery Inn is located just just minutes from the action. This Napa hotel was remodeled in 2007 and is located 1 mile from downtown Napa, the Wine Train & dozens of shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Napa Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Discovery Hotel Napa
Napa Discovery Inn Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing