We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Hopes, Almost Met”
Review of Zuzu

Zuzu
Ranked #6 of 288 Restaurants in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Portuguese, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch
Petaluma, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“High Hopes, Almost Met”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were fortunate to have a table upstairs and could see the Napa River. The service was very attentive and they were quite packed that night. The table next to ours was having a roasted pepper appetizer that you dipped in garlic that looked delicious. Should have tried it. Our first two dishes were great - a crostini with egg and sardines and a very fresh salad with delicious dressing. Of the other four dishes we ordered, only one was remarkable, a seafood stew in a fantastic broth. The paella was mediocre (or maybe I just don't like paella after all). I definitely would try Zuzu again and try other small plates. For the amount of food we had, the bill was very reasonable for two, about $100 with tip. Nice, leisurely dining, even though they were packed, we were not rushed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mariah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    253
    68
    21
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Intimate Tapas place in downtown”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The skinny here is if you like Tapas, this is a good place to find in downtown. The food is good and is of high quality. The only reason I wouldn't give it an excellent rating is that they don't take reservations and its very popular. Thus you have to be ready to wait pretty much a long time unless you like to eat very early. When we left at around 10:30 there was still an hour wait to get in. That's a good sign technically, but they really should allow at least a few reservations to be made.

Besides that one minor irritation, I would highly recommend them as a place to put on your "to visit" list. The wine list is pretty good for a spanish style place and they have a reasonable corkage fee as well. The food in general is quite authentic and hard to find. Its also very nice to be able to just order small plates until your satisfied. I will revist on my next trip to the valley.

Odds and ends: There is a parking garage just a block away down main street, so parking really isn't much of an issue, its an easy walk. There is also a nice old style bar a couple of doors down where you could go have a drink while waiting on a table. This goes a long way to take the edge of waiting.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RC30319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good spot after the Wine Train”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

If you happen to eat a fantastic lunch on the Napa Wine Train you may want to consider Zuzu for dinner. The light fare tapas are perfect following a heavy lunch. Happening spot so you better get there early.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City Ut
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best little place in Napa”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Hidden little gem in downtown Napa. Food was outstanding. Service was even better. Every waiter/waitress looks after one another. If water or more bread is needed, you never have to wait, they work as a team! The squid tapas were so good we had seconds. Although prior reviews stated they were short on USA reds, we were recommended a Javier (sp) that was fine. Can't wait to return to Zuzu's !!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank raymacParkCityUt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wow what great flavours!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We liked this place so much we returned the next night. Very vibrant favours in a diverse tapas menu. Everything was excellent. Service is quick, friendly and helpful. Get there before 6:30 or you will wait an hour. One of the best places we visited on our Napa tour

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MurrayC915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zuzu also viewed

 
Napa, Napa Valley
Napa, Napa Valley
 

Been to Zuzu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing