We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zuzu

Zuzu
Ranked #5 of 283 Restaurants in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cleveland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Every tapas we tried was delicious! The place was very crowded upon arrival, but things moved quickly and we were able to get in. Good service.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie63Cleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    237
    63
    20
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Napa Aug 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our new favorite restaurant in Napa. The Tapas menu is extraordinary. So many things to choose from. It was so good we went for supper twice in one week. Our desert both times were the delicious lamb chops. We particularly enjoyed a Pinot Noir called Abiouness, 2008 from the Hudson Vineyard, never had a better Pinot!!
Our server was Darlene, she made our dining experience fantastic, she went out of her way to accommodate our every need. Her service was Top Shelf! Thanks again to you Darlene!
All the staff were wonderful.
Can't wait to return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Branch, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food was great, needs some management tweaks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We really were set on the idea of tapas during our week in Napa, and one of the few recommendations we received were for Zuzu. It's a small place in downtown Napa, what appears to be an area dying off with closed businesses. Street parking in the area was not a problem.

The food was quite good, and the menu was definitely oriented towards tapas. However, while the selection was varied, it appeared to be more selective to spanish or regional cuisine, rather than a robust selection of international tapas we've had at other tapas eateries and enjoyed. We very much enjoyed the ceviche and the paella, and it was all good, though the octopus overcooked. The flavors were great.

The challenge we had was with the experience. Starting with a stiff host, my wife mentioned that she'd heard great things about the food, and asked for a recommendation, and he replied, "of course our food is good," and couldn't offer warmth or a smile if his life depended on it. Watching him greet other diners, I would think we were being served in boot camp.

Further, the pace was abrupt. We didn't enjoy a nice tapas dining experience, but more a regimen of how fast they can get the next selection in front of us. In fact, if the next selection wasn't delivered prior to finishing the previous selection, it was there within 30 seconds of finishing the last. It was more akin to a tornado of service. Wham, bam, we were out of there after having 7 selections in about 30 minutes.

Finally, the staff didn't seem quite on the ball. There were 7 staff congregated at the end of the bar almost the entire time. They were displaced for a short time when some customers sat at the bar for a while, and after the customers left, there's the 7 staff back again at the end of the bar. Seemed to lack some leadership, and was a distraction to the whirlwind experience and atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
napa california
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Met a friend who has suggested ZuZu's as a fun place to have lunch. Indeed it was, right downtown on Main, I didn't even know it was there. I choose a great appetizer Fish Cervinchi with roc cod, avocado, citrus flavor. My guest ordered several other plates of fish, esplanade, they were all good and my tummy was satisfied and comfortable. Didn't have time for dessert.

Will most likely go there again. Great place to have a casual lunch and talk business.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lvmountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
288 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Have a little scrumptious taste of everything!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Simply a delight. A bustling cozy authentic tapas bar that gets all the elements right. Eclectic food, wine, service with hands on owner. The micro winery Renteria cab was a perfect pairing. We went twice in one week!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zuzu also viewed

 
Napa, Napa Valley
 

Been to Zuzu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing