We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great vibe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Celadon

Celadon
Reserve with OpenTable
Celadon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 283 Restaurants in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fifth St.
Description: Enjoy Celadon's award-winning 'Global Comfort Food' in our beautiful dining room or on the lovely courtyard. The seasonally influenced menu features flavors from the Mediterranean, Asia, and the Americas. We are located in the heart of downtown Napa in the Historic Napa Mill.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great vibe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Celadon. The restaurant has a very nice vibe and the service was great. We split a sirloin steak and Bibb salad that were very well prepared. The warmth of the service was welcome on a cool Napa night. We will be back. Sergio, our server, was particularly good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    744
    374
    126
    38
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very disapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We frequent many restaurants through tripadvisor when we travel and most are spot on. This was not!! the service was ok at best. Both my wife and my dinner were overcooked. This was our third dinner in the Napa area and by far the least of quality and freshness.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mg212121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ended our vacation on a high note”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We spent 4 nights in the Napa valley area and give thumbs up to Celadon as our best meal of the week. A previous reservation at a well known Napa restaurant was cancelled when a local gave us the tip to try Celadon. It was the best tip of the week. There were 4 people in our party and we ate in the semi-enclosed/semi outside area. Very beautiful. Upon arrival on Friday evening it was fairly cool in the restaurant and our server immediately offered to turn on the overhead heater and turn up the fireplace. Conditions were perfect.
All of our food was wonderful. Two of us only ordered an assortment of about 5 appetizers including the calamari, soft shell crabs, the soup of the day as well as others. The other couple ordered appetizers and entrees. It can be difficult for a restaurant to spread out such an odd order but Celadon did it to perfection. Our server timed it all exactly right. All the food was delicious, presented beautifully and arrived hot.
We ended the night with 2 shared desserts, banana creme brulee and a berry crisp and left with smiles.
This is a must when we return to Napa.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IGS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb 3 course meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went here last night with it being our first and only night in Napa. This was a super restaurant choice!
When we were oohing over the source for the bread we knew we were in for a good meal!
We told our waitress we were so impressed with it, two minutes later she was back at out table with a recipe of how to make it! Some places like to keep their secret ingredient secret, not at Celadon!

I had the beef Satay for entree, very delicious and good portion size.
Main I had the Kale, risotto chicken breast, again a great portion size,
the chocolate hazel pudding was big enough to share.

Try and get a table outside, very cosy and romantic.

So glad we went :)

$$

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Celadon lived up to its reputation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We heard that Celadon was one of Napa's best dining options, and we were not disappointed. Two of us had the Morrocan lamb and couscous, which was recommended by our waiter as a specialty of the house. It was terrific! Others of us raved about the tomato soup, the calamari, and the crab cakes. Service was fine and the ambiance, while not the best, was interesting and well-spaced. Take a moment to enjoy the lovely garden near the entry!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WorkerbeeChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Celadon also viewed

 

Been to Celadon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing