We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If only we'd had more time...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stag's Leap Wine Cellars

Stag's Leap Wine Cellars
Ranked #9 of 185 things to do in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Please join us at our FAY Outlook & Visitor Center, where our wine educators will guide you through our beautiful estate Cabernets set against a gorgeous backdrop of historic estate vineyards and the Stags Leap Palisades.
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“If only we'd had more time...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Ok, I'll admit it: we rushed through Napa. And it's a crying shame! The upside is that we were able to experience 2 wineries in our half day, and Stag's Leap was lovely. And while we weren't able to enjoy a tour, we did enjoy a tasting which ended in some very special bottles being purchased. The buildings and property are beautiful, the staff charming and warm, and the wine served just perfectly. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank nielsensmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    52
    16
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic wines, great history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stag's Leap has not let fame and success go to their heads. The fact that they continue to pursue excellence is obvious. The wines were delicious. But what surprised me the most was the friendly, low-key, down-to-earth nature of the experience. This is an establishment that wears its fame lightly and modestly. Accessible to connoisseurs and novices alike and warmly welcoming. It was an experience I won't soon forget.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank NicoleC1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
134 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“It's OK to spit...but we drank.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed relaxing and cheerful conversation with Carol B., who knows her wine.

She seated us in comfortable wooden chairs on the patio and provided water to sip between the wines.

Our son listened to the conversation in the tasting room before he sampled the Cask 23 Cabernet Sauvignon.

Our late afternoon visit was a wonderful way to learn about wine through discussion about the wine samples.

The tasting room is handicapped accessible. We did not take a tour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MLStanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had a private tour from Anna and it was awesome! The wine caves were really cool. The wines we tasted were all very good - we even went home with several bottles. The property is beautiful - I would recommend visiting this winery!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellen9696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A quintessential Napa winery experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

The tour of the grounds, where they shared the history of this winery was very memorable. The wine cave only added to it. We were very impressed with the friendly nature of all the staff, and the scenery was everything you would expect of a Napa vineyard. The wines of course were delicious, and the staff were intelligent but down-to-earth with their explanations of each vintage. I would go there again without hesitation and recommend it heartily.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Singlemaltfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stag's Leap Wine Cellars also viewed

 

Been to Stag's Leap Wine Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing