We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So close, yet so far...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Thomas at Fagiani's - CLOSED

The Thomas at Fagiani's
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 3rd Street
Napa, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“So close, yet so far...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

We dropped in one evening for a cocktail and had a great time and a really fantastic burger at the bar upstairs with the bartender named Geoff, so about a week later we were craving that burger again; we made a res for a rooftop table (the reservation taker said "no problem, we can certainly seat you outside at 7:15"), showed up on time, and the hostess said all she had was inside until about 9:15. When asked about the reservation, she said it was for a table somewhere, not necessarily on the roof.
So we chose to just go sit at the bar upstairs, hoping we'd at least get to have fun with Geoff again, but he wasn't there and this bartender was kind of a snooty sort and not very talkative (with the patrons anyway, he was pretty chatty with the other staff), so we asked the Maitre' D upstairs what's up with our reservation, etc. He said the hostess seats the restaurant according to how she wants to seat it. Apparently we're not "cool" enough for the rooftop experience. Too bad too, because the food is fresh and beautifully prepared - that burger is to die for, and at least the one bartender is awesome.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    67
    17
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plaisir, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Good food and location! My salad and my glass of wine were just perfect! Very good service also:-) you can go with children.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AmandR05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I got the feeling they were just learning how to run a restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

No water after we asked for water. 10 minutes later, we found a water jug and poured it ourselves. No apology or acknolwedgement from the staff. There was no salt and pepper, and we asked for it, but got nothing. Had to ask again. Screwed up delivery of food. Screwed up drink order. They had to go down 3 flights of floors to "check a computer" in order to determine if they could seat us. Cold french fries throughout (we had 4 different orders, none of them arrived hot. NOT ONE!!) Friendly staff - but didn't seem able to do their job competently. And there were LOTS of people working there (seemed way out of balance for how small the place is). Sign on the first floor says "Wait to be Seated" Another sign on the first floor says "Wait to be seated" ... 5 minutes after standing around, somebody sticks there head out a doorway and asks if we've been helped. No. we replied... they said "Go upstairs". TO which I ask, then why do you have TWO SIGNS that say wait to be seated? This place is a mess. Some of the food was just OK - but the chicken sandwich was reported as the worst he'd ever had. Outdoor seating features either full sun or full shade.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“You can do Better than this in Napa Valley”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

We were looking forward to a great meal for our last night in Napa and we had booked the Thomas well in advance. Our waitress was very kind and courteous and we had a beautiful view on the top floor of the restaurant, but there were so many things that went wrong throughout our meal. A few of our entrees were undercooked including the hamburger and the steak. My mother's bisque was so salty we had to send it back. In an effort to give this place a second chance we ordered dessert - bad decision. The doughnuts were not cooked properly and the other desserts were nothing special. Overall, the food was not worth the price and we were extremely let down.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sasky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch spot for winery day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a rooftop restaurant that is amazing this is your spot! Went here for a bachelorette party with 7 girls. We had wineries planned all day and stopped here for a quick bite. They were extremely accommodating for my gluten allergy and the scenery was amazing!

Helpful?
Thank Cabarnes123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thomas at Fagiani's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing