We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you, Kevin Bacon!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Thomas at Fagiani's - CLOSED

The Thomas at Fagiani's
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 3rd Street
Lockport, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Thank you, Kevin Bacon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Good fortune smiled on us during our recent trip to Napa Valley. Through a friend-of-a-friend connection, we heard of Fagiani's as we planned our activities. That same "Kevin Bacon" connection got us a reservation for a Friday evening meal that will long be remembered for the quality of the food and wine. Good company was also part of the great experience, to be sure, but I'll have many more meals with the same good company, but not that same level of food and service.

We started with a shared order of mussels and a sampling of the carrot and ginger soup. Both were excellent. Our entrees were well-presented and, like the baby bear's chair, just the right size. The risotto was delicious, although the lobster (an extra) was somewhat scant. The grilled salmon with the sea bean salad was "lick your plate" delicious, and the steak done to perfection. The wine was a bit pricey, but delicious accompaniment.

For dessert, the three of us shared two desserts -- fruit tart and warm cinnamon donuts. So much better than I make them sound! And then we received a complimentary Mason jar's fill of S'more pudding, complete with graham cracker crumbs and melted marshmallow. YUM! A perfect ending to our dining experience.

The staff had a professional, but friendly approach to their service. They were there when you needed them, but left you alone to enjoy the food with your dinner companions. If you're in the area, it's definitely worth a stop.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pat m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    67
    17
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Rooftop Drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had drinks on the rooftop bar this weekend. The atmosphere was fun, and the views are obviously beautiful. check it out!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mrfishur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Alfresco dining in the heart of Napa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We enjoyed dinner on the upper outdoor patio and would highly recommend this place. It has a friendly, lively vibe, amazing food and outstanding service all wrapped up with a very nice wine list. We will return again during our next trip to Napa. Save room for dessert!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LKNTheGoodLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A delicious rooftop dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were lucky enough to score a table in the outside corner of the rooftop garden (you can request but they won't guarantee the roof.) Watching the sun set over downtown Napa, with white lights strung overhead, a vibrant ambiance from the rooftop bar, and the plush coziness of our cushioned corner bench, was wonderful to begin with, but the outstanding service and quite good food made this experience worth the financial splurge. Some dishes were quite inventive and very successful (loved the Wild Mushroom Mousse with whiskey jelly on sourdough toast). The entrees were very good but not as inventive. You could bring your meat-and-potato eater here. The portions
are good sized, but save room for the doughnuts. They are served piping hot and scrumptious. Wines by the glass are limited and a bit over-priced. The historic building on Main St was beautifully renovated, maintaining the feel of the original. Fagiani's Bar on the street level is a great spot to stop in for a drink (the bar is open til 1 am Fri/Sat). An elevator is available for people who need it to get to the second or third floor dining areas. We will definitely return for a special occasion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GramaSueK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice setting with good service and fine food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Had lunch up on the patio on a beautiful fall day. View is obstructed by parapet, so one needs to stand to fully enjoy it. Wait staff are professional and attentive. Lunch menu is limited and a bit pricey. Had the burger which was great but not for $16.00. However, compared to other "hot" Napa spots it is within reason. As a local not sure I will go back. If vacationing here, give it a shot. I know you will like it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ElZid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thomas at Fagiani's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing