We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful View, Great Food”
Review of The Thomas at Fagiani's - CLOSED

The Thomas at Fagiani's
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 3rd Street
Ottawa
Level Contributor
290 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Beautiful View, Great Food”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We came here after a full day of traveling and were so happy when we reached the roof top patio and were given great, comfortable seats with a spectacular view. A perfect end to a long day. The wine was local and delicious and I had the steak and my husband the burger and we loved both of them. The absolute best though were the donuts, the best I have ever had, I still think about them.

Unlike others have said about the service, our server was very good, the host was just OK he seemed a bit pretentious...but on the whole the evening was a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tripfoodie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    67
    17
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cool Spot & Good Cocktails”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Thomas is a nice change of pace for Napa - good cocktails and beer list. Our service was paaaainfully slow, but the food was great. Definitely recommend to anyone who may be feeling a little wined out.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lpolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Snobby; confusing food selections”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Really nice interior and outdoor dining area on the top floor. Beautiful views. Too bad they tend to judge you the moment you enter.If you're dressed in trendy clothing and look chic then you're in business!! This, after all, is Napa Valley, not Manhattan! Drinks are creative but way overpriced and very small. The food was confusing and not very tasty. We spent a ton of $$$$ and were very very disappointed and would probably never go back. I guess it's could be considered a great place if you go out to be 'seen'.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank wendy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Iowa
1 review
“Extremely Rude”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our party of 10 was extremely excited to try Fagiani's. We were recommended the restaurant by some vineyard owners the previous day. Yes, our party was loud, excited to be away from our kiddos for a few nights and celebrating my birthday, but we were not disrespectful or drunk. When one of our friends went up to the bar to order a drink, the bartender with the curly mustache told us we needed to leave because we were too drunk. We had only had one drink prior to coming into the establishment!!!! The hostesses were extremely apologetic and was genuinely shocked the bartender said this to us. After going to other establishments we were told #1 they were crazy to turn us away, we spent $$$$ and #2 they were not surprised by the disrespectfulness of the bartender at Fagiani's. To make matters worse, my sister ran into this same bartender with his partner later that night. He recognized her and pointed at her. She stopped and asked why he would have put such a damper on our night by doing that. She explained it was our first night out, celebrating a birthday and everyone was just really excited and apologized for being loud. He smirked and told her he might allow a second chance!!! I did contact The Thomas about the situation. They were extremely apologetic for the bartenders behavior, and offered to buy us all drinks the next night, which we declined. I would definitely NOT recommend Fagiani's if the bartender with the black curly mustache is still there!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Donuts”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The meal was fantastic - all the food and drinks were great but I will never forget the donuts. Although we were full, we ordered a basket of donuts for dessert to share and they came to the table warm and sugary - absolutely devine! I think I dreamt about them that night!
Thank you too for the lovely corner/booth table. We had a perfect view of everything going on in the restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank nicethingsinlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thomas at Fagiani's also viewed

 
Napa, Napa Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing