We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bistro Italiano”

Bistro Don Giovanni
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro Don Giovanni is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 286 Restaurants in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Highway 29
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Bistro Italiano”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our annual trips to Napa wine country ALWAYS include dinner at Bistro Don Giovanni. Excellent service coupled with authentic italian dishes in a fun ,bustling and friendly location. Wines by the glass are very reasonable with great selections. See you next year.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    904
    417
    126
    34
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
10richierich
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“very good...”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

we were there last week...it was recommended to us by a work friend.
we went in between wineries and we had about 2 hours to kill.
we sat outside, chairs a little firm for a 2-2.5 hour lunch (probably just fine for a "normal" lunch!!)
all 4 of us were thrilled with the food, we tried numerous appetizers, 3 different menu entrees (the sheets of pasta with pesto were AMAZING!!
since we ate so many appetizers, i really only had a taste for something a bit lighter...i asked if they could just put together a cheese plate for me....he said yes with no hesitation...it came out with freshly toasted almonds, and freshly grilled apricots, bread and 2 types of cheese....fantastic!!!
prices seemed pretty fair as well.
outdoor deck is protected from the road view but you can still hear cars heading by on the main street....so it is not as peaceful as most of the wineries that you visit that are quite a bit quieter.
we were very happy here and would recommend it in a heartbeat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 10richierich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bellísimo”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

El restaurant es muy lindo, uno se siente en un sitio especial, la comida es muy buena y la atención también. Pueden tomar algunas fotos porque es muy bonito en su interior y en su exterior. Lo recomiendo si van a Napa ampliamente!
The restaurant is very cute, you feel in a special place, the food is very good and care too. You can take some pictures because it is very nice inside and outside. I would recommend if going to Napa widely!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mare2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida West Coast
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We ate here on a recent trip to Napa. If you like a simple pizza, it's fine. Those in our party who selected other items on the menu were disappointed, finding our selections uninspired and bland. We also found the wait staff not be be particularly attentive. I would not go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JFG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great for al fresco dining”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

What a terrific patio...it overlooks their garden and sculptures, which are both beautiful. The restaurant is very engaging inside and out. Inside you also have a nice view---the kitchen, behind some windows.

I had a pepperoni pizza that was really good. Nice crispy crust around the edges; chewy and tender in the middle. I wasn't sure about the zucchini slices on it at first, but they tasted just fine and added to the pizza. My wife had a pasta and rose-type sauce with mushrooms that she enjoyed but wasn't thrilled about. As others have said, in the realm of Napa restaurants, not the best, but certainly a great place to enjoy nice food.

Our server was very helpful with the menu items and our service was prompt, even though the place was quite busy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jwhallgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Don Giovanni also viewed

 
Napa, Napa Valley
 
Napa, Napa Valley
 

Been to Bistro Don Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing