We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find!”
Review of Rocabella - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rocabella
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main
Transit: Bus stop within a block
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great find!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were in Napa with a group of 23 people and finding a place to take large groups without paying to the hilt is a problem. Not at Rocabella. Chef Bladar and Debra could not have been more accomodating. We were set for three good sized tables, and service was very very good, cosidering our size. Everyone said the food was very very good to excellent. My spahgetti Bolonese was very tasty........different from what I experienced in Italy......with more a Greek flaire. The restaurant is decorated and lighted uniquely. Had we been in Napa longer, we would have gone back a second time. Very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ED P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Charming Mediterranean experience”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I had a taste for pasta and Rocabella didn't disappoint.
We were there for the 5:00pm opening for dinner and were pleasantly surprised by the warm decor and friendly wait staff.
Our server started off with a "complimentary taste" of a lovely chilled Moscato, closely followed by warm, buttery garlic bread hot off the grill.
I had the Pesto Pasta Genovese, which was very good. The spaghetti was al dente just the way I like it. The pesto was fresh basil with a touch of garlic. My husband had the "simply grilled" chicken which came with potatoes and spinach. He said it was very good.
We had the warm chocolate souffle (which was more a lava cake) and the house made apple crostini, with vanilla ice cream. Both were good but the apple dessert suffered from being heated in the microwave.

Management is planning to have a no corkage night, possibly Wednesdays, but for now corkage is $15 but waived if you buy a bottle there.

We definitely want to go back and try the other pasta offerings and specials.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank napadiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bon appetit”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Best lamb souvlaki. Definitely needs to be experienced by all. Lovely ambiance. Wonderful service. The chef visited every diner, adding a personal touch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank webdoc1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise.”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

When in downtown Napa last month looking for dinner we discovered Rocabella by chance.
Lately we have been choosing restaurants with organic and locally sourced meats and produce, so when we casually asked the hostess if the menu choices included organic and local products, she emphatically pointed to several items on the menu, and since the restaurant was new, why not give us try?
We were soon seated and after a pleasant conversation with Blendar, the chef/owner who explained the new menu items, we picked the grilled organic salmon and the lamb souvlaki and of course a bottle of Moscato rose that also happened to be the welcome toast we received once seated.
Simply delicious! Fresh, locally sourced vegetables accompanied the salmon and lamb, everything cooked and spiced to perfection and we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Rocabella.
If we were locals we would definitely be back for more. The value for this level of culinary art was truly terrific and we just wish there was more Rocabellas around!
Hmmm... An organic, Mediteranian style bistro? What a franchise concept!
Seriously, when the restaurant owner is also a chef who obviously enjoy his vocation while visiting with the patrons, chances are the food is top notch and the Rocabella Bistro is a perfect example.
Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Susur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“3rd choice restaurant”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We went to Rocabella as we could not get into ZuZu or Allegria, this is right next door to Allegria. It looked very nice and there were a few people eating, so we decided to chance it. The menu is greek / mediterranean. The service was a bit slow.
However the appetizers were amazing we had the grilled halloumi which we have not seen on many menu' s try this it is fantastic. The main course just average. A nice touch the chef came and spoke to everyone.
It was worth it to us just for the Halloumi, but just ok overall.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaz119_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocabella also viewed

 
Napa, Napa Valley
Napa, Napa Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing