We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon”
Review of The Inn On First

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn On First
Ranked #3 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Oxnard, California
1 review
“Perfect Honeymoon”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

My husband (still getting used to calling him that!) and I stayed at the Inn on First in Napa for a few days after our wedding, which also took place in wine country. It was the perfect place for us to relax, decompress from the wedding festivities, and start our life together! Jamie and Jim are terrific innkeepers - very attentive to their guests and served delicious breakfasts and snacks. Our room was beautiful, clean, comfortable - and we were both so happy to have the best night's sleep we've had in weeks! When we come back some day for an anniversary, you can be sure we will stay here again!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Gerri S,
It is truly an honor to have been able to share the beginning of you and your husband’s life together! Your kind words are beyond appreciated by both of us and it was a pleasure having you stay. We wish you the best of luck, and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,469
    27
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
69
1,210
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Had a wonderful 2 night stay at The Inn on First. I was in their main house which was quiet and spacious. Jamie and Jim truly care how each of their guest are enjoying their time in and around Napa. They were constantly chatting everyone up during breakfast making sure people had plans for the day and dinner arrangements for the night. Their breakfast was gourmet, and we looked forward to it every morning, as well as those chocolate chip cookies in the afternoon. The Inn is situated nicely- very close to downtown napa which you can walk to for some evening dinners. You are also a short ride away from the other Napa villages. We took an Uber to Yountville for one night and found it easy enough to get around. There is free wifi in the Inn which was great to stay connected while you did try and unplug from the world- easier with no tv. We plan on going back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBoston22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear KBoston22,
We are incredibly thankful to receive such a lovely review! Our guests are very important to us, and we take pride in helping to create the perfect getaway in which they can unwind and unplug from their daily routine. We’re also very lucky to have so many unique and exceptional establishments within walking distance, and it’s great you were able to experience some of what Napa has to offer. Thank you again, and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The Inn on First is an amazing and wonderful place to stay starting with the welcome at the front door on day one to the day we left. Jamie and Jim could not have made our stay any better - they completely spent the time to help us find wineries, chilled down our champagne, provided homemade chocolates, etc. Jim's breakfasts on the patio were excellent and a wonderful way to start the day with great food and great company provided by the other guests at the table. We are still raving about the quality of the beds and bedding. A great thanks for providing the name of the nearby delivery service we required after buying too many bottles of wine to put in our luggage requiring us to send the wine to our home. Also, my husband discussed restaurants with either Jim or Jaime and we had two of the best meals in Napa over out week long trip to CA.

Room Tip: We did not see the other rooms, but we had a corner room at the front of the house on the second flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ship1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear ship1966,
We’re so glad your stay with us was such an enjoyable one! Napa is bursting with extraordinary things to see and do, and it’s wonderful you were able to experience some of our amazing restaurants. We hope all the wine made it home safely, and thank you so much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This charming B&B beat the pants off of SF's The Clift both in service and room quality. Jaime took the time to get to know us, our tastes and made the best recommendations for wineries and restaurants. We will never stay anywhere else in Napa!!! Thank you Jaime and Jim!

PS. The gourmet breakfasts from the garden are phenomenal.

Room Tip: Get a room in the big house.
See more room tips
Green Features: This place is very environmentally conscious. From the stainless steel water jugs to the food from their very own garden.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Jeff B,
It’s wonderful to learn that your first stay with us made such a positive impression! We aim to help our guests create an unparalleled Napa experience, and there’s no better way than to share our knowledge of some of the great things to do and see. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The Inn on First was hands down fabulous! Their attention to detail was like nothing I have seen at a hotel or inn! Jim and Jamie truly cater to the guest with the tiniest of details. The inn is cozy, so clean and well thought out. The breakfast was amazing every day! And Jim, the chef, is out there making sure you have everything you need, telling you about the recipes and just "icing the cake" one might say. I eaten gluten-free and not only did I have my own gluten-free breakfast every morning, Jim went as far to make a gluten-free version of the pastry he made for the other Inn guests. Attention to detail I must say! They are also full of places to eat, events to go to and wineries to visit. They provided us with a massive list and we picked every restaurant and winery from it and loved them all! I will be back to Napa for sure and WILL be staying at the Inn on First!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Amy G,
Thank you so much for such kind words! Our guests should be able to experience all that Napa has to offer, and we’re so glad you liked our suggestions. There’s much more to see so come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My sister and I were traveling to Napa for our last "girls weekend" before I get married this year. I will never have to search for a place to stay in Napa again. These two pay very close attention to all the details in the rooms, with their service and all through the house. Talk about having an in-house travel guide - these guys are here to help and are very knowledgeable on restaurants, wineries, the local spots and much more. Breakfast on the patio is so lovely and quaint with everything you need to get your day going. The neighborhood is so close to downtown we would take our morning walks there and also were able to walk to dinner in town. Upon Jamie's suggestion - we might just start making this our yearly sister trip. I also look forward to visiting with my fiance. This is hands down a well thought out, well run - warm, charming place to really soak in the full wine country experience!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNutts2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear TheNutts2014,
We’re so glad that you and your sister enjoyed staying with us! We can’t keep our local gems all to ourselves, and sharing them with our guests brings us such joy (Especially when everything is so close!). Thank you for your wonderful review and we hope to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This bed and breakdfast is a real gem. My wife and I (and our dog Bella) recently enjoyed 3 nights here and wished we could have stayed longer. The accommodations are first rate, the breakfasts are outstanding, and the hosts (Jim and Jamie) are warm and welcoming and eager to assist with suggestions for wineries or restaurants or local attractions. The location in Napa is within walking distance of downtown and you're centrally located between Napa and Sonoma Valleys. They have done an outstanding job renovating an historic home - I wished I could've spent more time in the mansion living room by the fire reading one of the many interesting books or magazines available. Our room was one of the garden suites on the ground level, spacious with a comfortable king-sized bed and private patio. Inn on First gets a big thumbs- up from us. We'll be back.

Green Features: Inn on First proudly displays its many awards for being environmentally "green". Both of the owners have spent considerable time (and money I'm sure) meeting the tough CA standards for eco-friendly accommodations and landscaping. It's definitely paid off.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Chris P,
Thank you for your review. It’s such a pleasure reading about the favorite parts of your stay, and we’re thrilled you found your visit so enjoyable! Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,992 reviews
0.7 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#10 of 30 in Napa
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
1801 First Luxury Inn
0.6 mi away
Arbor Guest House
Arbor Guest House
#6 of 22 in Napa
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On First

Property: The Inn On First
Address: 1938 1st St, Napa, CA 94559-2351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn On First 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are setting the new standard for the American Bed and Breakfast Inn. This is not an inn for traditional B&B people. We are attracting the next generation who want great food for breakfast, well beyond the traditional omelets, frittatas, and egg bakes of old. This is where you get to experience a chef's creative innovation each morning, one of his 130 recipes for breakfast, such as Corndog Omelets, Tomato and Egg Soup with Grilled Cheese Croutons, or S'mores French Toast with house made Marshmallows.WARNING: we do not cater to people who want to stay connected to the television. We purposely removed all televisions so that couples can enjoy the intimacy of whirlpool tubs in the rooms with gas fireplaces, or sit out in the garden sipping on wine and enjoying great conversation. Yes, WiFi is available for those who feel they must stay connected to the outside world, but our hope is that you will learn to leave all that aside to enjoy great Napa hospitality here at the inn and at the wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Inn On First reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On 1st
The Inn On First Hotel Napa
The Inn On First Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing