We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Friendly and Quiet!”
Review of The Inn On First

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn On First
Ranked #2 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fulshear, Texas
1 review
“Clean, Friendly and Quiet!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

If you're considering a B&B in wine country definitely consider The Inn on First. We visited in April 2014 and very much enjoyed our stay. Our room was in the main house and we found it very inviting with super clean accomodations. The Inn Keepers were very helpful - knowledgable about the area and willing to help plan your day/trip if needed. They even called and made last minute reservations for us at a fabulous winery nearby. Lots of positive to say but the main takeaways are the wonderful accomodations, super friendly atmosphere and tons of added bonuses - walking distance to downtown Napa, welcome truffles and port, endless delicious cookies, fabulous breakfast, quiet and easy to find! We would love to stay with Jamie and Jim for future visits!

Room Tip: Our room was in the main house and was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schwa7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Schwa7,
It’s so kind of you to provide us with such a lovely review! We’re very lucky to be located where we are, because there is so much to see, do, and drink in Napa without the worry of driving; and it was truly our pleasure helping you enjoy as much of it as possible. You were fantastic guests, and it would be a joy to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,462
    27
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
68
1,205
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We came with high expectations and were not disappointed. From the pre-trip correspondence, personal restaurant reviews and late arrival instructions, it was obvious that Jim and Jamie have a total commitment to their guest's experience. If there was a 10 star rating, the breakfasts alone would warrant it. They are both available during the beginning of the day to offer suggestions and help plan the day's activities. The rooms were spotless, comfortable and quiet. In total, the best B&B experience we've had..

Green Features: Total committment to being as environmentally-friendly as possible
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Michael M,
How flattering it is to receive such a remarkable review! Words cannot express how happy we are to learn that we exceeded your expectations, and it was our pleasure making you feel right at home. Thank you for your wonderful feedback, and we hope you decide to return to Napa soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Our room was the nicest -- most certainly the biggest -- room we've ever had in a B&B. I can't say enough about the breakfast each morning. Jim spent time in the kitchen & time at the table with all the guests talking about the morning's presentation and whatever else came up in conversation. Jamie was always available to offer the local's opinion of wineries, restaurants, and other excursions. We can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: book the Vintage Reserve honeymoon suite...it's huge, immaculate & quiet
See more room tips
Green Features: Green all the way. All service was on china. Tea was looseleaf. Reusable water bottles were provided to all guests.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron644565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Aaron644565,
We are beyond grateful that you took the time to share your experience with us! Reviews from our guests are sincerely treasured, and yours is certainly no exception. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed your recent visit, and look forward to your next one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The Inn on First was recommended to us by friends and we were not disappointed! The Inn was lovely. Tasteful, simple decor, excellent breakfast and friendly, helpful hosts are just a few of the assets that met us there.
Our room was in the main house and was delightful. It had a ceiling fan, a fireplace and windows that opened to the fresh Napa air. Comfy beds, complimentary sparking wine and homemade trifles made us feel very welcome and content.
Jim and Jamie were excellent hosts. Relaxed and attentive at the same time. They helped us to plan our day of wine tasting, select our restaurants and even gave us coupons for discounted wine tasting in Napa center.
We had a wonderful time in Napa and highly recommend a stay at The Inn on First. I can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Eileen R,
Thank you from both of us for such generous compliments! Nothing gives us greater satisfaction than helping to create a stress-free oasis for our visitors, and we’re absolutely delighted that you were able to enjoy yourself so much during your stay. Again, many thanks for your thoughtful review and recommendation, and we hope you come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This review is way overdue... but I had to write it, even if it IS 6 months late!

The Inn on First was our numero uno stop on our Honeymoon Trip from Boston, MA to Hawaii... it set the tone of romance, fun, and serenity & expectation sky high for the rest of our trip.

We stayed in a Garden Suite room, Incantment, which is 100% accurately portrayed on the website. It was perfect for us! We wish we had used the outdoor patio more during our 3 night stay, but our activities in Napa/Sonoma exhausted us! Jacuzzi tub for 2 was relaxing. Large walk-in shower was comfortable and bed was very comfortable! Small fridge equipped with complimentary bottle of wine in room. Hairdryer in room.

We are dying to go back and hope to make this a tradition to celebrate special anniversary years. Jamie and Jim are pools of knowledge about wineries in the area, restaurants and sight-seeing recommendations. Jim prepares delicious classy breakfasts based upon your allergies/dislikes. He even prepared us a "brown bag" breakfast since we missed it out on the sit-down brunch on our early morning commute back to SFO airport. Jamie was the "face" of the Inn for most of our stay helping us with trip logistics, and meeting their schnauzer babies! (They had just had a heartbreaking loss of Oscar and had not acquired Maxwell yet.)

Fresh free baked good snacks daily (cookies/muffins)
Beautiful gardens
Private patios/balconies
No kids under 12 :)
Expert advice on local wineries/eateries
Friendly well-behaved dogs!
Free parking in lot on street behind the inn
Easy after-hour check-in

Green Features: Inn on First should be applauded for their Green Lodging!
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLCarwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear MLCarwell,
We are truly grateful for your amazing review, regardless of when your stay was! It is such a joy finding that we were able to help make your honeymoon stay as perfect as it could be, and we would feel incredibly honored if you chose to visit us again for your anniversary. Thank you for sharing your experience and we eagerly await your next trip to Napa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The owners and hosts, Jim and Jamie, are delightful people with an impeccable knowledge of Napa and the surrounding areas. They have an amazing organization that translates to a unique and wonderful experience while staying with them. The breakfasts are delicious and beautiful! I could not have been happier with our choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Downpat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Downpat1,
Thank you so much for writing such a breathtaking review! We enjoy doing all we can to make the experience of each guest as perfect possible, and your kind words are the greatest of compliments. Thank you again, and we would love to have you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed at the Inn on First for our anniversary weekend and are so happy we did. Jamie and Jim are the most knowledgeable of hosts from dining to specific winery recommendations based on your tastes and preferences. Besides the dinner reservations (we made earlier based on their recommendations), we really hadn't thought about what activities we wanted to do, but Jim and Jamie quickly came to the rescue. Jim made a few phone calls to get us an appointment with a winery he thought we'd enjoy (we most definitely did) and also made other recommendations for picnic options.

But I'd be providing a great disservice if I didn't mention Jim's cooking. Just one word: Amazing. To put it this way, a couple of the wineries we visited asked specifically what Jim had made for breakfast that day. My wife and I will come back for Jim's food alone. In addition to breakfast, you are welcomed in the afternoons with Jim's chocolate chip cookies. Wow.

We stayed in the First Crush room overlooking the front of the house, but traffic noise was minimal The room was very spacious and the jacuzzi tub in the room itself was a nice touch. The Inn itself is only a short walk to downtown Napa, so it becomes very accessible if you don't want to drive.

Al in all, a great experience and we can't wait to come back again soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPAJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear CPAJr,
We are delighted that you chose to spend your anniversary weekend at The Inn on First! Napa has an incredible amount to offer, and it’s a joy to learn how you enjoyed our area’s beautiful wineries and amazing sights. We thank you for writing such an unforgettable review, and can’t wait until your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,987 reviews
0.7 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#10 of 30 in Napa
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
1801 First Luxury Inn
0.6 mi away
Arbor Guest House
Arbor Guest House
#4 of 22 in Napa
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On First

Property: The Inn On First
Address: 1938 1st St, Napa, CA 94559-2351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn On First 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are setting the new standard for the American Bed and Breakfast Inn. This is not an inn for traditional B&B people. We are attracting the next generation who want great food for breakfast, well beyond the traditional omelets, frittatas, and egg bakes of old. This is where you get to experience a chef's creative innovation each morning, one of his 130 recipes for breakfast, such as Corndog Omelets, Tomato and Egg Soup with Grilled Cheese Croutons, or S'mores French Toast with house made Marshmallows.WARNING: we do not cater to people who want to stay connected to the television. We purposely removed all televisions so that couples can enjoy the intimacy of whirlpool tubs in the rooms with gas fireplaces, or sit out in the garden sipping on wine and enjoying great conversation. Yes, WiFi is available for those who feel they must stay connected to the outside world, but our hope is that you will learn to leave all that aside to enjoy great Napa hospitality here at the inn and at the wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Inn On First reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On 1st
The Inn On First Hotel Napa
The Inn On First Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing