We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay while visiting Napa”
Review of The Inn On First

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn On First
Ranked #3 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
“A must stay while visiting Napa”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I cannot say enough goods things about The Inn on First- From gourmet breakfast to assistance in everything you would need to make your trip memorable ie wine tours and local restaurants. Not to mention Jim and Jaimie are wonderful! We will return ...

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Choolahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Choolahan: Dear Choolahan: Thanks very much for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor, we appreciate it very much. We're so pleased you enjoyed everything and are very happy to hear you will return. We definitely look forward to it! Thanks again, Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,469
    27
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
69
1,210
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is the first time staying at a bed and breakfast and it was an unforgettable experience. I would probably never want to stay in a hotel for a future Napa trip. The hospitality was first class as Jim and Jamie were top notch. We stayed at this hotel for an engagement trip. The breakfasts in the morning were delicious and a great start to the tours of Napa. Jamie was very knowledgeable of Napa and provided recommendations to some wineries and restaurants which did not disappoint. They were aware that it was an engagement trip and had a complimentary bottle of champagne for us when we arrived back at the B&B. The rooms were good sized and very clean. They went above and beyond what I would've expected at this stay and would recommend this to any future Napa travelers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Sean L: We're really happy that this very important weekend for you turned out so well. Knowing our recommendations did not disappoint is reassuring to us both. Thanks for recommending us and we promise to show anyone you send to us the best of what Napa has to offer them. Thanks for posting your review, we appreciate it very much. Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I've stayed at this inn multiple times and every time has been perfect! Jim and Jamie are perfect hosts, the inn is beautiful, Jim's breakfasts are absolutely delicious, and the inn is impeccably clean!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Linda B: We can't thank you enough for coming back again and again. It really is the greatest compliment and it affirms that we're doing something we enjoy every single day. We'll make sure our housekeepers see your comments about the hard work they do every day. You'll make their day! We look forward to seeing you again and thanks as well for posting your review. Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2014

As first-timers in Napa, we diligently researched B&Bs, hotels and inns for our one year wedding anniversary getaway from Feb. 27-March 2, 2014. The Inn on First came up again and again as the BEST place to stay close to downtown Napa, and they did not disappoint! From the moment we arrived and enjoyed our complimentary champagne and homemade truffles, we knew we picked the right place. There are no TVs, only the roaring fire in each room, so this is a perfect place to relax and escape all your worries. Jim and Jamie, the owners, go above and beyond to make sure your stay is perfect. We started each day with an incredible breakfast hand prepared by Jim, and chatted Jim and Jamie who made sure we had a perfect plan for activities for the day. We ended the day by eating Jim's awesome cookies and enjoying our comfortable room. Downtown Napa is walking distance, so we were able to walk to dinner both nights. Jamie also gave us tips about our trip to Europe this summer! We are definitely going back, and I would suggest this place to anyone, it is perfect!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rfogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear rfogle: We're glad you enjoyed so much about your stay, including "no TVs" and Jim's crazy good breakfasts! You could stay here for two weeks and not exhaust the dining options here in downtown Napa, we're so fortunate to have so many collaborators in making Napa the great destination it is right now. Of course we're hoping to see you again for another anniversary celebration, and I promise we'll make it as memorable as this trip. Thanks so much for posting your review, we appreciate it very much. Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed at The Inn on First for my husband's 40th birthday. Jim's food was amazing, and he paid such great attention to my food allergies and dislikes, creating something special just for me! Jaime's conversation and helpful tips and advice on where to go, what to do, and where to eat, helped us make the most out of our trip! Our room was beautiful, and the whole house felt warm and welcoming. We truly felt as though we had been invited to stay at Jim and Jaime's house. We know we will be back to Napa, and we will absolutely stay at the Inn on First every time!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Amy J: We really don't want to put any food in front of a guest if it's something they don't like or cannot eat. We're both just so happy that this milestone birthday turned out so well for your husband. We're equally happy to know you'll return so we can share more of what Napa and the Napa Valley have to offer. Thanks very much for taking the time to post your review. Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Whether you are a novice or expert of B&Bs, you will fall in love with The Inn on First. Jim and Jamie are amazing hosts and provide everything from the best foods to the best recommendations of places to visit. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast was fabulous! But the best part of the stay was being treated like family. From the minute we walked in the door, we were greeted warmly and provided everything we needed for a wonderful stay. The Inn on First will be a "must stay" place for my future visits to Napa and I plan to advise anyone visiting the Napa area to book with Jamie and Jim.

Green Features: If you're concerned about going green, that is just one more bonus to staying at The Inn on First... they have designed their B&B to be environmentally friendly!
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKeglerPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear KeglerPhd: Thanks very much for your thoughtful review. We're glad we were successful in matching you with the right wineries and restaurants! We look forward to doing it all over again in your future visits to this fantastic place called Napa and the Napa Valley. We promise to take good care of anyone you send our way as well. Thanks, also, for taking the time to post your review. Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I have very little experience with bed and breakfasts, but I wanted to do something nice with the bf so I booked the Inn on First for one night in February. It far exceeded my expectations, the decor was tasteful, the homemade truffles were incredible, the list of restaurants we should and shouldn't visit was extremely useful. Knowledgeable and friendly, our stay was comfortable and relaxing. It was nice to be able to walk to downtown and drink as much wine as I wanted, then walk/stumble back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jareph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear jareph: I would have thought you both seasoned b and b travelers. Walking downtown for a great dining experience is definitely a plus for us here in Napa. We're both glad you enjoyed your stay and we thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,992 reviews
0.7 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#10 of 30 in Napa
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
1801 First Luxury Inn
0.6 mi away
Arbor Guest House
Arbor Guest House
#6 of 22 in Napa
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On First

Property: The Inn On First
Address: 1938 1st St, Napa, CA 94559-2351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn On First 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are setting the new standard for the American Bed and Breakfast Inn. This is not an inn for traditional B&B people. We are attracting the next generation who want great food for breakfast, well beyond the traditional omelets, frittatas, and egg bakes of old. This is where you get to experience a chef's creative innovation each morning, one of his 130 recipes for breakfast, such as Corndog Omelets, Tomato and Egg Soup with Grilled Cheese Croutons, or S'mores French Toast with house made Marshmallows.WARNING: we do not cater to people who want to stay connected to the television. We purposely removed all televisions so that couples can enjoy the intimacy of whirlpool tubs in the rooms with gas fireplaces, or sit out in the garden sipping on wine and enjoying great conversation. Yes, WiFi is available for those who feel they must stay connected to the outside world, but our hope is that you will learn to leave all that aside to enjoy great Napa hospitality here at the inn and at the wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn On First reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On 1st
The Inn On First Hotel Napa
The Inn On First Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing