We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Napa!!!”
Review of The Inn On First

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn On First
Ranked #4 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This was my (new) fiancés and my first experience with a bed and breakfast, and it was an unforgettable one! Jim and Jaime are so amazingly helpful in every aspect. They helped us plan our days, dinners and everything in between. We got engaged, rode in a hot air balloon, and had the most amazing chocolate chip cookies from the Inn on First that I’ve ever tasted. This bed and breakfast is quaint and beautiful. Every room has a personal Jacuzzi tub and fireplace. This is such a wonderful idea for a romantic getaway and so much more personal than a hotel. Complimentary breakfast every morning that Jim makes himself. (Everything was SO delicious). I cannot say enough wonderful things about the Inn on First. This was the best trip of my life, and I will never forget it. We will be back for SURE!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mallory c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear mallory c: Your trip was a big deal, and we're thrilled you enjoyed everything from the balloon ride to breakfasts to becoming engaged! We wish you the best and I'm confident we can craft another unforgettable experience when you're ready to return. Thanks so much for your review. Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

761 - 767 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

This was my boyfriend's and my first B&B experience. The Inn on First was incredibly warm and inviting from the moment we walked through the door. Checking in a bit late due to traffic, our key and welcome packet were waiting for us, there was a fire burning in the fireplace, and warm drinks and cookies set out in the dining room. We loved our room and felt very comfortable during our entire stay. Jim and Jamie both had wonderful suggestions for wineries and restaurants and basically handed us a flexible itinerary suited to our tastes. They really seem to enjoy what they do, and I can't think of a better pair to run a lovely bed & breakfast. We will be back and will send friends and family there in the meantime!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Christina S: We always enjoy hosting b and b "newbies", and it sounds like we may have converted you both! It's always reassuring to hear the self check-in process works as well as it does. Thanks for recommending us to your family and friends, we promise to treat them like royalty! Thank you, also, for taking the time to post your review. Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had the most wonderful experience at the Inn on First. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The room was fabulous with champagne waiting for us upon arrival, and the most delicious homemade breakfasts in the morning. The setting is so quaint and peaceful and Jamie and Jim are wonderful hosts. We got great recommendations for places to eat and wineries to visit. We definitely plan on staying there each and every time we go back to Napa.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Colleen K: We're so glad you enjoyed not only your time here at the inn but at the wineries we recommended for you both. Thank you, thank you, thank you for mentioning our green efforts. We're proud to be able to work with the state of California, always improving our green practices. We look forward to seeing you soon, and thanks very much for taking the time to post your review. Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Jamie and Jim are some of the most genuine, whole-heartedly good people who run a fantastic bed and breakfast in downtown Napa! We had never stayed actually stayed in the town of Napa (we'd always been more north in St. Helena and Calistoga), nor had we ever stayed in a bed and breakfast before, and I was definitely unsure as what to expect. HOWEVER, Jim and Jamie went above and beyond and truly broke every expectation we had, and made our stay exactly what we needed!

We stayed in the "Honeymoon Suite", in a separate building in the back of their property. The room itself was extremely spacious, and provided a sense of modern comfort, and was more of what we were looking for in a space to relax and escape the outside world. The two red leather chairs situated in front of the fireplace were super cozy, and were a great place to enjoy their complementary split of Mumm champagne and delicious homemade truffles!

Each morning, we were treated to a truly delicious and gourmet breakfast! The first morning, we had a platter of fresh fruits, freshly baked cinnamon rolls, homemade granola, as well as freshly squeezed orange juice and AMAZING COFFEE!!! I have high standards for my morning coffee, and it was so good and prepared exactly right, that I was able to drink it straight black. Our entree that morning was some crazy delicious egg concoction paired with a freshly baked herbed (basil maybe?) thin bread. It was a fantastic breakfast to start the day off before hardcore wine tasting! The next morning, we were presented with fresh fruit, a cinnamon homemade granola (which was crazy delicious paired with a fresh yogurt), fresh homemade donut holes, OJ, and really good coffee again! Our entree that next morning was a tubular homemade pasta filled with a tomato-based sauce and topped with a freshly poached egg. I'll admit, while pasta and eggs sounded weird, it was actually the star of the show that day!

Jim and Jamie are truly some of the best people we met on our recent trip to Napa. They are both extremely welcoming and extremely thoughtful towards each and every one of their guests, as well as people throughout the Napa Valley - every winery we went to (large and small, alike), all knew Jim and Jamie and said to say hi. Their communication before our stay was also very thoughtful (asking us about food preferences and allergies), which is a rarity in today's world! I am thorough pleased and impressed with our recent stay and will definitely be back!

Thank you both so much for making our recent trip enjoyable!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Tyler S: Knowing we have exceeded your expectations is a huge moral booster for us. We're really happy you enjoyed so much about your stay with us, including the coffee! Next time you're here maybe you can enjoy a coffee "cupping" with our toastmaster down the street. It's a lot of fun, especially for coffee lovers. Thank you so very much for your thoughtful review, and for taking the time to post it. We are grateful. Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

My now husband and I booked the Inn on First as a vacation spot, as well as the location for our wedding. Jamie and Jim put us in touch with the right people to make sure that our ceremony went off without a hitch when we booked back in May. They were also very helpful every morning in making sure we were well taken care of for our daily activities.
Upon arrival, we were greeted by Braun(sp?) and he gave us the run down and showed us to our room where a split of champagne was waiting for us. Our room was roomy, yet cozy with a fireplace as the source of heat. The room was fantastic, as well as the cleaning services every day. We didn't use the whirlpool tub, but it's a cool feature to all the rooms. LOVED the shower.
Breakfast every morning was delicious. It was all yummy, but Jim's cheese fritters rocked the house. He also does a perfect poached egg.
Start to finish of our trip was perfect. Our wedding was perfect. When we go back to Napa Valley, we will definitely plan to stay at the Inn on First!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear Angela B: We were thrilled to host your very intimate wedding and our wedding coordinator does a great job! We're lucky to have her to take care of our brides and grooms because our forte is innkeeping and hers is wedding planning. I think we were as excited about your daily schedule as you were, and the fact you were paying attention to Jim's breakfasts during this exciting time is saying something! We look forward to hosting you on many happy returns. Thanks for taking the time to post your review, we appreciate it very much. Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Just got back from an amazing weekend in wine country. While there we were lucky enough to stay at the Inn on First in Napa. It was a great experience that exceeded our expectations from the minute we booked with Jim and Jamie. They helped us with reservations for tastings and dinner then helped us plot our day on a map as we sat around the breakfast table enjoying Jim's incredible cooking. The room was private and well appointed and the main house is gorgeous.
We ate in downtown Napa both nights at restaurants recommended by Jim and Jamie and were glad to have a reservation as it was very busy that weekend. It was also nice to enjoy a nice 10 minute stroll back to the Inn to help us digest our food and talk about our day.
We will be back to the Inn on first!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gprthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear gprthree: We're both happy you enjoyed your time here in Napa, and isn't it great to be able to walk to dinner every night? It's one of the perks of staying in downtown Napa and we're fortunate to have so many wonderful and varied dining experiences at our disposal. We look forward to hosting you again and we can't thank you enough for posting your review! Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Inn on First during a recent wine tasting trip to Napa. We couldn't have picked a better place to stay. The proprietors, Jim and Jamie, were extremely friendly and helpful. Jamie was very knowledgeable about the small, more intimate wineries and which restaurants are worth the price. Jim makes the most incredible breakfast. We actually change the time of our departure flight so we could have one more breakfast at the Inn. The Inn itself is very comfortable and relaxing. The location is in a beautiful neighborhood just a short walk to downtown Napa. We have been to Napa four times and have stayed at different B&Bs each time. All were very nice. We know though, on our next trip to Napa we will be staying at The Inn on First.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Brett1963: Thanks for the vote of confidence in changing your homebound flight so you could stay for breakfast! We appreciate it very much. It was fun for me to help choose the right wineries for you to visit, and trust me there is "something for everyone" here in Napa. That's the beauty of this place. We'd be thrilled to host you again and thanks very much for taking the time to post your review. Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,099 reviews
0.1 mi away
1801 First Luxury Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Napa Vineyard Inn
Napa Vineyard Inn
#1 of 22 in Napa
186 reviews
1 mi away
Candlelight Inn Napa Valley
0.5 mi away
Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On First

Address: 1938 1st St, Napa, CA 94559-2351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range: $162 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn On First 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are setting the new standard for the American Bed and Breakfast Inn. This is not an inn for traditional B&B people. We are attracting the next generation who want great food for breakfast, well beyond the traditional omelets, frittatas, and egg bakes of old. This is where you get to experience a chef's creative innovation each morning, one of his 130 recipes for breakfast, such as Corndog Omelets, Tomato and Egg Soup with Grilled Cheese Croutons, or S'mores French Toast with house made Marshmallows.WARNING: we do not cater to people who want to stay connected to the television. We purposely removed all televisions so that couples can enjoy the intimacy of whirlpool tubs in the rooms with gas fireplaces, or sit out in the garden sipping on wine and enjoying great conversation. Yes, WiFi is available for those who feel they must stay connected to the outside world, but our hope is that you will learn to leave all that aside to enjoy great Napa hospitality here at the inn and at the wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Inn On First reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On 1st
The Inn On First Hotel Napa
The Inn On First Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing