We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely spectacular”
Review of The Inn On First

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn On First
Ranked #4 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Took the wife to Napa to kill bucket list item for her birthday. We were delayed by Asiana Airlines disaster and spent the better part of two days in the airport. We finally departed but our arrival was very late. The late check in was no problem for the Inn on First. The keys were left out for us and the lights were on when we got to the room. The room was quaint and beautiful, with a great bed and wonderful jacuzzi bathtub. We also had a private patio. But what really distinguishes the Inn on First is Jim and Jamie. They are the nicest guys who are truly interested in making your stay memorable. They sat with us and asked us what we planned to do while in Napa. Whatever it was that I thought I had planned was quickly replaced by their expert recommendations Every place they sent us was perfect, delightful, and something we would never have figured out on our own. The breakfasts were inventive, different, and most importantly, beyond delicious. Jim is an ar-tiste and genius in the kitchen. If you are going to Napa, there is simply nowhere else to stay. You will feel like you are at home with family. I cannot recommend the Inn on First highly enough, and we look forward to returning again and again.

Room Tip: Incantment is the room to choose. The private patio was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Barry P: After talking with you two, stuck in the airport, we were rooting for you to get here as much as you wanted to be here! We're glad you made it, and it's always good to hear that the self check in process works as well as it does. I'm also happy we had that brief conversation that ended up with you at wineries and restaurants you really enjoyed. We'll do it all over again when you return, and thanks very much for posting your review. We appreciate each and every one of them. Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

878 - 884 of 1,577 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying three nights in The Inn on First this summer. This is the first time we have chosen a bed and breakfast instead of the traditional hotel routine and I was so surprised and how enjoyable this truly is. I can't say enough about Jim and Jamie who are the host at The Inn on First. They assisted us in planning our daily stops in the valley and we found this very helpful! If you want true quality and service while traveling, this is it! The rooms are beautiful and comfortable and the garden is truly amazing. Thanks Jim and Jamie for being so kind and gracious to us while we were visiting Napa. We look forward to seeing you in the near future. Rik Snodgrass in Texas

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riks434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Rik S: We're so happy you enjoyed your time with us here in Napa. It is our stated goal with every guest! I'm especially happy to hear you enjoyed spending time on the patio and garden. It's a great way to both start and end the day! We look forward to seeing you again, and thank you so very much for taking the time to post your review. Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you're lodging in Wine Country, book here. For all the amenities and service, you're getting a great deal. Every morning the breakfast was unique and tasty. The service was top notch. Our room was modern and spacious. Jim and Jamie were very gracious and gave us more recommendations than we could fit in our time spent in the area. They've raised the bar on B&B lodging. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Room #9 is gigantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChadFuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear ChadFuber: It's always nice to hear our guests value the experience here. Sure, you can find less expensive places to stay, but we agree the amenities, and rooms, the concierge service and especially Jim's wonderful breakfasts are worth the price of admission. We'd like to think everyone will want to stay here, that's our goal! However our guests consistently seem to be happy with the package, and we're glad you did as well. Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review, we appreciate them all! Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Inn on First is amazing. Working as a Director of Sales at a luxury beach resort in Florida I did not want to stay at another hotel/resort. I wanted to experience something different, so my husband and decided to try a bed and breakfast for our vacation stay in Napa. Boy did we make the right choice. The reason the Inn on First is so fantastic is because of Jim and Jaimie. They know how to run a top notch Inn. Our flight was delayed and because of that we arrived late at night. They told us exactly how to get in and had everything set up for us. We walked into a quaint suite named Incantment. The lights were turned on and bed turned down, just as if we were family. The suite come with a king bed, fireplace, hot tube, large shower and we especially like the private outside deck. In the morning we woke up and adventured outside to the grounds. How lovely is this place! Gardens, fountains, table and chairs to sit in and view the beauty. The breakfasts that Jim makes (he is a certified Chef) are first class and exceptional. We looked forward to them every day…and every day is a different breakfast. Jim and Jamie sat down with me and asked me what kind of wine I liked. From there they made arrangements for tastings all over the Napa Valley. Per their recommendations we went to vineyards that we would never think of going or even knew about. They got it all right and loved every place we went. It was a sad day the day we left our new family on the Inn of First. We hope to come back someday for another visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Patricia P: It's always fun to have a partner in hospitality-crime stay with us! We always learn something, and we enjoy sharing experiences as well. We're both thrilled we made the right recommendations for you vis a vis the wineries, and we've been here long enough to have a very good sense of what is going to make our varied guests happy. Thanks for the kudos and we look forward to your next visit. We are always happy to see our valued guests return! Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was my first stay at a bed and breakfast and I didn't know exactly what to expect. My 3 day stay with Jim and Jamie probably spoiled me for life! I didn't want to leave them. Everything was great from the accomodations, wonderful bed, homey decorations, exceptional atmosphere and outstanding breakfasts. They were so good about helping us plan our day, making excellent recommendaions for wineries and restaurants - absolutely the perfect hosts! I would highly recommend them to anyone going to Napa and you can be assured I will certainly stay at The Inn on First on my next visit to the wine country!

Room Tip: Front rooms may be a little nosier than the ones in the back however did not prevent me from getting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Cindy R: Well, we may be in trouble with your other half for spoiling you for the rest of your life! :) It was nothing really, we talked about what you wanted and make the recommendations we thought best for the two of you. Fun for you, fun for us as well! Thanks for the room tip too... most people have no issue with the rooms facing First Street, (i.e., urban and suburban dwellers), so we recommend the Garden Suites to those from rural areas who aren't accustomed to a residential setting. We look forward to hosting you both again and we'll make the next trip even better for you! Thanks for posting the review, we appreciate it so very much. Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Fantastic! Beautiful house, clean and comfortable rooms, and outstanding breakfasts - innovative menus with fresh and delicious ingredients (we loved Jim's conrndog omelette - sooooo good!!!) Location can't be beat - walk to downtown in just a few minutes. Jim and Jaime are great hosts - helped us plan our route through the vineyards and gave us great tips on which wineries to hit. We found some great wines and ended up shipping 2 cases home! Loved our stay and hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnpoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear johnpoly: Thanks very much for posting your review, and doesn't Jim just knock himself out on these awesome breakfast ideas? We're both glad you enjoyed breakfast, and the fact we're so close to the great dining options here in Napa. Our cohorts in crime here in the valley (meaning the wineries) must be equally as happy that you sent home two cases of Napa Valley memories! That's how I look at it, every time I open a bottle of wine I think about where it came from and how much we enjoyed our time at the winery. We look forward to seeing you both again! Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I wish I could give The Inn on First six stars on TripAdvisor- that's how much we loved our stay here. This was easily, hands-down the best B&B at which we have ever stayed. The rooms were big and comfortable, and the entire property has this relaxing, peaceful quality to it. We stayed three nights, and I wish we could have stayed much longer.

The breakfasts alone make this place worthwhile. One of the owners, Jim, graduated from the California Culinary Academy. I'm assuming he graduated summa cum laude, because the food was absolutely stunning. The presentation of the food was amazing, and each dish was unique (often not what you'd expect from breakfast), and yet supremely satisfying and filling. We ate all three breakfasts outside on a little patio, and the service there was incredible. There was fresh fruit at every meal. The breakfasts quickly became our favorite part, and every day we'd wonder what delicious concoction Jim would dream up next. One quick tip- Jim published a cookbook with recipes of breakfast pastries that they sell at the B&B- my wife was ecstatic to purchase one, and Jim even signed it for us! I'd recommend buying a copy.

The service overall was incredible. In addition to Jim's great food, Jamie was incredibly helpful during our stay. He took the time to talk to us every day about our plans for the day, and gave us incredible advice. We were planning to go to one restaurant for dinner, and Jamie advised us that it was better for lunch (he was absolutely correct). He pointed out where we'd run into construction, and advised us on a quicker route around it. He knows so much about the wineries and the restaurants in the area, and we obtained so much valuable, insider knowledge from him. On our first day, he spent 25 minutes just talking with us about our plans and helping to make sure our stay was incredible. You simply don't see that level of service. His kindness and friendliness made us immediately feel welcome.

The Inn On First was a truly wonderful experience. The location is incredible, too- it was a short walk to a host of different shops and restaurants in Napa. We loved our time here, and when we return to Napa, we'll 100% return to this location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegreatone3182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear thegreatone3182: We're both very happy you enjoyed Jim's breakfast creations so much! But summa cum laude??? Huge chuckle out of Jim today when I shared your quote with him. I've said this before, but it's worth repeating: We will spend whatever amount of time our guests need and/or want when it comes to helping them enjoy this wonderful place we live in... Napa! It's always music to our ears to hear guests say they'll return, and you can trust we'll work hard to make the next trip even more memorable. Thanks for posting your review, we appreciate them all! Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,133 reviews
0.7 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
1801 First Luxury Inn
0.5 mi away
Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast
5.5 mi away
Napa Vineyard Inn
Napa Vineyard Inn
#1 of 22 in Napa
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On First

Address: 1938 1st St, Napa, CA 94559-2351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range: $213 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn On First 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are setting the new standard for the American Bed and Breakfast Inn. This is not an inn for traditional B&B people. We are attracting the next generation who want great food for breakfast, well beyond the traditional omelets, frittatas, and egg bakes of old. This is where you get to experience a chef's creative innovation each morning, one of his 130 recipes for breakfast, such as Corndog Omelets, Tomato and Egg Soup with Grilled Cheese Croutons, or S'mores French Toast with house made Marshmallows.WARNING: we do not cater to people who want to stay connected to the television. We purposely removed all televisions so that couples can enjoy the intimacy of whirlpool tubs in the rooms with gas fireplaces, or sit out in the garden sipping on wine and enjoying great conversation. Yes, WiFi is available for those who feel they must stay connected to the outside world, but our hope is that you will learn to leave all that aside to enjoy great Napa hospitality here at the inn and at the wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Inn On First reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On 1st
The Inn On First Hotel Napa
The Inn On First Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing