We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and comfortable stay in Napa”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Inn On First

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn On First
Ranked #2 of 23 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and comfortable stay in Napa”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was our first B&B experience, and it was lovely. The house is beautiful and the rooms are charming, clean, and comfortable. Jim and Jamie supply all sorts of helpful information about the area. Breakfast was very tasty- Jim definitely knows what he is doing in the kitchen! They were incredibly gracious and genuinely want to ensure that you have a good stay. On our way out, Jim gave us great wine tasting recommendations. If I were back in Napa, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingGirl_998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear TravelingGirl_998: It's always a kick to know a first time "bnb" guest enjoys their stay with us and we sincerely hope you'll make your way back to Napa for another stay. We're happy to hear the information we provide either through our email confirmation or a telephone conversation was helpful to you. Jim is especially happy to hear you enjoyed his winery recommendations! Mission accomplished! Thanks for posting your review, we appreciate it very much. Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,401
    27
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
62
1,154
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
204 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in room 1 on June 12th, 2013. The room was amazing - there was a hot tub and a fireplace in the room, and one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on. The house itself as well was gorgeous, clean, and not one item was out of place. We were then greeted by Jim, who checked us into our room early, and had gluten free cookies waiting for us in the room upon return from our Napa tour. Jim and Jamie were super accommodating to my food allergies, and breakfast in the morning was fantastic. My boyfriend and I are still raving about our scrambled egg and guac cream taco-type breafkast. The room does not have a TV in it, but honestly, after wine all day (and our complementary champagne in the room) and the hot tub, there wasn't any time for TV... trust me and book a room at this Inn ASAP... I know I will when I go back to Napa.

Room Tip: Room #1 with hot tub was amazing - there was some noise off of 1st street, but if you've ever li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Lulu2828: We're pleased you enjoyed Jim's gluten free breakfasts, they're the same breakfast, only prepared without the wheat and they are awesome! Thanks for being a "no TV" ambassador! We couldn't be happier knowing our guests appreciate the fact there is no television to get in the way of relaxing and decompressing here in Napa. We look forward to seeing you again, and thank you so much for posting your review on tripadvisor. Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terlingua, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed for two nights and absolutely loved the place. We stayed in the main house in the Sweet Reserve room, which is one of the smallest, but it was perfect. We woke up early every morning and enjoyed the quiet of the main living room with its wonderful, eclectic collection of coffee table books. Jim is an outstanding cook and the breakfasts were sublime--some of the best meals we had the entire trip. His cookies and pastries were out of this world--thank you Jim, for making the recipes available in a cookbook. Jim also gave us some crucial advice: drink a bottle of water between each winery when doing a wine tour! We followed that advice and it made all the difference. Just one of the many ways that Jim and Jaimie make the Inn truly special.

Room Tip: The Sweet Reserve room is smaller but very quiet and overlooks the garden on the side of the house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Donna B: We're so happy you enjoyed our inn which we also call home. The breakfasts, the cookbook... we always enjoy hearing those kudos to Jim, so thank you! Good for you for sharing with the tripadvisor community the wisdom of drinking plenty of water in between your winery visits. Feel free to use the stainless steel bottles we keep in the dining room, and refill at the wineries! Thank you so very much for taking the time to post your review, we hope to see you again. Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeway, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2013

You will not find a better place to stay when visiting NAPA.
Jim and Jamie run a fantastic B and B. The price is right. The Inn is beautiful. I never really wanted to leave the inn. Jim is a great cook. I very rarely eat breakfast, but did every day we were there. We spent 6 days and 5 nights there last week. Jim helped plan our week there mainly before we got there. He made all our reservations for tours, etc. We had one day we left without plans, so he helped plan that day out for us.
Everything was perfect, even the weather. Maybe Jim had some hand in that too.
We only got to meet jamie our last morning there. He was very nice also. Hopefully when we go back there next April they both will be there together.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms were great. We stayed in the main house and our room was excellent.
See more room tips
Green Features: Jim and Jamie do everything that is environmentally friendly, just like many of the hotels do these days.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joekoollakeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear joekoollakeway: I give Jim a lot of credit for what we do here, but I challenge the idea he has a hand in the weather! :) We like to hear from those of you who normally don't eat breakfast, but have a change of heart once they meet Jim's breakfasts! We look forward to seeing you in April and thanks for posting your review! Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed for a night at the Inn on First our way to San Francisco. It is incredible. Everything in it is beautiful and beautifully chosen, right from Jim's delicious cookies which are always calling from the sideboard.

The room was fantastic, as were the little touches which made us feel so welcome. We had no idea what to do in Napa, and the folder of suggestions on the bed when we arrived was really helpful, and it pointed us in the direction of a superb dinner at Carpe Diem. We can't recommend this place highly enough.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Andrew B: The "cookies" are making it into a lot of the recent reviews, and we're glad you enjoyed them as well! And Carpe Diem does the job every time for our guests, we're fortunate to have so many great restaurants within walking distance of the inn. Thanks for your recommendation of us, and also for posting your review here on tripadvisor. We appreciate it very much. Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our stay with Jim and Jamie was extraordinary. Every aspect of our stay, from the property to the experience, exceeded expectations. The inn is gorgeous, clean, and comfortable. Our room (Angel's Share) was large, bright, and well-decorated. Jim's breakfast was delicious and memorable, and we took gluttonous advantage of his endlessly-supplied cookies. Jamie's winery recommendations were excellent and his connections were helpful in securing reservations. At every opportunity both Jim and Jamie strove to make our trip perfect, and they succeeded. Highly, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Angel's Share is one of the larger rooms with lots of light and a private porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Scott V: We're always happy to hear we've exceeded expectations, so thanks for sharing that information. Angel's Share is probably the room with the most "light", and we're glad our website shows off the variations in room colors and levels of light and you were able to choose what you wanted. Thanks very much for posting your review, and know we will strive to exceed in the future as well. Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

What makes this Inn so special are Jim and Jamie (and of course Hugo, Oscar & Calvin the furry 4 legged residents!)
Their service was amazing starting with the reservation process. Even before we arrived Jamie had arranged reservations at some of the areas best restaurants and a wine tour. And once we arrived they helped to suggest wineries, shopping, and lunch spots that fit our style.
The rooms are light, airy and romantic and include lots of fine details--even a picnic basket to use during your stay.
And the food......Wow......a 5 star breakfast on the patio. Jim is a fantasticly creative chef. Our favourite was the wild rice with poached eggs. If you are a foodie the Inn on First will not disappoint!
The location is also great--a quick walk into downtown to enjoy all Napa has to offer.
We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: The Garden Rooms are great for a little more privacy and a private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachyjany1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear rachyjany1: We're always happy when our guests take advantage of our concierge services, as you did for your trip. We enjoy personalizing everyone's stay here in Napa, after all not everyone has the same expectations! Jim does go above and beyond when it comes to his 100+ breakfast recipes, but he and I cannot compete with those miniature schnauzers! They always beat us in the charm category! :) Thanks so much for taking time to post your review, we appreciate it very much. Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
0.7 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.2 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#6 of 30 in Napa
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,891 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.1 mi away
1801 First Luxury Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On First

Property: The Inn On First
Address: 1938 1st St, Napa, CA 94559-2351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn On First 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are setting the new standard for the American Bed and Breakfast Inn. This is not an inn for traditional B&B people. We are attracting the next generation who want great food for breakfast, well beyond the traditional omelets, frittatas, and egg bakes of old. This is where you get to experience a chef's creative innovation each morning, one of his 130 recipes for breakfast, such as Corndog Omelets, Tomato and Egg Soup with Grilled Cheese Croutons, or S'mores French Toast with house made Marshmallows.WARNING: we do not cater to people who want to stay connected to the television. We purposely removed all televisions so that couples can enjoy the intimacy of whirlpool tubs in the rooms with gas fireplaces, or sit out in the garden sipping on wine and enjoying great conversation. Yes, WiFi is available for those who feel they must stay connected to the outside world, but our hope is that you will learn to leave all that aside to enjoy great Napa hospitality here at the inn and at the wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Inn On First reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On First Hotel Napa
The Inn On 1st
The Inn On First Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing