We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Worth it!”
Review of The Inn On First

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn On First
Ranked #4 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 28, 2008

We celebrated our 5th anniversary there and just had a wonderful time. The room was huge and everything was so clean and comfortable. Everyone was so helpful! Jaime was very accomadating to our needs and questions. We decided to book a tour with PLatypus tours. We had a great time! Well worth the money! Breakfast was exceptional. Like having our own personal chef designing a masterpiece on a plate.
We WILL be staying there again.
The rooms had two hand made robes that were just luxurious! The jacuzzi tub was wonderful, and they supplied the bath salts for us! I just wish we could have stayed longer. It was heaven on earth:)

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Thebombfem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,539)
There are newer reviews for The Inn On First
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,450 - 1,456 of 1,539 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2008

OMG! Jim & Jamie, the very thoughtful Proprietors of Inn On First, made sure our weekend was most memorable! We've been to other B&Bs but none compare! The Inn On First is by far the BEST! Our first impression was how beautiful, clean and inviting the property appears. Mercedes warmly greeted and showed us to our Veraison room. We felt immediate comfort and solace in our large lavender room where all of our senses came to life. Everything was perfect...a comfortable bed, an oversized shower, a jacuzzi tub and a fireplace too. We were amazed by the many amenities. We enjoyed a complimentary split of champagne upon arrival and daily truffles. We were also invited to their delightful garden wine tasting hosted by a local winery. We loved all of Jim's gourmet breakfasts and sought Jamie's personalized concierge services for restaurant advice, reservations and other Napa activities. Our weekend ended way too soon but we'll definitely return to our "home away from home" again and again! Thank you for a splendid weekend!
Jeanine & Roger

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JeanineFallbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for the first 3 days of our honeymoon. Let me say that we have stayed at numerous B&Bs before and this was BY FAR, the best one we've ever stayed at. The entire place is beautiful - inside and out. We stayed in the Incantment room and it was secluded, cozy, relaxing, and comfortable!
This was our first time to Napa and we were clueless about what wineries to visit, but Jamie was kind enough to map out our first day with some wonderful, small wineries for us to visit. When necessary, he made all our reservation for us...we did not have to worry about a thing. He even gave us recommendations for the second part of our honeymoon in San Francisco.
As everyone else here mentions, the breakfasts are amazing! Jim does a wonderful job making one-of-a-kind breakfasts that my husband and I have been missing since we left!
Our time in Napa was a wonderful and memorable experience thanks to Jamie and Jim.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaWhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2008

Jim and Jamie are gracious, warm, competent hosts. The property is clean, well-appointed, high quality and comfortable. It is located close to downtown Napa (within walking distance) which is great. The bed was super comfie. I slept like a baby. The bathroom was huge and exceptionally clean. Breakfast was great. It was all wonderful. Can't find a thing to complain about!
Definately try it if you are headed to Napa.

Stayed: May 2008
Thank danaae3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2008

Loved the Inn on First! It is a very contemporary B&B - clean, modern design and very visually appealing. Jim and Jamie did an excellent job of making us feel at home.

We stayed in the Incantment Suite. The room was very clean and had a HUGE shower, as well as a complimentary split of sparkling wine (a really nice touch). Breakfast was great as well.

Due to some last minute scheduling changes, I ended up staying in 3 different b&b's over the course of my week in Napa - this was my favorite. Thanks again guys!

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank aphex732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2008

My husband and I were celebrating our 28th wedding anniversary in Napa. We had booked a room at another Inn but decided to come a day early, so we chose to stay at The Inn on First the first night. We had read that Jim is a fabulous cook and wanted to try out his cuisine. Upon our arrival we met one of the proprietors, Jamie, who made us feel at home and comfortable immediately. The Inn’s decor is traditional yet modern. The garden is inviting and peaceful. Jim’s food was all we expected, outstanding. We didn’t want to leave, if we could have canceled our reservation at the other Inn we would have. I could have stayed for a month; Jamie and Jim definitely have the gift of hospitality. We knew when we left that this would be a “hard act to follow” and unfortunately the other Inn did not even come close to the standards of The Inn on First. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank StewardCentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2008

Arriving late in the day and tired after a long day's driving we were reccommended by a local wine shop to try The Inn On First. The hosts are friendly, accommodating and their B&B is beautiful and relaxing. We were soon relaxing in our bright, sunny room and enjoying the complementary bottle of bubbles on the balcony. Their advice is spot on and helped us to find an excellent restaurant for a late dinner in town and which vineyards to visit the following day. We were so sad to have to leave the next day. Breakfast was wonderful and the freshly baked cookies are to die for. I will certainly be reccommending this as a place to stay for any fellow English heading over to the wine country!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Carosmiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,042 reviews
0.7 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#13 of 30 in Napa
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
1801 First Luxury Inn
0.6 mi away
Inn on Randolph
Inn on Randolph
#5 of 22 in Napa
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On First

Address: 1938 1st St, Napa, CA 94559-2351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range: $206 - $568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn On First 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are setting the new standard for the American Bed and Breakfast Inn. This is not an inn for traditional B&B people. We are attracting the next generation who want great food for breakfast, well beyond the traditional omelets, frittatas, and egg bakes of old. This is where you get to experience a chef's creative innovation each morning, one of his 130 recipes for breakfast, such as Corndog Omelets, Tomato and Egg Soup with Grilled Cheese Croutons, or S'mores French Toast with house made Marshmallows.WARNING: we do not cater to people who want to stay connected to the television. We purposely removed all televisions so that couples can enjoy the intimacy of whirlpool tubs in the rooms with gas fireplaces, or sit out in the garden sipping on wine and enjoying great conversation. Yes, WiFi is available for those who feel they must stay connected to the outside world, but our hope is that you will learn to leave all that aside to enjoy great Napa hospitality here at the inn and at the wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your The Inn On First reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On 1st
The Inn On First Hotel Napa
The Inn On First Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing