We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class all the way at The Inn on First”
Review of The Inn On First

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn On First
Ranked #4 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Inn on First last weekend, and we were so glad that we did. Even before we arrived the owners took great care of us! They gave us lots of helpful recommendations regarding how to spend our limited time in Napa Valley, and reserved a wine tour and made dinner reservations for us beforehand.

When we arrived, a chilled split of sparkling wine and Jim’s (co-owner and chef) homemade truffles were waiting for us in our room. The room itself was spotless and super comfortable with a king bed, fireplace, private fenced patio, whirlpool tub, and huge shower (which my tall husband really appreciated).

In addition to all of the spot-on recommendations and the super friendly staff, Jim’s amazing cooking really sets the Inn on First apart. We couldn’t wait to start our day by digging into his breakfast and come back to the Inn after a day of sightseeing to enjoy his addicting chocolate chunk cookies with a glass of port.

Our only complaint was that our trip flew by too fast! We can’t wait to come back and stay longer.

Room Tip: They have a pet friendly room available too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Michelle M: You are 1000% correct, your trip was too short. But! You had a wonderful time and you created Napa memories that we hope you'll cherish for years to come. We're really happy you enjoyed Jim's fantastic and creative breakfasts, along with our tips on where to go. We sincerely try to match the guests desires with what we know of the valley. We're so pleased it worked out well for you both! The only question we have is this: When will you return? We look forward to it. Thanks for posting your review, we appreciate it very much. Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

937 - 943 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

Jim and Jamie are fantastic hosts presiding over a fantastic home. My wife and I (married on 19 March 2013 and first-time Napa visitors during our self-proclaimed "mini moon") thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this charming B&B to anyone looking for the personal touches (good reading material, tasteful decor, healthy home cooked breakfasts, complimentary baked goods) of two good people. Further, Jim and Jamie know the area well, and tailored an itinerary through the Napa vineyards to suit our specific tastes.

Pros: food, personal service, decor, environmental friendliness, nice bathroom in the Angel's Share room, proximity to downtown restaurants and shops
Con: a full house can be a bit (but not overwhelmingly) noisy

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kilgeffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear kilgiffen: Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review. We're glad you enjoyed The Inn On First experience, food, itineraries and all! Please share with us your experience of it being noisy while you were here as there may be something we can do about it. Generally speaking it's pretty quiet around here since guests aren't here, generally, for a late night party experience. Thanks in advance for recommending your friends to us, we're happy to hear this! Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

After spending three nights at The Inn On First we can't wait to go back! Our stay was amazing!
Jim and Jamie have created a wonderful, complete, and welcoming B&B. They seem to have thought of everything that one could need or want for their stay in Napa. The tray of fresh cookies, assortment of loose leaf teas, and offering of port are great touches for your daily return to the inn.

The breakfasts at the inn are an amazing culinary adventure... in a most fabulous way! A tasting room host said that Jim is the only person that can make pasta for breakfast and make it taste good, which we could not agree with more!! Jim can cook for all dietary needs and we were simply amazed at how well he can create delicious vegan foods (if that is what you desire... and I do)!

After breakfast Jim and Jamie sit down and assure each guest has plan for the day. Jamie inquires what one wants to get out of their visit to Napa and makes recommendations based on personal preferences. He also makes any reservations needed for the day's wine tastings.

We do not have enough superlatives to fully praise the Inn on First and all details that accompany a stay there! A giant thank you to Jim and Jamie for their hospitality!! We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iboard10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear iboard10: As the guy who writes these responses (I respect the time Jim puts into preparing breakfast!) I never tire of hearing from our guests how much they enjoy his breakfasts, especially from our many guests who maintain a vegetarian, vegan or gluten free diet. You shouldn't suffer an inferior breakfast in our opinion. And Jim delivers! We both give you a giant thank you in return in advance of your return visit with us. We look forward to it! Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was my first time at a bed and breakfast and my first time in Napa. The house was beautiful and clean. The food was great. We were served something unique all three mornings.

The owners were great. We ate at all of the places they recommended and were not disappointed. All of the questions we had were answered very thoroughly. The house is walking distance to anywhere in downtown Napa.

We loved the hot tub in the room. Not having a tv in the room was actually a nice change.

Overall me and my girlfriend had a great time. I will definitely come back here next time I'm in Napa.

-joe m

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeMartinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear JoeMartinet: It sounds like you've been converted to not only the bnb experience, but the downtown Napa experience as well! Great restaurants with wonderful hospitality, and you could walk to dinner every night. We're very happy to hear you both had a great time, we enjoyed your company very much as well. Thanks for posting your review, we appreciate it very much. Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful 2-night stay at The Inn on First in early March. We landed at SFO relatively late and rented a car, so we didn't arrive at the inn until around 1am. Jim and Jamie provided us with very clear directions on how to enter the inn and we were delighted to find a bottle of sparkling wine and chocolates waiting for us in our room. The breakfasts that Jim prepared were such a treat and Jamie provided great recommendations for where to rent bikes to spend the day biking and wine-tasting in Napa Valley. We received a complimentary tasting upon mentioning The Inn on First at one of the vineyards. Though we were only in Napa for 2 nights, we came home feeling completely relaxed and with wonderful memories from our trip. After returning from our trip, I realized that I had left a shirt at the inn, and Jim and Jamie shipped it back to New York, free-of-charge. We look forward to visiting The Inn on First again in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francesca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Francesca W: Naturally we're pleased you enjoyed our amenities and what we have to offer in terms of our experience here in this wonderful place we call downtown Napa and the Napa Valley! Jim's breakfasts? They are a labor of love, indeed. My favorite detail in your review was the fact you were able to relax and have fun during your stay. Kudos to the four of us for making that happen! Thanks for taking the time to post your review, we are grateful. Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Jim and Jamie obviously really love their inn, really love Napa and really love take care of people. I found myself saying over and over..."Oh, that's a nice tough." This was our first visit to Napa and wine country for that matter so it may very well be that ever Inn and B&B is this damn cool, but I doubt it. So first you're greeted and given a quick tour. Here is where you find out that there is a comp split of sparkling wine in your room, comp port wine down in the living room, the best damn cookies waiting for you to eat about 2 or 3 more than you should, oh and some nice truffles for you as well.

Rooms are big, fireplace, in room jet tub, robes, and my favorite was the picnic backpack. I don't know what else these guys could have come up with....really.

Breakfast was excellent. Jim goes out of his way to customize the meal to anyone and everyone's preference.

After breakfast, either Jamie or Jim will build your day for you. So really no need to even worry about planning anything. These guys know even spot in the area and will build a day for you on a map they provide. They will even call and make reservations for you or in some cases they can offer free or buy one get one free tastings. Extremely knowledgable!! Also they don't just tell you to go to the places they like or to their friend's places. They will honestly work with you to find out what it is you like the best...hardcore wine drinkers, first timers, hate wine, bikers, hikers, foodies, site see'ers....you name it.

Will definitely be back and will definitely recommend the Inn on First to any and everyone!

Thanks guys!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NASA_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear NASA_Dan: Thanks so much for detailing so many of our amenities, etc., that we offer to our guests. And of course, the breakfast, which Jim invests so much passion. Especially, however, thank you for pointing out that we genuinely strive to get our guests into the restaurants and wineries that we feel are best for them. We're fortunate enough to have an incredible palette to work with here in Napa and the Napa Valley. We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us, and we sincerely thank you for taking the time to post your review. See you again soon! Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have stayed at In on First several times and have been impressed with care they pay to each and every guest. Jamie has great knowledge of the area attractions and makes suggestions based on your personal interests such as; winery tours, walks, places to visit. The breakfasts are personally crafted with the creativity of an accomplished chief. Come with your appetite and don’t miss out. The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated. At our last stay (last week), I loved the heart shaped Jacuzzi tub and the complimentary sparkling wine on our first night. We look forward to more visits….

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinot4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear Pinot4Ever: First and foremost we are grateful for your return visits, it's always wonderful to see you both walk through the door. Thanks for pointing out there is so much to choose from here in Napa (and the Napa Valley) in terms of experience and we don't want to limit our guests to a cookie-cutter experience. It's more fun for us as well! And that's what Napa is all about... having a memorable vacation experience. Thanks for posting your review as well! We appreciate them all. Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,097 reviews
0.1 mi away
1801 First Luxury Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Napa Vineyard Inn
Napa Vineyard Inn
#1 of 22 in Napa
185 reviews
1 mi away
Candlelight Inn Napa Valley
0.5 mi away
Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On First

Address: 1938 1st St, Napa, CA 94559-2351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range: $162 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn On First 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are setting the new standard for the American Bed and Breakfast Inn. This is not an inn for traditional B&B people. We are attracting the next generation who want great food for breakfast, well beyond the traditional omelets, frittatas, and egg bakes of old. This is where you get to experience a chef's creative innovation each morning, one of his 130 recipes for breakfast, such as Corndog Omelets, Tomato and Egg Soup with Grilled Cheese Croutons, or S'mores French Toast with house made Marshmallows.WARNING: we do not cater to people who want to stay connected to the television. We purposely removed all televisions so that couples can enjoy the intimacy of whirlpool tubs in the rooms with gas fireplaces, or sit out in the garden sipping on wine and enjoying great conversation. Yes, WiFi is available for those who feel they must stay connected to the outside world, but our hope is that you will learn to leave all that aside to enjoy great Napa hospitality here at the inn and at the wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Inn On First reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On 1st
The Inn On First Hotel Napa
The Inn On First Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing