We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn On First
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$303
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Napa Valley(Napa)(Great Value!)
$189
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$685
$595
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SpringHill Suites Napa Valley(Napa)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Meritage Resort and Spa(Napa)(Great Value!)
$362
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SENZA Hotel(Napa)(Great Value!)
$369
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silverado Resort and Spa(Napa)(Great Value!)
$175
$140
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa(Napa)(Great Value!)
$364
$309
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,602)
Filter reviews
1,602 results
Traveler rating
1,556
30
9
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,556
30
9
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjim's breakfastsjim jamiecookiesb bhomemade trufflesangel's sharesparkling wineamazing hostspicnic basketport wineeach morningother guestsnapa valleydietary restrictionsliving roomjacuzzi tubbed and breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
987 - 992 of 1,602 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I had a wonderful last minute stay at this lovely B&B. Jim and Jamie were both wonderful. Jim made us a great breakfast. I think the little things they do go a long way. From the homemade truffles, the complementary split of sparkling wine, the bath salt, filtered water, and large loose leaf tea selection we felt that they went the extra mile to make their guests feel welcomed. Jaimie spent time with me discussing my plans which was extremely helpful. Will definitely recommend their property to my friends.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear newstarr: Thanks very much for taking the time to post your review. I'm glad the details we provide relative to amenities was to your liking as well. We'd like to think we've thought of everything, and we rely on our guests to tell us if we've missed something. Thanks for referring your friends to us as well, we're grateful for the support. Thanks again, Jamie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was our first trip to Napa, but we have already decided it will not be our last. We were so blessed by Jim and Jamie. They truly have the gift of hospitality. Jim and Jamie helped us to plan our days so that we could really enjoy our time and relax. They scheduled our winery visits and our dinner reservations. The detail and care that they put into everything they are doing is clear the moment you arrive. Each morning we anticipated seeing what Jim had for us from his kitchen. Saying that Jim makes a great breakfast is truly an understatement. We are looking forward to another stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmmartin94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear rmmartin94: It's always music to our ears to hear guests say they're planning a return visit! That means we here in Napa and the Napa Valley have been successful in creating an atmosphere such that our guests want to return. We're very happy we worked with each other so you enjoyed a good time and were able to relax at the same time. If you think we've been blessed with the gift of hospitality, then we can only respond by saying we've been blessed with the gift of enjoying what we do with so many wonderful guests. We're having a great time, and thanks for sharing it all in your review. Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We just took our first trip to Napa :) Jamie and Jim made the trip so much more enjoyable!! Their hospitality was the best of any place we have ever been. They really take their time with every detail. I am Gluten Free and each morning Jim made me the same breakfast as everyone else only gluten free so I could eat it... and it was absolutely delicious! Jamie is very knowledgeable about each of the wineries and restaurants in the area. He scheduled tour and dinner reservations for us. We felt like we are visiting family :)
In all they made our stay very comfortable and enjoyable! I would highly recommend The Inn on First to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBBryant7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear JBBryant7: We're so happy you enjoyed your time with us, and we hope it won't be your last visit to Napa. Jim is always happy to provide gluten free options in his recipes for our guests who cannot eat wheat, right down to the chocolate chunk cookies! Thanks for the many compliments and especially for taking the time to post your review. Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We just stayed at The Inn on First for the third time. This time we brought my dad and his girlfriend with us. When we got there it was like meeting old friends. They immediately hugged us and said, “Welcome home!” In all honesty, this place feels like home, and Jim and Jamie are good friends at this point.

My dad’s flight was delayed, and they ended up getting in around 11pm instead of around noon. Jim and Jamie made sure there was a cheese plate in their room because they knew they would be tired and food options would be limited. Every room gets champagne and some homemade chocolate truffles as well, but it was a real classy touch.

We wanted to ship some wine home, which means we needed a shipping carton. We called the Inn to see if we could just order one offline and send it to them before we arrived. Of course, they said no problem! Customer service. They even assembled it before we arrived, and it was waiting for us in our room.

Jim is the chef, and man is the food out of this world. I show pictures of our food to people staying at other B&Bs and they exclaim, “THAT’S what you get for breakfast?!?” They are in always in awe. While they get Danish and store bought croissants, we get a gourmet meal. Check out the pictures on the website, they are not exaggerations. Plus, there is always a fresh cut fruit salad, fresh yogurt, cereal and one of Jim’s famous baked creations to go with it. It was my third time there, and I have a new favorite breakfast… the Mexican corn cakes. Unbelievably good.

Jamie is great when it comes to wineries to visit. Once he knows what you like, he can point you in the right direction every time. He set up my dad with all the wineries on his trip, and made all his food reservations. My dad could not have been happier. We schedule a lot of our own stuff, but this time Jamie suggested two different wineries that we hadn’t heard of before. He scheduled them for us too, and they ended up being the highlights of our trip. He could not have been more right on picking those two places. He is personable, funny, and a pleasure to be around.

They also are very helpful if anything pops up. We had an unfavorable restaurant experience, and told them about it. They contacted the restaurant and passed on an anonymous guest complaint. It really showed the attention to detail they are known for and how they want to make sure their guests have the absolute best time in Napa, even outside of Inn. We will be back again without doubt. This is the best B&B in the valley. Stay here, and come back many times (like we did).

Room Tip: We've stayed in 2 rooms, my dad stayed in another, and they all seem great.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justicekaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear justicekaus: We can't possibly find the words to appropriately thank you for your return visits, and we're especially happy you trusted us with your father and his girlfriend. Everyone seemed to have a good time and we were genuinely sad to see you leave again. It is such an affirmation to not only read your comments about the food, but to know we're consistently getting you to the right winery experiences. We're very happy you're enjoying what we think you're going to like! It's my favorite aspect of being an innkeeper here in Napa Valley. I know we're going to see each other again, and we're grateful for that, and to you for taking the time to write your review. Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Inn on First, Jim and Jamie make you feel so welcome. They thought of everything for your stay including the handmade chocolate truffles waiting for you in your room,homemade chocolate chip cookies, a picnic basket in the room for your use during your stay and the little things that you forget in the bathroom.

Our room was so much better then we hoped it would be, it was beautiful, clean and spacious.

We enjoyed it so much that we decided to make it an annual stay. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Christy L: We're thrilled you enjoyed the amenities that we provide here at The Inn On First, and those picnic backpack/baskets come in awfully handy here in Napa Valley where there are many wineries who are looking forward to hosting you as well. More importantly we very happy to hear you'll make an annual visit with us here in Napa! See you soon, and thanks for posting your review. Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews