We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal service and attention to details!”
Review of The Inn On First

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn On First
Ranked #2 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Personal service and attention to details!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have never stayed in a b&b before, but we decided it would be different to try something adventurous. We stayed there just after Christmas, before the new year. Jaime and Jim have much insight, knowledge, and passion for their craft. They respect your time and space, yet offer very helpful and informative tips for the dining experiences in the Napa area. It is invaluable advice.

Jaime and Jim were still very professional, social, and open, especially when they appeared to be going thru tough time with their very ill schnauzer. Jaime followed up with our stay upon check out, and I mentioned the clogged sink and the confusing fire place meter, and he appeared concerned to resolve these issues for the future.

They are detail oriented and organized. They sent a follow up email after our stay. They take the effort to find out any special dietary needs to prepare your breakfast. The courtesy cookies and tea was a nice personal touch. The special champaign amenity with chocolate truffles was a very thoughtful gesture. I really enjoyed their sizable bath tub in the room too!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveSchnauzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Love Schnauzers: First and foremost I must say we always enjoy meeting other schnauzer lovers (well, dog lovers in general for that matter!) and how timely was your visit while little Oscar was going through a rough patch? That's behind us, and thanks for your genuine concern, we appreciate it very much. I think you'll be happy to know that just this week we replaced our fireplace thermostats, only sorry we couldn't have yours replaced prior to your stay. We're happy to know everything else about your stay was satisfying, and thanks for sharing in your review. Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,443
    27
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
67
1,188
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ahwahnee, California, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We I had a grand time staying at the Inn. We checked in late with easy and straightforward instructions. Started both days with a beautiful and expertly prepared breakfast that got us ready for a busy day in the wine country (the Risotto Tots are awesome!). Jamie was beyond helpful in recommending wineries that fit our wine preferences and set us up with a great tour at Pride Mountain! The mansion was gorgeous and the room was clean. We also enjoyed the living room in the evenings sitting in front of the fireplace with a glass of port. We also liked that they were just minutes from some of Napa’s best restaurants.

Room Tip: The Veraison room was roomy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherilee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Sherilee N: I know... aren't those risotto tots crazy good? So glad you all enjoyed them. Even happier that Jim created that recipe! I'm equally happy you enjoyed your time at Pride Mountain, and next time I have more wineries and restaurants to recommend that I think you'll enjoy as well. Thanks for taking the time to post your review! Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I make frequent trips to Napa and the Inn on First is on the top of our list each and every time. Each visit seems like we are coming home. Both Jamie and Jim really go out of their way to make us feel at home. From wonderful gourmet breakfast to extra little touches like Jim's homemade truffles, chocolate chip cookies, split of Mumm sparkling wine, and nightly port from Prager, this place can't be beat. We tried different B&Bs in Napa, Yountville, and St. Helena, but none of these B&B offer the true hospitality and friendship that the Inn of First offers.

During our stay, we were served breakfast cannoli with homemade pasta and risotto tater tots with poached egg and basil oil for breakfast. We had to leave early to catch a flight in San Francisco so they made us a wonderful breakfast to go with breakfast quesadilla, homemade granola with yogurt and berries, and a tasty cake...Yum!

Ever since our first visit to the inn, Jamie knows what type of wineries we prefer (my husband and I prefer small, boutique wineries over large, commercialized ones). During this recent visit, we went to Barnett and Crane who gave us personalized attention during our tasting. At Crane, we went to the owner's private residence and sat on his porch while we tasted his wine. We were there for 3 hours!!!

After all the wine tasting, my husband and I wanted to try something different. Jamie and Jim suggested a specialized coffee tasting and blending class at the Napa Valley Coffee Roasting Company. We met Charlie and he walked us through creating our own blend by tasting various types of coffee. We had a great time selecting our own "house" blend and bring it home with us. Charlie keeps your blend in his records so you can reorder in the future.

We are really surprised by some of these negative reviews because we have always been treated so well. Jim and Jamie help coordinate your visit before your arrival. If you know what you want or need recommendations, they will take care of everything. Stay at the inn and judge for yourself. All I can say is that you are really missing out if you go somewhere else...believe me, we tried others, but we have always returned to this inn.

Room Tip: Stay away from the cookies...they are very addicting and may spoil your appetite for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T00muchwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear T00muchwine: Well, here we are again, saying thank you for another wonderful visit with you both. For you two the breakfast is simple, Jim does what he loves to do and you get to enjoy something you've not had before. Same for me, I know what you like and I never tire of sharing our new found wineries with you both. I am especially happy to see you give some props to not only the wineries you've visited but to the coffee blending class as well. For coffee lovers this is a must! Thanks also for the support, it was not easy to read online that another guest didn't enjoy the same experience as you have repeatedly, even though duplicating your experience is our goal. My 2013 resolution is now in place! We look forward to your next visit and I've already got a list of wineries lined up for you! Thanks for posting another review, we appreciate it very much. Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed at the Inn for a long weekend with a group of friends. Jim and Jamie are such gracious hosts. The rooms are cozy and tastefully decorated and the bed was so comfortable to sleep in. But best of all was waking up each morning to one of Jim's delicious breakfast feasts. Yum, yum!
Loved the fact that the Inn is close to down town and the restaurants are within walking distance. Highly recommend The Inn on First.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Judy B: Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review! We're thrilled you and your friends enjoyed your time with us... especially Jim's breakfast feast every morning. And feasts they are as everything is from scratch. We look forward to seeing your wonderful group again in the future. Thanks again, Jamie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Inn on First is at a great location- few minutes walk/drive to most attractions downtown and some great places to eat. Jim and Jamie were perfect hosts. Jim's breakfast was out-of-the-world (Butternut squash hash!). It was our first anniversary and we felt very special. They get extra brownie points for letting us check-in a little early (we had travelled from NE and were extremely tired) and also for taking the time to see us out even though it was the busy breakfast hour when we checked out. Thanks to Jim, Jamie and the delightful inn- we had a very relaxing vacation!

Room Tip: The Vintage Reserve is amazing if you want to go in for a higher-end and spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Asha S: Talk to me about that hash! What a crowd please, right? We're always happy to check guests in early, whenever we can, it's part of the innkeeper code! :) Checking out is equally important, and we're just thrilled you enjoyed your first anniversary here with us. We hope you'll be able to spend a few more anniversaries with us, and we promise to make them equally special for you both. Thanks for taking the time to post your review, we appreciate each and every one! Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Its like coming home....

Hosts are amazing. Breakfasts are yummy and recommendations for wine tours and region exploring are really useful.

Rooms are clean, spacious and well decorated. Port and cookies are tasty too. Location is central, walking distance to town.

This is everything we could have asked for in a B&B, plus more. So much more wonderful staying here than in a lifeless hotel.

Thanks Jim and Jamie. You guys are the best. We'll be sure to look you up when we are next in town!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Jimmy C: "It's like coming home"... our heartfelt thanks to you for that expression of your stay with us. If I say anymore it would be too much. We look forward to seeing you both again. Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zion, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Oh my where do I start...Jaime and Jim went over and beyond for us! The food A+! The location perfect walking distance to everything downtown! Ample safe parking! Clean room, love the fireplace, whirlpool jetted tub, great conversation I can go on and on!! Jaime even picked up and delivered a cake for us just to help us out! Now that's service! We even had to check out super early and were going to miss breakfast so Jim made us a nice healthy to-go breakfast. I totally recommend this inn to everyone! You won't regret it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evette815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Evette815: Thanks so much for your generous review of our inn, we are very happy you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. We're honored that you chose your very special celebration weekend for a stay with us. We wanted to provide the experience your celebration deserved. I'm also glad I was able to provide that special service in delivering that cake; when I have the bandwidth to do that I am happy make the effort! We can't wait to see you both again, and again, thanks for taking the time to post your review. Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,945 reviews
0.7 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#9 of 30 in Napa
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
1801 First Luxury Inn
0.6 mi away
Inn on Randolph
Inn on Randolph
#5 of 22 in Napa
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On First

Property: The Inn On First
Address: 1938 1st St, Napa, CA 94559-2351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn On First 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are setting the new standard for the American Bed and Breakfast Inn. This is not an inn for traditional B&B people. We are attracting the next generation who want great food for breakfast, well beyond the traditional omelets, frittatas, and egg bakes of old. This is where you get to experience a chef's creative innovation each morning, one of his 130 recipes for breakfast, such as Corndog Omelets, Tomato and Egg Soup with Grilled Cheese Croutons, or S'mores French Toast with house made Marshmallows.WARNING: we do not cater to people who want to stay connected to the television. We purposely removed all televisions so that couples can enjoy the intimacy of whirlpool tubs in the rooms with gas fireplaces, or sit out in the garden sipping on wine and enjoying great conversation. Yes, WiFi is available for those who feel they must stay connected to the outside world, but our hope is that you will learn to leave all that aside to enjoy great Napa hospitality here at the inn and at the wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn On First reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On 1st
The Inn On First Hotel Napa
The Inn On First Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing