We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn On First
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,601)
Filter reviews
1,601 results
Traveler rating
1,555
30
9
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,555
30
9
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjim's breakfastsjim jamiecookiesb bhomemade trufflesangel's sharesparkling wineamazing hostspicnic basketport wineeach morningother guestsnapa valleydietary restrictionsliving roomjacuzzi tubbed and breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,027 - 1,032 of 1,601 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Inn on First is a marvelous place. Gorgeous house, SUPER friendly and accommodating hosts Jamie and Jim, and the most delicious food.

We stayed in the Angel's Share room which was quite the angel's share. King bed, jacuzzi, double sinks, large shower, even a balcony overlooking a little courtyard. Oh yea, and a fireplace. When we checked in, there were a batch of cookies, truffles, and a cute bottle of champagne waiting in our room. Heaven. Like they called it, the Angel's Share (though note that I believe everyone gets this on check-in, not only in this room!).

I need to eat gluten free and my boyfriend is vegan, so we were quite the pair to please, but Jamie and Jim did more than right by us. They not only tweaked the main dishes at breakfast to accommodate each of us, but baked gluten-free-vegan-chocolate-chip cookies that were to die for! And because they had only the slightest mix-up about my gluten free issue one morning, Jim baked and personally delivered to me in my room a whole new batch of these delectable treats. Too, too kind. Additionally, they gave us specific restaurant recommendations on which restaurants would best be able to take care of us.

Additional note, in the main area in the house there is always port wine available and some games, books/magazines, and a fireplace. So cozy.

Right in town, too, and easy to jump right on the highway up to the vineyards.

I would go back in less than a heartbeat. Thank you Jamie and Jim!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Danielle M: I really enjoyed the analogies you made with the name of the room you enjoyed, very clever and made your review very fun for us to read. Vegetarian? No problem! Vegan? Not an issue! We're thrilled you enjoyed the effort Jim puts into ensuring every guest receives what they need when it comes to cuisine, and he is a master at the gluten free baked goods, right? Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review, we only hope you'll return to enjoy it all over again. Thank you! Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Inn on First is a warm and delightful place to begin a true Napa experience. Jamie and Jim are the quintessential hosts! Just the right balance of personal attention to their quests and of course the chef creations were gorgeous and delicious ... my first trip to Napa draws me to more ... you must stay and enjoy! ~Dianne in New Hampshire oxox

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Dianne P: Thanks so much for taking the time for posting your review. We're especially pleased to hear we're hitting the right balance of personal attention. That's an affirmation of the highest order! We look forward to hosting you again and improving upon your first experience, that's our goal! Thanks again, Jamie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn at First for a weekend getaway and had a wonderful time! We felt pampered from the moment we arrived, with sparkling wine and truffles waiting, a fire in the fireplace, a hot bath, cozy robes, and a most comfortable bed. Breakfast each morning was more like brunch and such a treat! Their coffee is a special blend they created with a local roaster and is amazing! Teas and cookies are available throughout the day and port in the evening. There is a picnic back pack and reusable water containers available for use while we were there. Both Jamie and Jim are excellent in making recommendations and point you in the right directions. The inn's location is a perfect place to explore Napa and the many wineries and excellent restaurants around. We are looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wang98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear wang98: Thank you so much for pointing out a couple of amenities we offer that normally go unmentioned: the picnic backpacks and the stainless water bottles. We want to assist our guests in our efforts to be greener, hence the water bottles we encourage everyone to use during their stay. The picnic backpacks are only about having a classic Napa Valley experience: a picnic at one of the many wineries that welcome you to enjoy their grounds. What with so many great places to stop and pick up your provisions, and the ice packs we give you to keep your provisions cool... well, you won't fail to enjoy a wonderful experience. Final note: You two really made relaxing look easy, hats off! See you next time, Jamie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My friends and I came to experience Napa! Jim and Jamie were out standing hosts, paying attention to every detail, always willing to help and answer questions. Their wealth of knowledge of the area guided us to great restaurants and the perfect wine tour company. Amazing doesnt begin to describe the breakfasts. The rooms were extremely clean, cozy and snugly. Loved the fireplace, robes in the bathroom, little chocolates truffles (homemade by Jim). I could go on....... We will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Barbara B: All I can say is "go ahead, go on!". In all seriousness, we're thrilled to hear you'll be back and we're so happy you enjoyed the little things that add up to a stay you called "snugly"! I'm going to use that descriptor in the future! Thanks for taking the time to post your review and please know we are eager to host you again. Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Eight of us travelled to Napa for a girls' long weekend, and were thrilled with the accommodations and the hospitality. Jim and Jamie are terrific hosts and went above and beyond to make our stay a wonderful experience. The small details like chilled sparkling wine and homemade truffles in the room to warm homemade cookies at the end of a day of wine tasting made all the difference. Jim's breakfasts are creative and delicious. We enjoyed every minute we spent with Jim and Jamie and the other inn guests. Best B and B experience I have ever had!

I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charla154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Charla154: Jim and I enjoyed you all, and how nice to see everyone engaging each other so much at breakfast every day. We are so fortunate to have such wonderful people grace our home on a daily basis that, as much as everyone enjoys the amenities, etc., it really is about the experience. We sincerely hope you'll all be back some day. Thanks for posting your review, we are grateful. Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews