We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 Year Anniversary!!!”
Review of The Inn On First

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn On First
Ranked #2 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Schaumburg, Illinois
1 review
“1 Year Anniversary!!!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I recently enjoyed our 1 year anniversary at the Inn on First. Hands down, this place is amazing. Before we booked our stay here, we did pretty extensive research on a good place to stay. To say the least, the Inn on First has quite a presence with quality reviews. And they don't dissapoint. This was my first time to Napa, so I didn't really know where I wanted to go once I got there. Jamie basically planned our entire trip. He is a walking encyclopedia of knowledge on what wineries will best suite what you as an individual are looking for. He set dinner reservations, tour/winery reservations, limo accomadations, ect... Secondly, another factor that cannot be overlooked is the breakfeast that is included with the stay. Jim is an artist with his breakfeast creations. Every morning I was looking forward to see what Jim was going to make! Jim and Jamie are great, I will definitely be back and will recommend anyone going to napa/sonoma to go and stay at the Inn on First.
Thanks Jim and Jamie

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RVR6405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear RVR6405: Let's get one thing straight: I am no walking encyclopedia! Sure, we've got some experience in this wonderful place called Napa Valley, but we ask a lot of questions of our guests. That's how we determine where we send them... no cookie cutter option for every guest. We want to make it personal... it's the only way to go! We're so happy you had a good time, and Jim does double-duty as concierge and chef... how does he do it? Thanks for posting your review... we can't thank you enough for taking the time. Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,444
    27
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
67
1,189
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at many B&Bs in Napa and Sonoma -- and although the prices were always high, the quality and experience wasn't. We finally found a great place at TIOF. Jamie and Jim have a beautiful property and have truly figured out that the best way to ensure success is to treat your guests like they are family. Additionally, my brother (who is in a wheelchair) and his wife joined us on this trip. He found a place in the accessible room at TIOF that truly met, and actually exceeded, all of the requirements for ADA. So, in addition to the great breakfasts and the wonderful hospitality of the owners, my brother got to enjoy a beautiful and comfortable room, just like everyone else. That alone would have made it worthwhile to stay here.
The only glitch we experienced was that the Internet coverage in our garden suite was inconsistent. Normally this wouldn't matter when you are on vacation, but my husband had some work calls and computer needs for them. Other than that, everything was outstanding.

Room Tip: We were in garden suites; never saw one of the rooms in the mansion
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemgab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear rosemgab: We are so happy to know your brother enjoyed his stay as much as he did. We are fortunate to meet so many wonderful people as innkeepers, and the encouragement from guests who post reviews is invaluable. We're sorry about the internet connection, apparently we failed to make it known we have ethernet cables available in the room for those occasional instances where network and computer don't get along very well! Please accept our apologies, and thank you so much for posting your gracious review, we are grateful. Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorschoten, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2012

For our honeymoon we traveled California. Napa was only a one day/night trip, but staying at 'The Inn on First' was amazing. The garden, the location, the food..... we enjoyed everything about staying at the inn and would love to visit again. Will def recommend The Inn on First to family and friends travelling to Napa! Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReinekeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Reinekek: We're thrilled you enjoyed your single night stay with us. You're right about our location, such a easy walk to all the great restaurants Napa has to offer. Thanks for recommending us to your family and friends, we appreciate it and the fact you took the time to post your review. Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at The Inn on First just for 1 night (unfortunately) when we were traveling through Napa. Wished we could've stayed longer...we had a really great experience!

Jim and Jamie really know how to make you feel at home! The whole place is super clean,nicely decorated and the food and hospitality is out of this world! Jim makes breakfast for you in the morning and Jamie serves and entertains! We had the risotto tots with egg and homemade toast-best breakfast I've ever had!! So delicious! Jim's homemade cookies are amazing too!!!

We were heading south after our stay and Jamie was so nice to give us scenic directions with less traffic. Worked out perfect.....thanks!

We would recommend the Inn on First to anyone, without a doubt! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Nicky1021: You're right, that new "risotto tot" breakfast is definitely a crowd pleaser! I'm glad the scenic route worked for you as well. There's a reason they call that part of Route 280 one of the prettiest highways in the country. Thanks very much for posting your review and for recommending us to your friends and family, we appreciate it very much. Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We just got back from our second visit to Napa but first stay at the Inn on First. What an amazing experience! The warmth and peacefulness of the Inn was the first thing I noticed when we walked in. Our room was so cozy with a balcony, fireplace and hot tub. The breakfast meals each day were delicious- from the homemade granola and pastries, to the macaroni and cheese and risotto tater tots. They even fixed our breakfast for the road on the last day because we left for the airport before breakfast was served. Jim and Jamie treat you like family and ensure a premium experience for all of their guests. We have definitely found our "home" in Napa and will stay there from now on. I can't say enough good things about The Inn on First, our experience there and our new friends Jim and Jamie.

Room Tip: Loved the Angels Share room- it has a huge balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Melissa B: Our guests make it easy for us to provide a premium experience here in Napa! I guess we've drunk the Napa nectar, and we want to share it with every guest whether they plan to return once a year or are checking off an item on their bucket list. We very happy you enjoyed our inn and the wonderful cuisine into which Jim puts so much effort and love. Most of all we thank you for taking the time to post your review. We look forward to seeing you again! Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We recently returned to The Inn on First to celebrate our 1-year anniversary. (We stayed here for our honeymoon last year) The experience was equally as great as our first visit. The Inn, the hospitality, the helpfulness; everything was more than what we could have asked for.

We invited some friends to join us on this trip and their impression of The Inn on First was one of impressiveness and surprise! They had not experienced a bed and breakfast of such high caliber. Our friends are already looking forward to their next stay at the Inn.

Some things we loved about this trip were the winery suggestions from Jaime, which again, matched our tastes exactly! We also enjoyed the relaxation and comfort of the Inn during the evening hours. It was just like we were sitting on our own front porch! Jim topped his breakfast menu from last year. Everything was unbelievably imaginative and delicious!

This is our home in Napa! Jim and Jamie treat us just like family. We are so thankful to have met such a thoughtful and generous couple. We will be back in the spring! Can’t wait!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Brian F: We were just so happy to see you two walk through the door again, and tagging along were two friends, and we're simply grateful to have had the opportunity to host the four of you. Sure, the breakfast is great, and between you and I we had fun putting together your itinerary. The nicest part for us is you felling as if you were coming home, in Napa! That's the best, and we can't thank you enough for sharing your experience. Please know we look forward to seeing you again. Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We just returned home from visiting over a dozen wineries in Sonoma and Napa Valleys. The trip was great. Each day had at least one thing that stood out as amazing. One of the best parts of each day was our stay at the Inn on First. All the 5-stars reviews you find do not come close to how wonderful a stay we had with Jim and Jamie. Jim's gourmet breakfasts were sooo delicious that we restructured two of our days to be sure we wouldn't miss a bite! Jim LOVES to create in his kitchen. You can tell it's his expression of love and welcome. Jamie's quiet voice leads you through outstanding suggestions for things to do, where to eat, how to get there, and all it takes to make the most of a visit.

The house is a pleasing mix of modern and victorian decor with clean lines accented by ornate surprises for the eye here and there. The rooms are open, with clean lines and nicely decorated without being cluttered. The combination of bedroom, jacuzzi and roomy, glassed-in shower gave our room a spaciousness that allowed us to relax and comfortably enjoy our time-out from busy days of touring the valleys.

We've already been recommending The Inn on First to family and friends. We can't imagine staying anywhere else when we return to Napa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Stefanie K: Thank you for seeing that Jim loves to create in the kitchen, it is his passion and we all enjoy the fruits of his labors. I'm glad you found your accommodations to be a welcome respite to an exciting day exploring and enjoying what Napa Valley has to offer. It was fun for me to assist making those days fun for you all and I'm glad you don't miss the clutter as well. You can rest assured we'll ensure anyone you refer to us will receive the royal treatment, so thank you in advance for those referrals and for posting your review. Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,953 reviews
0.7 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#9 of 30 in Napa
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
1801 First Luxury Inn
0.6 mi away
Inn on Randolph
Inn on Randolph
#6 of 22 in Napa
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On First

Property: The Inn On First
Address: 1938 1st St, Napa, CA 94559-2351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn On First 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are setting the new standard for the American Bed and Breakfast Inn. This is not an inn for traditional B&B people. We are attracting the next generation who want great food for breakfast, well beyond the traditional omelets, frittatas, and egg bakes of old. This is where you get to experience a chef's creative innovation each morning, one of his 130 recipes for breakfast, such as Corndog Omelets, Tomato and Egg Soup with Grilled Cheese Croutons, or S'mores French Toast with house made Marshmallows.WARNING: we do not cater to people who want to stay connected to the television. We purposely removed all televisions so that couples can enjoy the intimacy of whirlpool tubs in the rooms with gas fireplaces, or sit out in the garden sipping on wine and enjoying great conversation. Yes, WiFi is available for those who feel they must stay connected to the outside world, but our hope is that you will learn to leave all that aside to enjoy great Napa hospitality here at the inn and at the wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Inn On First reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On First Hotel Napa
The Inn On 1st
The Inn On First Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing