We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Time to Remember”
Review of The Inn On First

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn On First
Ranked #4 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Inn on First was not only an amazing Bed and Breakfast but also a truly amazing experience. We stayed for two days in September. The Inn was immaculate as far as cleanliness and the host's were over the top helpful with planning our days. Thank you Jamie. The breakfast each day was absolutely devine. Jim is an amazing chef:) It was also very nice to be in walking distance of several restaurants for dinner. We truly enjoyed our stay. Thank you so much for having us and we will be back:)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrulyBlessed2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear TrulyBlessed2012: We're pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We knew you didn't have a chance to do any advance planning for your time here, and we were more than happy to dive in and create a memorable experience for you. Thanks for giving us the opportunity. Thanks as well for taking the time to post your review, we appreciate it very much. Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,539)
There are newer reviews for The Inn On First
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

996 - 1,002 of 1,539 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn on First for two nights as part of our honeymoon. We absolutely loved our experience! Jim and Jamie could not have been more hospitable and welcoming. Jim's breakfasts were to die for (especially the smore french toast!!!) and Jamie was so great at helping us plan our stay in Napa. Everything that was recommended to us by Jim and Jamie (primarily wineries and restaurants) was spot on. Our room was in the main house and was so comfortable! The bed, linens and pillows were excellent. There was so much attention to detail in both the rooms and the common areas of the Inn. We felt like we were staying at a friend's home! I cannot recommend this Inn enough. We have stayed at a few B&B's over the years and this is our favorite by far. A true delight! Thank you, Jim and Jamie! We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scoutandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear scoutandb: Everyone is loving that smores french toast! Probably because it's all from scratch, even the marshmallows! We're thrilled you enjoyed your time with us, and we do rely on our guests to let us know if there is anything we could do "more" to make their stay more enjoyable. So we'll take you at your word! Know we look forward to hosting you in the future, and thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate it very much. Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our experience at this B&B was fabulous. Jim and Jamie (owners) were incredibly helpful and hospitable, and the breakfasts we had at the Inn were some of our favorite meals in all of Napa - and considering Napa fare, that's quite a statement. The location is in the heart of Napa, and while I think staying in some of the more northern towns in the valley might be a bit quieter/more quaint, the location of the Inn was in a good spot for Napa.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank osunewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear osunewell: Thank you for the generous praise of Jim's handiwork in the kitchen, he loves making people happy at the breakfast table! Our location here in Napa is very good, as you point out. We are a five to fifteen minute walk to the incredible number of fantastic restaurants Napa has to offer. Our guests appreciate this benefit, especially after having spent the day touring the valley. There's something very relaxing about walking to dinner instead of driving. Thanks very much for taking the time to post your review, we appreciate it very much. Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at the inn on First for 3 nights during our reunion train trip from Seattle to LA, the inn is so amazing ,the room is very clean and super comfortable,there a jacuzzi tub which we did not use but the shower is large and there are 2 sinks so we did not have to keep waiting for turn,We love that they recycle and use Local and organic supply,the garden area is soothing and peaceful with trees and flowers and little water fall.the best part is breakfast time ,starting with cold cereal and home made granola ,pastry of the day ,fresh fruit,follow with hot meal magically made by Jim,who,every morning create a culinary masterpiece,and in the afternoon we are treated with home made cookie,so delicious.During breakfast Jamie would go around talking to guests and help with planning and/or making reservation for them.We felt like staying with friend in their house,both Jamie and Jim were great host and willing to help planing your stay to be wonderful and having great experience in Napa.Before booking I called and asked how to get to Napa by train and Jamie,with no hesitation tell me that he did not know but he will find out ,the next morning he called and told me every thing,how to get there and if I want a car service how much it will cost,I asked the same question to another B&B before and was told that they don't know and I should find out myself,this show that Jamie had go out of his way trying to help me even before I book the room with them,this sold me right away.We don't know when will we be able to come back since we from east coast but when we come back we definitely stay at the inn on First in the meantime we recommend this inn to all our friends and family that travel to Napa.We love you Jim and Jamie

Room Tip: Garden suite have bigger room and a little balcony
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Pam T: Thanks for sharing your favorite aspects of staying here with us at the inn, especially about the "food", something we take very seriously here! We're thrilled you enjoyed it! Believe it or not, your request for your specific transportation needs was a new request for me. Bottom line, between the two of us we gathered information that will be helpful the next time the question comes up. A win-win for everyone! We're grateful you took the time to write your review, and you know we are looking forward to your return, whenever that day arrives! Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our stay at the Inn on First was an amazing experience that exceeded all expectations.

The Inn is amazing and comfortable in so many ways, and it's just full of the little special things that put it well above the rest. The room was large, well appointed and super clean. I'm pretty picky and have stayed at many B&B's, so this is saying a lot. Fresh, home-made cookies or brownies every evening? Yes, please!

Breakfast was to die for (Jim is amazing), with every day as a new culinary adventure. In fact, the fresh fruit and pastries they serve as the breakfast appetizers rival most hotel breakfasts we've had elsewhere. On top of that, each main course was exceptionally flavorful, very filling and well presented.

Overall, Jim and Jamie provided us an absolutely wonderful time in Napa! Even before we arrived, they spent a lot of time with us discussing recommendations and making all our reservations.

They work very hard to provide an exceptional experience, and it shows on so many levels. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and next time we're in Napa, this will hands-down be our first call.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meellos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear meellos: Thanks so much for posting your review, we appreciate each and every one! Thanks, also, for pointing out that we make ourselves available to assist our guests with whatever plans they'd like to make during their stay in this fantastic place called Napa! We inform guests if they make a reservation online or on the phone, and we genuinely want to help each and every guest create a memorable experience. So wherever you are on the scale of "do it yourself" or "I need all the assistance I can muster", we are here at your service. Thanks again, Jamie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Inn on First for the first time last week and we will be back! The Inn has such a great vibe and the owners are so kind. We are a younger couple and we were worried we were not going to fit in, but we were so wrong. The owners and guests were so friendly and everyone was willing to share recommendations on what vineyards to visit, places to get coffee, everything. I can't wait to get back to Napa and the Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KS1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear KS1029: We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Innkeepers certainly create the personality of their inns, and their guests contribute so much to the vibe of which you speak! How lucky are Jim and I that so many of our guests do what we do every day: share their experiences so other guests might benefit from it. It's a win-win situation, and we can't thank you enough for posting your review. All of us appreciate it very much! Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband & I stayed at The Inn on First for 3 nights. Having stayed at many bed & breakfasts before, they offer a wonderful experience for their guests. Jim & Jamie provide, great local, recommendations if you need it or they are happy to just sit down & have a little chat about what you planned or have seen that day. Each morning we awoke early, only to come downstairs to music playing quietly. It was a nice touch while reading our books in the living room. The outside patio is quaint with beautiful trees, flowers & water feature which makes the space relaxing. The breakfasts were simply amazing & challenge your typical breakfast palate. We had herbed gnocci with an egg on top, mac & cheese with a tomato & egg, Rita's potatoes & eggs. But it isn't these little touches that make this place amazing. It is Jim & Jamie! They are both wonderful people who genuinely care about each & every guest & that they have a good experience. Jim & Jamie, take the time, to sit down & chat, get to know you & vice versa. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkupcake .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear tkupcake: We were happy to see you mention "Rita's potatoes" as Jim found the inspiration for this breakfast in a potato dish we enjoyed on Thanksgivings past which we spent with good friends, including our dear, old friend Rita! Thank you for the affirmation that the work we do here, which we enjoy so very much, doesn't go unnoticed. We both thank you, as well, for taking the time to post your review, it very much appreciated. Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,040 reviews
0.7 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#13 of 30 in Napa
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
1801 First Luxury Inn
0.6 mi away
Inn on Randolph
Inn on Randolph
#5 of 22 in Napa
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On First

Address: 1938 1st St, Napa, CA 94559-2351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range: $206 - $569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn On First 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are setting the new standard for the American Bed and Breakfast Inn. This is not an inn for traditional B&B people. We are attracting the next generation who want great food for breakfast, well beyond the traditional omelets, frittatas, and egg bakes of old. This is where you get to experience a chef's creative innovation each morning, one of his 130 recipes for breakfast, such as Corndog Omelets, Tomato and Egg Soup with Grilled Cheese Croutons, or S'mores French Toast with house made Marshmallows.WARNING: we do not cater to people who want to stay connected to the television. We purposely removed all televisions so that couples can enjoy the intimacy of whirlpool tubs in the rooms with gas fireplaces, or sit out in the garden sipping on wine and enjoying great conversation. Yes, WiFi is available for those who feel they must stay connected to the outside world, but our hope is that you will learn to leave all that aside to enjoy great Napa hospitality here at the inn and at the wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your The Inn On First reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On 1st
The Inn On First Hotel Napa
The Inn On First Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing