We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic rooms, breakfast and service”
Review of The Inn On First

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn On First
Ranked #4 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed four nights at the Inn on First in the "Noble Vineyard" room and enjoyed every minute of it. The rooms are beautiful and the hosts are graciously accommodating to special dietary needs. Jim prepared a wonderful gluten free option for me each morning and kept me in supply of his fantastic gluten free chocolate chip cookies. The breakfast options are imaginative and eclectic, and the garden is beautifully landscaped.

If you are a light sleeper, I would suggest an inner room that faces the garden since road traffic gets a bit noisy around 6:30am. We could probably have reduced the noise by closing the windows, but we weren't ready to turn on the air conditioner this early in the year.

All in all, it was a fantastic experience, and we will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pugl0ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2012

Dear puglOve: You make such an excellent point: why should guests who cannot eat gluten be denied an excellent chocolate cookie? The answer is obvious... we can do that! Thanks for taking the time to post your review, we appreciate it very much and hope to see you again! Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,094 - 1,100 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2012

After spending countless hours reading hundreds of reviews for B&B's in Napa, I decided to book "The Inn on First" for our 18th anniversary. My wife and I had never stayed in a B&B before but I was looking for something that was more intimate and romantic than the usual hotel experience. Immediately after booking, I was impressed with how quickly they moved into concierge mode. I received information via email on recommendations of things to do and places to eat and they will take care of making your reservations if you would like them to do so for you. I sent in a list of things for our trip and they took care of reserving all of it for us.

When we arrived at the Inn we were not disappointed. We checked in with Jim and went off to our room which was everything we expected it to be. The bed and pillows are very comfortable. The small plate of truffles were delicious. At first we though the lack of a TV in the room could be a downside but are now considering removing the TV from our bedroom at home.
Before leaving the Inn for our first evening out Jim gave us some information on downtown Napa and directions on how to get to our dinner restaurant.

The breakfast is the thing we really seem to miss the most after leaving. Jim's creations for breakfast are not only scrumptious, but delightful to look at. ...and while you wait for it, there is plenty of fresh fruit and pastry to get started on. Every morning we looked forward to the breakfast surprise that Jim would be putting out for us.

We spent 4 nights, every day before we got started, Jim would give us pointers for whatever we had planned. His advice always made for a better experience.

In closing, all I need to say is that if you are looking for a B&B in Napa, you don't need to spend all those hours researching like I did. Just book The Inn on First and you'll be in for a treat.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2012

Dear Dennis G, thanks for posting such a gracious as well as comprehensive review of your stay with us! We both enjoy being innkeepers, but we're especially thrilled you enjoyed the breakfast so much. Our hope is you'll return one day so we can make that experience unforgettable as well. Thanks again, Jim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Absolutely amazing find! What a gem! Located on the main "strip" of downtown Napa, First Street. Walking distances to Napa River, and all of the restaurants, tasting rooms, art galleries, shops, etc. Super easy to find, lots of parking in the rear of the Inn.

The Inn is super clean, renovated with the best of tastes. Very modern/cozy/charming.

My room had a jacuzzi tub, large King Bed, two comfortable swivel rockers, and a gas log fireplace. Can you say relaxing?

Rooms and Inn are well appointed with every detail you can think off. Fresh baked cookies, robes in every room, bath salts for the Jacuzzi, reading materials throughout, sound machine/CD players in your room. Picnic baskets you can use in your room. Wine and truffles delivered each night. The Inn owners even made a Binder in your room with every detail you might need, list of good restaurants and "not so good" ones so you're not disappointed.

It's also a Green Certified Inn!!!

Super romantic. Very cozy. Extremely relaxing.

Worth every penny!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0112CMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Dear guest: It's always nice for us to know our guests appreciate the amenities we provide here at The Inn On First. We're especially please you noticed our "green" certifications, of which we are not only very proud, but continue to search for ways to improve in this regard. Thanks for taking the time to post your review! Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

My husband and I recently celebrated our 17th anniversary and spent a few nights in Napa at the Inn on First. We had such a wonderful, unforgettable time that we wanted to share our top 5 reasons to stay at the Inn on First.

1. Luxurious, quiet, and comfortable rooms
2. Personal and exquisite service from the owners, Jim and Jamie
3. Jacuzzi tubs and fluffy robes
4. Centrally located to Napa restaurants, bars and the Uptown theater
5. BREAKFAST. BREAKFAST. BREAKFAST. :)

We can't wait to go back!

Keli H.
San Rafael, CA

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keli h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Dear keli h: Thanks very much for posting your review! Those robes are pretty awesome, aren't they? And have you considered writing for late night television? I think someone could benefit from your skills! Thanks again, and we hope to see you again soon. Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

For our first trip to Napa, I couldn't imagine a more beautiful and relaxing place to stay. From the terrific breakfasts each morning to the personally tailored trip advise and recommendations, Jim and Jamie made our trip a world class experience. I would highly recommend a stay at this modern revisit to the American classic bed and breakfast. Very very clean rooms and everything was perfectly set everyday. Getting to and from the wineries and popular restaurants is easy and convenient from the Inn. Perfect location, perfect hosts and perfectly relaxing.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcela1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2012

Dear Marcela1121: Thanks so very much for taking the time to write such an eloquent review of our inn: "modern revisit to the American classic bed and breakfast". Why didn't we think of that? This is exactly what we are trying to achieve, so thank you for the affirmation. Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I was recently here for 2 nights with my Mother. We really wanted to find a unique place with great character. I have stayed at many Hiltons over the years and really appreciate a boutique hotel that has something different to offer! The Inn on First is definitely that place. The owners, Jim and Jamie, are so welcoming and accommodating. My Mom and I have special dietary needs and we were so impressed with the breakfasts and even special gluten free chocolate chip cookies on arrival! We had the smallest room in the Inn, but found it very comfortable. We loved how they had a restaurant book with recommendations and maps for the downtown area. They really know Napa. We also had them recommend a wine tour so we could have a driver and it was the best!

There are no complaints and I really hope to return!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessMarijaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2012

Dear JessMarijaB: We think our guests' dietary needs is the least we can do, creating an experience that is unique and with character, now that's the challenge! We're both happy you and your mother enjoyed your stay here, it was distinctly our pleasure to host you. Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate the gesture very much. Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The Inn on First is hands down the the best B&B in Napa. Jamie and Jim treat their guests like family and the effort they put into creating an unforgettable experience for each guest is obvious when you enter the building. The main building guest rooms and the out-building guest rooms are stylishly appointed and perfect for B&B goers who do not want to feel like they are staying in their grandmother's house.

Breakfast is fabulous, don't even consider missing it. Suck up the wine hangover if you have to, you won't regret it. We had an excellent breakfast pot-pie, one of the many gourmet dishes Jim serves up.

Jamie and Jim seem to know everyone in the valley and provide excellent concierge services. Their recommendations for wineries to tour are spot on. Work with them before your trip and they can get you reservations for transportation services and wineries that most people don't get into.

After you come back from your wine tours, there are freshly baked cookies, port from Prager, and hand crafted sodas waiting for you. Jamie or Jim will usually be around to arrange for dinner reservations. You will never go wrong with their recommendations for dinner.

My wife and I have been to other B&Bs in the Napa area with mixed results; we found the Inn of First to be the best there is. It is the only place we will stay when we are there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T00muchwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiofinnkeeper, Owner at The Inn On First, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2012

Dear T00muchwine: Please know we are grateful for your continued support of our inn, it is an innkeeper's dream! You also made a very important point that shouldn't be overlooked, we encourage reservations in advance of your arrival, especially when you consider the time of year and the popularity of the restaurant or winery you want to visit. Thanks for sharing this tip with our tripadvisor readers! Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,097 reviews
0.1 mi away
1801 First Luxury Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Napa Vineyard Inn
Napa Vineyard Inn
#1 of 22 in Napa
185 reviews
1 mi away
Candlelight Inn Napa Valley
0.5 mi away
Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On First

Address: 1938 1st St, Napa, CA 94559-2351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range: $162 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn On First 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are setting the new standard for the American Bed and Breakfast Inn. This is not an inn for traditional B&B people. We are attracting the next generation who want great food for breakfast, well beyond the traditional omelets, frittatas, and egg bakes of old. This is where you get to experience a chef's creative innovation each morning, one of his 130 recipes for breakfast, such as Corndog Omelets, Tomato and Egg Soup with Grilled Cheese Croutons, or S'mores French Toast with house made Marshmallows.WARNING: we do not cater to people who want to stay connected to the television. We purposely removed all televisions so that couples can enjoy the intimacy of whirlpool tubs in the rooms with gas fireplaces, or sit out in the garden sipping on wine and enjoying great conversation. Yes, WiFi is available for those who feel they must stay connected to the outside world, but our hope is that you will learn to leave all that aside to enjoy great Napa hospitality here at the inn and at the wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Inn On First reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On 1st
The Inn On First Hotel Napa
The Inn On First Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing