We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“After the flood...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“After the flood...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2006

My partner and I stayed at RTI in mid-January. What we hadn't been told before we arrived was that Napa had had its worst flood for 10 years on New Year's Eve, and was still cleaning up (it didn't seem to have affected the hotel).

RTI is quiet, modern, clean, comfortable, spacious...but certainly not a 'special occasion' hotel. We may have gained a different opinion of it in high season. As others have said, it is very well positioned for the wine train and for Napa town itself (short walks). RTI is on the river and we had a room on that side of the hotel. The outlook is pretty but not stunning. As far as Napa itself is concerned, there are some pretty good restaurants and bars in town and we liked the place - despite the river silt that was still on the sidewalks.

The service in RTI was very good, and all the staff were friendly and helpful. The included buffet breakfast was certainly OK, but not the best I've had in similar hotels in the US.

We would use the hotel again if we stayed in Napa....but then the choice is fairly limited.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ABJLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    531
    176
    64
    40
See reviews for
206
918
25
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2006

I have had the opportunity to hold two small (12 people) busineess meetings at this hotel in the last year. We stayed at the hotel the second time, because of good experience the first time.

Principal positives:
--Great location - 5 minute walk to downtown NAPA
--Very personable and accommodating (they quickly made a number of stapled/collated copies a few times for our group)
--Excellent "free" breakfast, unusual and appreciated as I get tired of the "normal" stuff (includes things like smoked salmon, Italian lunchmeats)
--Nice wine bar in lobby for evenings
--Placid view from rooms overlooking the back
--LCD projector included with meeting room (for meeting planners, this is a big savings)
--DVD player in room
--Comfortable rooms/bed
--Full wine bottles (nice selection) in rooms (but you pay for these if you use them)

Negatives, not many to speak of:
--No "business center," but there's a full-service Kinkos (though not 24-hr) one stoplight down.
--No "fine dining" restaurant on property, but their casual restaurant is very good for lunch or a casual dinner (they used to have "Budo" in a separate building that was an exceptional restaurant, but it closed second time we went there...they say it's "under renovation")

I'd recommend this hotel as an ideal place for a small business meeting or a jumping off point for exploring Napa. Several of our attendees both times brought wives, and appreciated the opportunity to bring them to such a nice spot.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Goblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2006

Hubby and I arrived Christmas night for three wonderful nights at The River Terrace Inn.

We flew from the east coast on Christmas day fighting flight cancellations and rain. Check-in was smooth and the fantastic bed was the highlight of the day for hubby and I to get the rest we needed.

Breakfast each morning was the same- but there was plenty to choose from. The fresh squeezed OJ was a nice change from the normal concentrate juice you normally get at hotels and the eggs and potatoes provided a hearty breakfst without having to battle a restaurant that early in the morning.

Every encounter with the staff was extremely pleasant- no problems at all.

The room was very clean and maid service was superb each day.

The only thing negative I have to report was that seating for breakfast can be limited in the mornings when it is raining and the outside deck is unusable. Hubby and I ate closer to the front desk a few mornings- but it was not unbearable.

Overall- I would stay here agin in a heartbeat and will recommend it to others.

Please feel free to email questions concerning my stay to lsm1123@yahoo.com

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsm112375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crescenta, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2006

We only stayed one night in December. After reading the reviews I would say we sampled a bit from everyone. The River Terrace Inn has super comfy beds and very nice rooms. Especially after a day of wineing and exploring. The included breakfast buffet is superb, probably the best I've ever seen as a hotel.

We experienced both front desk people who only wanted to go home, and openly complained about how long their shift was in front of us, AS WELL AS a super helpful front desk person who wrote out a detailed map and directions for our journey.

I would definately stay again..

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MamaMaryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2005

The room itself was very nice, we had a big jacuzzi tub and it was fantastic.

I would have them improve on the front-desk service. We booked a "fall special" which included a bottle of wine and a platter of cheese on arrival. It was not in our room. Furthermore, when I called to ask about it and to upgrade our room (we were willing to pay the price difference), the lady at the front desk stated that she was not the one to book our room, the assistant manager was and she was in a meeting, would be out in 5 minutes and will call us back. Needless to say, no one called us back and we had to go downstairs, even after going downstairs, she acted very unprofessionally.

Room: nice bed, nice bathroom.
Great breakfast

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2005

This is a great place to stay if you are going to have dinner on the wine train. The station is a short walk away.

Ask for a river view though, or you will find yourself staring at a parking lot all day.

I went here late summer and found there was one drawback, which was the in-room wine bar and fridge.
I have to young kids and we weren't in the room 5 minutes, before they lifted one of the wine bottles off its electronic cradle.

The bottle was immediately charged to our room. Even though we called down and explained what happened and had all the bottles removed from the room, and despite the fact that I went down and spoke to the front desk numerous times during our stay, the charges remained on our bill until the day we left. We had to go down once again and re-address the issue, which finally was resolved.

Also, don't count on a whole lot of service. This is not a spa hotel, rather its a nice hotel to stay at with conveinient access to Napa.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2005

My husband, his brother and wife, our daughter and I all spent a three-day weekend at the River Terrace Inn to celebrate our daughter's 21st birthday. We enjoyed it so much. Dining and socializing outside on the terrace overlooking the river was especially enjoyable. Service was good. The rooms were great. The beds were terrific. Napa Valley is easily accessible. Overall a wonderful time. It's a beautiful place.

Helpful?
3 Thank kradu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.1 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
2.0 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel

Property: River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559-1908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Napa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#12 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than an hour's drive from San Francisco and the Bay Area, the River Terrace Inn, a luxury Napa Valley hotel, offers the perfect Napa retreat. With its refined, pastoral charm and innovative features, our casually elegant Napa Valley hotel is the perfect balance of Wine Country serenity and urban hospitality. Discover wine country in Napa Valley, a peaceful sanctuary nestled among lush, rolling hills, a sea of vivid wildflowers, and radiant vineyards. Set in the heart of the Napa Valley Wine Country, River Terrace Inn features luxurious accommodations, personalized services, and a pristine riverfront setting. The River Terrace Inn is an enchanting blend of modern elegance, laid-back California charm and the energy of downtown Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Napa
River Terrace Napa
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing