We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Dana Point, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Paying extra for a Napa River view is wasted money at this hotel, unless you make sure you are on one of the higher floors, we only saw bushes. Housekeeping needs better management, they managed to show up the first day after 4:00, after we had been out all day and wanted to shower before leaving for dinner - and did a lousy job. And in this fast, inexpensive age of communication charging $5.00 for two calls to a restaurant three blocks away seems very excessive. The restaurant they advertised has been closed and they are trying to offer dining in a tiny, dingy room next to the bar, with a very limited menu. Other than all that the location is good, and rooms are well equipped with amenities.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for being a guest of our hotel and for sharing your experience with us. We are happy you enjoyed the amenities of our hotel and we hope you had a great time in Napa. We appreciate you sharing your concerns with regard to housekeeping and we will take your comments under advisement. We hope you will consider our hotel again upon future visits to Napa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    870
    541
    182
    67
    43
See reviews for
217
934
25
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2014

5 minute walk from Oxbow and RiverWalk areas. Close drive to all wineries (15 minutes to Oakville and 30 minutes to Calistoga).

Nice Wine tasting on patio on Fridays.

Bikes were not available from hotel during our trip.

Rooms were very nice and had refrigerator for our items. Firm bed. Noisy Air-conditioner.

Room Tip: Pick a room to rear of hotel with balcony overlooking river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel4Work92860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent visit to Napa. We are happy you had a chance to explore the area and enjoyed your stay while with us. We appreciate you taking time to leave a review and we hope you will be a guest of ours again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I liked everything about this hotel except that it did not have a hot tub. You usually get a pretty nice pool/hot tub in this price range. Normally I wouldn't even care about this so much but we had just come from Yosemite and were looking forward to a soak. Other than that, the location, service and noise level were excellent.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor but it seemed like most of the rooms would've been fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebm256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear you had a nice visit but we do apologize that we fell short of expectations with the lack of a hot tub. We do hope you were able to join us for our wine hour to unwind. We thank you for being a guest of ours and hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Very Clean. Good Location. Staff is bomb. Very helpful and friendly. Haley and Halle really mad sure our 25th Anniversary stay was perfect. Good location for wine tasting in Napa Valley. Staff was very knowledgeable as to where to go. We will be coming back.

Room Tip: upper floor river side is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Congratulations on your anniversary! We are happy our staff could help make your celebration special. We hope you will visit us again next time you are in Napa. Thank you for being a guest of ours and for your wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel is a short walk from town although when you arrive it feels like it will be further.
We were made feel very welcome from the moment we arrived by a very friendly porter from Manchester and Joanne on reception.
Our room was very comfortable overlooking s small river,our balcony was quiet and peaceful & our room clean.
We didn't have time to use the pool but it also looked clean and the gym was reasonably equipped and all the machines worked.
The reception staff were all very helpful in helping us organise our activities in Napa.
Breakfast was the only thing that let our experience down as they seemed to have run out of eggs! They did dash out for more, but we were on a time constraint as we had a tour booked, my eggs did come but they were so under done I couldn't eat them. But they tried…
All in all a good stay

Room Tip: Stay the riverside or you will be looking out over a car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drea7810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for being guests of our hotel and we are pleased our staff could help make your stay a good one. We do apologize for the inconvenience at breakfast and we are sorry it affected your visit . We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are happy that overall you had a nice time while with us. We do hope you will come to stay with us again on a future trip to Napa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed the the River Terrace Inn this past weekend and It was great. The rooms are lovely, the staff is very accomdating and the bar has a nice happy hour with live music, wine tasting and cheese. The front desk staff was very helpful, especialy Luis, who offered exceptional customer service. There was a mix up on our behalf with our reservation Saturday and the front desk was very helpful in helping us resolve it. Great value, great stay. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cerwinSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We appreciate your review and we are happy you chose to stay with us for your trip to Napa. It's nice to hear where our staff excelled and we thank you for taking time to share your comments. We are glad you had a nice stay in Napa and we hope to have you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Great place to stay for your Anniversary. Great people, Great Rooms, close to historic downtown. Close enough to walk to the wine train. Had a great time while we were there, wish we could have stayed longer. We will deffinately be back.

Room Tip: Room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dboat22601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your Napa anniversary trip. We are so pleased to hear you had such a wonderful time and we hope you have the chance to return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,991 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
2.0 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#10 of 30 in Napa
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel

Property: River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559-1908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Napa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#12 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than an hour's drive from San Francisco and the Bay Area, the River Terrace Inn, a luxury Napa Valley hotel, offers the perfect Napa retreat. With its refined, pastoral charm and innovative features, our casually elegant Napa Valley hotel is the perfect balance of Wine Country serenity and urban hospitality. Discover wine country in Napa Valley, a peaceful sanctuary nestled among lush, rolling hills, a sea of vivid wildflowers, and radiant vineyards. Set in the heart of the Napa Valley Wine Country, River Terrace Inn features luxurious accommodations, personalized services, and a pristine riverfront setting. The River Terrace Inn is an enchanting blend of modern elegance, laid-back California charm and the energy of downtown Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Napa
River Terrace Napa
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing