We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and great view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect location and great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We found the River Terrace Inn online only a few days prior and we booked rooms for my wife and I as well as a colleague. Even months after our trip, we talk about what a great find the Inn was and have made sure that we are on their mailing list. We will without doubt stay there on our next trip to Napa.

Room Tip: Great location for branching out to the local wineries, the downtown, and some excellent food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hi William, thank you for your kind review. We are happy to have had you as a guest and we are pleased you have complimented us as a "great find." We do hope to see you again in the future. Thank you again for your thoughtful words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    526
    173
    61
    37
See reviews for
204
904
24
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, Australia
Level Contributor
247 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed at this property during our recent trip down the west coast of the USA and found it to be wonderful.
The décor is tasteful, the design a blend of classic old world with modern facilities and the staff are friendly and efficient. It is centrally located in Napa which provides the guest with easy access to all the other town attractions .
Not a budget hotel but if you require a little gentle pampering, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roydavidjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Hi Roy, we are so you enjoyed your stay with us while in Napa. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us such a kind review. We do like to pamper our guests, so we are happy to hear that your stay was a wonderful one. We hope you will stay with us again should your travels bring you back to Napa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Il.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

My wife and two other couples stayed here. An ideal location to visit all the wineries in napa and Sonoma . Loved the view and the outdoor terrace. Great for breakfast and for relaxing after the day of touring. Very nice rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Hi John, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. Glad you and your wife enjoyed the fantastic view and of course, the wineries. We hope to have you return for a stay should you visit Napa again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Travelling with my family we found the hotel a nice base. Our room was clean and comfortable and very nice and light. Our balcony overlooked the car park but this was not a problem.We got complimentary breakfast and had it in the curvee Resturant where we found the food and service good.We spent quite a few hours by the pool.The water was nice and warm but rather disappointingly the sun goes from the pool area by 3:45pm.
We went on the wine train which was a very convenient two minute walk from the hotel, we had a lovely relaxing lunch as we slowly chugged along the Napa Valley.The oxbow market was a real treat and we ate lunch there, definitely worth a visit.
We had great fun on the complimentary hotel bicycles and the doorman help us to make the saddles the right etc.We did have to cycle on a very busy road in order to get on a nice traffic free path, that was a little nerve racking.We walked in to Napa town and it is along several busy roads and quite a distance.
All in all we had a very pleasant stay at the hotel .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi Hilary, thank you for taking a moment to leave us such a kind and thoughtful review. It sounds like you truly took advantage of all the great activities and sights our area has to offer. We are happy you and your family had such a pleasant stay and we hope to see you again in the future should your travels bring you back to Napa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel has everything if you like class and good service. We arrived on June 20th this year.
Everything from reception to entering into room, super.
There is a wine tasting in lobby, and a restaurant belonging to hotel 3 minutes away.

Wine train station is only a short walk away (15 minutes).
Wine train in Napa Valley might be a bit overrated, come from Europe
and Napa does not match the best areas in France (Alsace).

But will strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stig l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a kind review. Being referred to as "paradise" is a remarkable compliment for us. We are delighted you were so pleased with your stay. We do hope you have a chance to return to Napa again in the future and that you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just returned from 2 nights in Napa and 1 in San Fran. We didn't book this hotel until the day before we left. I found the reviews almost made selecting a hotel harder as some people appear to be divas based on their nit picking reviews although I will agree that the staff at the desk could be more educated on the area but they were very friendly. Aside from the price being high ($283/night AAA rate), there was nothing wrong with the place. I'm in the textiles industry and found the king bed comfortable and bedding clean and crisp. Jacuzzi tub was clean and spacious. Overall clean room, friendly staff, nice grounds. I let them know it was my birthday when I booked and when we arrived, they gave us a complementary bottle of champagne. Pool is small, but who goes to Napa to hang out in a pool all day? A bunch of small seating areas inside and out as opposed to one large one allow you to have more privacy. Benches along the river where we enjoyed the complementary happy hour tasting of wine with cheeses. Furniture was nice both inside and outside. Borrowed bikes one morning and took a nice ride. About a 20 minute drive to wineries. We didn't take a tour bc we wanted to be on our own schedule. Had breakfast at the Buttercream bakery, DELICIOUS. Dinner at Oenotri which was incredible--I don't typically eat in Italian restaurants because my boyfriend and I are Italian, New Yorkers who prefer our own cooking and have high standards for Italian food but this was a wonderful dining experience. Enjoyed a local street fair in town. Complementary coffee in the lobby and breakfast wraps and sandwiches were available at a charge, which was convenient so we didn't have to leave the hotel the second day and had more time for activities. Great lime or orange infused ice water in lobby. Fitness center nice but a bit small. Would have been nice to get complementary bottled water. Charging for a bottle of water when you're paying almost $300/night is a bit silly if you ask me. Overall, looked exactly the same as pictures. We got what we expected.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi Stephanie, thank you for your recent stay with us and your kind, thoughtful feedback. We are happy we could serve as a small part of your birthday celebration and that you enjoyed your time here. It sounds like you really took advantage of all that we and the area have to offer. We hope to see you as a guest again in the future should your travels bring you back to Napa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Overall just an average sort of stay. The front desk was very helpful with early check in and check out. It would have been nice if they gave a bit of info about Ox Bow market being an easy walk thru a back path etc. but no info.; I asked the concierge about going to Sonoma but unfortunately she didn't know anything about it-hmm. Positive-Balcony looking to river, spacious enough room. It was my birthday and there was a complimentary bottle of champagne and that was nice but no card or anything-I asked my husband if he ordered it, he could have claimed he ordered it but he didn't. Negative-Breakfast seemed not something I wanted, went to OxBow market and Model Bakery was great. Bed not comfy and air conditioner was either on and freezing and loud or off and hot.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room overlooking river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linnde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hi, thank you for your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed the great view and a celebration bottle of champagne on us! We are glad you were able to explore the area a bit, but we are sorry to hear that your room was not comfortable as you would've liked. We do hope you join us again should you visit Napa in the future and we definitely hope you had a fantastic birthday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#3 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,869 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
2.0 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel

Property: River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559-1908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Napa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#12 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than an hour's drive from San Francisco and the Bay Area, the River Terrace Inn, a luxury Napa Valley hotel, offers the perfect Napa retreat. With its refined, pastoral charm and innovative features, our casually elegant Napa Valley hotel is the perfect balance of Wine Country serenity and urban hospitality. Discover wine country in Napa Valley, a peaceful sanctuary nestled among lush, rolling hills, a sea of vivid wildflowers, and radiant vineyards. Set in the heart of the Napa Valley Wine Country, River Terrace Inn features luxurious accommodations, personalized services, and a pristine riverfront setting. The River Terrace Inn is an enchanting blend of modern elegance, laid-back California charm and the energy of downtown Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Napa
River Terrace Napa
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing