We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice place to stay in Napa Valley” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Little Elm, Texas
1 review
“Nice place to stay in Napa Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed at the River Terrace Inn for a couple of nights. The staff is very friendly and professional. The location is great and the food and service are very good as well. The rooms are nice and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melvin157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We appreciate your positive feedback and it's great to hear that our rooms were up to your expectations. Our friendly and professional staff is wonderful and their dedication to the hotel really shows. We are glad they were able to be a pleasant addition to your enjoyable getaway in Napa. If you have a chance, stop by our restaurant Cuvée for delicious meals for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. We would love to have you back at the hotel soon! Please visit soon!

Sincerely,

Thomas McCann
General Manager of River Terrace Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    512
    167
    50
    29
See reviews for
191
850
24
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

After a disappointing stay in a downtown B&B we were delighted to check into the River Terrace Inn. This hotel is impeccably clean and the staff is really nice and very helpful. We ate at Cuvee and really enjoyed it so much we returned for their delicious breakfast. The bar in the hotel lobby was open later, which was nice, and we took our wine out to the terrace and sat by the fire pit. Nice touch. We will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenM242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Hello Karen,

Thank you for the raving reviews! We are so pleased that you enjoyed our hotel as well as the Cuvée restaurant. We have many amenities to offer including a killer breakfast at Cuvée and an outstanding outdoor terrace where you can enjoy a glass of wine. Next time you're here, hop on the wine train located across the street from our hotel. You'll get to see many great attractions of Wine Country. Again, we appreciate your review and we can't wait to see you again next year,

Sincerely,

Thomas McCann
General Manager of River Terrace Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed on Christmas Eve. The rooms were brand new, sparklingly clean, and nicely decorated, and it felt like state of the art to stay there. In our room, we had a nice little balcony facing the river, so we could enjoy watching stars at night. We also had a spa in our bathroom.
Their restaurant is also state of the art, highly recommended for Christmas dinner (they served truffles on that night).
Quite enjoyable stay there!

Room Tip: Ask for a canyon view. It's more quiet and you can enjoy stars at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Alex,

Thank you for your excellent reviews! We are so pleased that your Christmas vacation was exactly what you had hoped for. The canyon view rooms are great for star-gazing and our spa-inspired bathrooms create an intimate ambiance for your trip for 2 to Napa Valley. Cuvée always has a wonderful spread of gourmet cuisine and the truffles for Christmas were incredibly delicious! Thank you for choosing the River Terrace Inn for your holiday stay--We really look forward to your next escape to Wine County. Thank you for choosing our Napa Valley accommodations!

Sincerely,

Thomas McCann
General Manager of River Terrace Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at the River Terrace Inn for one night and would stay here again.
The reception staff was friendly & helpful (especially when we came back with six bottles of wine to ship - they have a service that comes to package & ship the wine for you at, what we felt were, reasonable prices.
The hotel is walkable (about 10-15 minutes) to downtown Napa for shops & restaurants. There is a restaurant across the parking lot that we didn't have a chance to try out (Upon check-in they gave us vouchers for free wine pairings at the restaurant, and we were also given a voucher for a complimentary wine tasting for a winery in St. Helena, but our friend took us for tastings elsewhere so we didn't use the offers)
The room was clean and comfortable. Perfectly serviceable & pleasant hotel.

They put lemon water & coffee in the lobby in the morning for the guests. The lemon water was refreshing, the coffee was a nice idea, but the coffee itself was surprisingly bad... an easily fixable issue.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYArtistGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We really appreciate hearing your thoughts about our hotel. It's very nice to know that you truly enjoyed the Napa Valley experience. Our wine shipping services are great for long-distance travelers that are worried about making weight requirements with their luggage, etc. so we are very happy that you liked having that service available. We do have an exquisite restaurant across the parking lot called Cuvée; next time you're in Napa, you'll have to go there! It's fantastic. Also, we will look into another coffee alternative as the coffee you experienced wasn't up to your expectations. Again, we thoroughly enjoyed having you as a guest at the hotel and we look forward to your next getaway to Wine Country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is slightly tucked away but that means its off the main road so nice and quiet. It's about a 5 min car ride or 15 min walk from the bars/restaurants/shops of the rest of Downtown Napa but that was not a problem for us. It's an excellent location if you are booked on or planning to do the wind train tour as that is just across the road. We had breakfast included in our stay. You could eat in the restaurant or 'grab and go' pastries or a hot sandwich from the hotel foyer.
The restaurant breakfast was delicious. We didn't eat there in the evening as the only night we went to go there they had a private function on and although you could still eat there, you could only have the tasting menu that party were having. So we didn't bother. Not a major problem as we walked into Napa but it was annoying that the hotel didn't have a notice up about it (they just display a sample a la carte menu).
The pool is quite small and only gets the warmth of the sun until about 3pm.
The room has a fridge so take your own drinks/water as otherwise you get charged $4 for a small bottle of evian!
Room was spacious and clean. We had a king room overlooking the river.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenPoppy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you kindly for the thoughtful review. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful experience at the River Terrace Inn. Our location is great because the wine train is across the street and the heart of Napa is just minutes away. We apologize for having a party at our Cuvee restaurant and we will surely announce our private parties in the future. We appreciate that kind of feedback. Again, thank you for your review as well as being a guest in our Napa hotel. We look forward to your next stay here in Wine Country!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

A perfect hotel from which to explore Napa. The room was great, lovely pool, great bar where you could sit outside by the fire, fab restaurant, we were impressed and would definitely go back. Go to the nearby Oxbow Market where there are great restaurants, easily walkable from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the River Terrace Inn. Our location is exceptional. You are outside of the hustle and bustle of downtown Napa but just a short distance from the Oxbow Market and many fine restaurants. We also have a world-class restaurant called Cuvée that is exquisite. Please give it a try next time you're at the River Terrace Inn. We look forward to your next getaway to Napa Valley and we would love to have you as a guest in our hotel once more. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This property is conveniently located in the heart of Napa, within easy walking distance to many restaurants and the Oxbow Public Market. The rooms are well-designed, some with jacuzzi tubs. The staff was helpful and professional.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. It's great that your stay at the River Terrace Inn was to your liking and that your time in Napa Valley was truly unforgettable. Our well-designed rooms and luxurious jacuzzis are perfect for a romantic getaway for two to wine country. We do have a great location that's near many unique restaurants, however, we have a wonderful restaurant called Cuvée that's ideal for dining close to "home." Please give our restaurant a shot and we guarantee your tastebuds will surely be pleased. Thank you again for the high remarks. We would love to see you back at the River Terrace Inn for your next Napa Vally vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#5 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,683 reviews
0.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.1 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
7.6 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel

Property: River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559-1908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#5 Family Hotel in Napa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#12 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than an hour's drive from San Francisco and the Bay Area, the River Terrace Inn, a luxury Napa Valley hotel, offers the perfect Napa retreat. With its refined, pastoral charm and innovative features, our casually elegant Napa Valley hotel is the perfect balance of Wine Country serenity and urban hospitality. Discover wine country in Napa Valley, a peaceful sanctuary nestled among lush, rolling hills, a sea of vivid wildflowers, and radiant vineyards. Set in the heart of the Napa Valley Wine Country, River Terrace Inn features luxurious accommodations, personalized services, and a pristine riverfront setting. The River Terrace Inn is an enchanting blend of modern elegance, laid-back California charm and the energy of downtown Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Napa
River Terrace Napa
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing