We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Within Walking Distance to Everything...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Within Walking Distance to Everything...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

My wife and I recently drove to Napa from Huntington Beach and had a great weekend staying at the River Terrace Inn. It overlooks the Napa River and a winding path that leads to the Oxbow marketplace and Downtown Napa. There are great restaurants and wine tasting rooms all over the place within a very short walk. The River Terrace Inn is right next to the Wine train which takes you to different vineyards throughout Napa. The room was nice and the adjacent restaurant was excellent. Our air conditioner died on us both nights but we just opened our balcony door when we went to sleep and it was fine. Nice staff, good wine, and great location. Great place!

Room Tip: Get a River View Room on the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Our location is certainly convenient for Napa, and we are pleased to hear that you took advantage of it. We hope that you'll continue to choose us whenever you visit the area, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    526
    172
    56
    34
See reviews for
201
892
24
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, the room was large, clean and well put together. Hotel staff were friendly and seemed efficient. Was easy to walk to main street etc. To be honest it was just like any other large hotel and suited us fine as it was our first time in Napa. I think I would probably recommend staying in a smaller or B&B - think that would be more appropriate for Napa. There was absolutely nothing to complain about but nothing very memorable either.

Best thing about our trip was Platypus Tours - would highly recommend them and they pick up form this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LangersInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We apologize if we were unable to exceed your expectations. It is our prerogative that every guest receive the highest quality guest service. We hope that you'll join us again so we may prove to your whey we're worth a full 5 stars! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
228 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband went to a lot of trouble to research our anniversary trip to Napa. This entire trip was a surprise to me. He really thought I would enjoy this hotel. He picked the room specifically because it looked over the river and it had an in-room spa tub. This would have been excellent, but when I endeavored to have a jacuzzi tub, I realized the knob to the jets was broken and the jets couldn't be turned on. The room was on the second floor and overlooked the river and the patio. The patio was a bit loud and we could hear it all in our room. At 5:30 we went down to the lobby for the cheese and wine tasting and the gentleman behind the bar not so politely informed us that it wasn't ready for 2 more minutes. Needless to say, we didn't stay. We took our wine business downtown to the Bounty Hunter. The room was clean. Since I was not the one who took care of the reservation, I had no idea of the room rates, until we checked out. A bit pricey for the accommodations in my opinion. We moved to this hotel after a wonderful night at another property downtown, because it was closer to the wine train -- but I sure wish we had stayed at the other property instead.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Wyocowgirl94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you encountered, at we hope that you'll contact the hotel to provide more feedback. We can assure you that this is not the norm! We hope that you'll give us another chance, and we look forward to your return to the River Terrace Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel is clean and we had a nice balcony and view of the river below. The location was great for access to the local shopping and restaurants. The bar inside the hotel was not well stocked, serviced or manned. Bar tender seemed at an inconvenience to be there. There is a separate restaurant that had good food, but horrible service. I will review that in a separate article under restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StellaEmmaAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your review! We sincerely apologize if we were unable to live up to your expectations. We can assure you that this is not the norm, and we hope to be able to make it up to you. We look forward to your return, and the opportunity to provide you with our world-class guest service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gualala, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Not the experience I was hoping for. Booked a room on the river not a good view. The room was shabby a the sheets had stains had houskeeping bring us new sheets twice. The hotel was very empty now I know why. Seem like no one was there besides the one person at the desk and the one at the empty bar. Too many other choices in the Valley would not return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oceanviews3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you encountereding during your stay. We can assure you this is not the norm, and we would love the opportunity to hear more about your story. Please contact the hotel manager so we can understand the issues you encountered. We hope that you'll give us another chance so we may make up for this previous experience. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

My partner and I decided to go for a getaway weekend in Napa. We looked at various properties before committing to the River Terrace Inn, which had the overall best value (price, amenities, comfort, location). On Fridays, the hotel provides a tasty cheese board and hosts a local winery -- Mumm Napa on this particular weekend. The rep from Mumm Napa was lovely, told us about a tasting coupon at the front desk, and so we added it to our tour list. We took a cheese plate, the complimentary sparkling wine, and enjoyed the dusk low-key by the fire pit.

About the the room: it was everything we expected, except for the high ceilings and large bathroom. The bathroom was our favorite by far! Weird, right? It boasted an beautifully tiled walk-in shower with dual shower heads, mood lighting (lots of switches), shag rug, and a toilet separated by a partial partitioned wall. Well done.

We didn't dine at the hotel restaurant, Cuvee, but we did enjoy the 3-minute car ride to dine downtown at Tarla Mediterranean Grill. The dinner, which like the hotel -- was unpretentious, uncomplicated, beautifully prepared, and... delicious? Well I can't say the hotel was delicious. The next morning we biked (free bike rentals) to Oxbow Market for brunch. Perfect day.

We loved the hotel and everything surrounding it, which we graciously absorbed. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brightpyramids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for an excellent review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and time in Napa. On your next visit be sure to try out our restaurant Cuvee, you will surely love it! WE hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
2.0 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#6 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel

Property: River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559-1908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#5 Family Hotel in Napa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#12 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than an hour's drive from San Francisco and the Bay Area, the River Terrace Inn, a luxury Napa Valley hotel, offers the perfect Napa retreat. With its refined, pastoral charm and innovative features, our casually elegant Napa Valley hotel is the perfect balance of Wine Country serenity and urban hospitality. Discover wine country in Napa Valley, a peaceful sanctuary nestled among lush, rolling hills, a sea of vivid wildflowers, and radiant vineyards. Set in the heart of the Napa Valley Wine Country, River Terrace Inn features luxurious accommodations, personalized services, and a pristine riverfront setting. The River Terrace Inn is an enchanting blend of modern elegance, laid-back California charm and the energy of downtown Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Napa
River Terrace Napa
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing