We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice but not exceptional”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Having stayed at some of the finer properties in Napa, the River Terrace Inn provides a somewhat more reasonable option, but the amenities and general feel are nowhere near as high end. One of my biggest pet peeves in hotels are properties that maintain window-based heating/air conditioning units. The noise from these units, cycling on and off during the night is atrocious and makes me feel like I time travelled to the 1960's. Unfortunately, the River Terrace Inn is one of these properties. For the money, I absolutely expect central heat/air. Otherwise, the property was decent. If you are unfamiliar with Napa when you book a hotel, be sure to avoid paying extra for a "river view." There truly is no view at this property, except for a very small bank. You'll be paying extra to look at some asphalt leading to mud. Nothing like the views at the Yountville Inn, for example, where you truly have rushing water and spectacular riverbank. Overall, the River Terrace Inn was a good choice, given how expensive other local properties were for the same time (we went at harvest or "crush"). Best advice I can give is that, if you are looking for a true, romantic property, look elsewhere....again, Yountville Inn, or Villagio (great breakfast there!) or Harvest Inn are great romantic options. This one is more practical, great for a girls weekend, or group getaway.

Location was pretty good, if you don't mind staying near downtown Napa. Wine country gets prettier when you go further north, which is why Yountville (as mentioned several times) is such a lovely place to stay. Although I will say that downtown Napa is nice for restaurant options and walking around. It's a cute area to spend a few hours.

Room Tip: Don't pay for river view - there isn't one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHapp, General Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Christine M,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and others. We genuinely value your comments and concerns as we continually strive to provide the ultimate Napa experience for each and every guest. Thank you for making us aware of any disappointments you experienced during your stay, we apologize for any discomfort or inconvenience. We value your feedback and will allow it to contribute to our improvement to better accommodate our guests in the future. Once again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you will consider staying with us again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    545
    187
    68
    43
See reviews for
221
941
25
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our favorite Yountville hotel was booked so we decided to stay at the River Terrace Inn. We liked the fact that it overlooked the river and was more intimate than some of the other larger hotels. What a delight! The staff welcomed us with a bottle of champage and we enjoyed a toast to our ten years together as we relaxed on the balcony of our room. That evening we ventured downtairs to find a local winery offering tastings and massage therapists offering complimentary 10 minute massages. (Full in-room treatments can be reserved too). The next day the concierge set us up with bikes, a winery map, and tasting coupons - we didn't have to plan a thing! Crashing in a comfortable king bed with down pillows was a great way to end the day. Breakfast at the neighboring Cuvee Restaurant was amazing - very good food! We will definitely return for our next anniversary and plan for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Riverside Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D_Traveler_Too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHapp, General Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear D_Traveler_Too,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are happy to have been a part of celebrating a decade of love and we are excited to hear you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. We take great pride in our staff and we are glad to hear that they were helpful and able to add to your positive experience. We hope to see you back for any occasion again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I booked this hotel, not knowing anything about it. The reviews on this site helped me decide it might be worth the stay. My husband and I really enjoyed this hotel that gave us a river view from our room with a small balcony overlooking it. Our bed was one of those amazingly comfortable king beds with feather pillows. It was a good sized room and comfortably layed out. The staff of this hotel could not be more accommodating and were a real pleasure to deal with. Also, if you get a chance to go to the Cuvee Restaurant which the hotel uses as their own, you won't be disappointed. Great food and good wine.

Room Tip: Quiter rooms in back overlooking the river are nice. Sit on the balcony with a nice glass of wine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHapp, Director of Sales at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Diane P,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your room, balcony views, and our restaurant! We take great pride in our staff and we are extremely happy to hear that they helped provide a positive experience. We hope to see you back with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, very centrally located to oxbow market & some great restaurants. The room we had overlooked the river, had a jacuzzi tub, comfortable king size bed & plush pillows. Most of staff was very friendly & helpful, providing us with great recommendations. Only cons: long black hairs in bathroom & a front desk employee that does not like wine & could not provide assistance with vineyards to visit, we're in Napa... Wine country. Overall, would visit again & highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingcouple149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

A nice and relax inn. The staffs were all friendly and nice. Room was great, love the big beds. Napa is a nice place and hope to have few more days to stay. However, the swimming pool is a little small. Overall, I would recommend my friends to stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amamenilec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHapp, Director of Sales at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Celine1974,
We are happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us and were able to enjoy your room! Thank you for your feedback concerning our amenities. We strive to provide the ultimate Napa experience for each and every guest. We greatly appreciate your willingness to recommend us to your friends! Thank you for sharing with us and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I had a great time on my recent visist to the River Terrace Inn! We were assisted by Danielle at check in who was very friendly and able to assist us with any questions regarding the resort. Also Loved Genie (correct spelling?) the Concierge who really planned the entire stay right on the spot with Fabulous wineries to visist as well as letting us know about the Skyline park for a great hike get away! Had Breakfast and Dinner at Restaurant Cuvee and had excellent cervice from Waiter Chris as well as an older woman with a pony tail in the morning (it was too early so I didnt even think of getting her name but she was very personable!) In all we had a fabulous trip and loved the river view from our room with ducks flying by and hot air balloons lofting slowly by in the morning. Cant wait to come back!

Room Tip: Third Floor River view would probably been the best rooms! We had second floor and was still great s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHapp, Director of Sales at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Michael C,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we are happy to hear that it was an enjoyable one! We take great pride in our staff members and we are glad that they contributed to your positive experience. We strive to provide the ultimate Napa experience for each and every guest. Once again, thank you for sharing and we look forward to seeing you back here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I was distressed to find that - whereas my written review was highly positive, I must have mistakenly given the hotel a numerical negative score instead of the excellent one I had intended. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and intend to continue to choose it during my yearly trips to Napa

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHapp, Director of Sales at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Alexandra H,
Wow, we are flattered by your lovely words! Your highly positive review, and the effort you now took with this post, genuinely mean so much to us. We value you as your guest and your thoughts. Once again, we sincerely appreciate your loyalty and kind words. We look forward to having you back here with us in Napa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,011 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
2.0 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#12 of 30 in Napa
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel

Property: River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559-1908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Napa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#12 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than an hour's drive from San Francisco and the Bay Area, the River Terrace Inn, a luxury Napa Valley hotel, offers the perfect Napa retreat. With its refined, pastoral charm and innovative features, our casually elegant Napa Valley hotel is the perfect balance of Wine Country serenity and urban hospitality. Discover wine country in Napa Valley, a peaceful sanctuary nestled among lush, rolling hills, a sea of vivid wildflowers, and radiant vineyards. Set in the heart of the Napa Valley Wine Country, River Terrace Inn features luxurious accommodations, personalized services, and a pristine riverfront setting. The River Terrace Inn is an enchanting blend of modern elegance, laid-back California charm and the energy of downtown Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Napa
River Terrace Napa
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing