We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel and great location”

River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel and great location”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel room itself was wonderful and the location was great. While the price of the hotel was a little pricey - all of them are in Napa, we loved the room and were very happy with the service. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cincy45209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHapp, Director of Sales at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Cincy45209,
We are flattered by your words! We are so excited you enjoyed your room, convenient location, and staff. We take great pride in our staff members and we are glad that they contributed to your positive experience. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope we're able to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    541
    181
    67
    43
See reviews for
216
934
25
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed here for three nights on our first trip to Napa. Really can't fault the hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful - quick check in and out. We had booked through a package as part of 14 night holiday across California and the hotel included breakfast at Cuvee which was fantastic. Although we had a resort view room we found the room to be quiet and still had great views. The room was very spacious, clean, very comfortable bed and everything you would expect in such hotel room - the bathroom, although no bath, had a huge walk in shower. The hotel's bar area and outside area at the back are delightful. It's location is also a huge plus - 5 mins walk to the Napa Wine Train, 10 mins walk to the Oxbow Public Market and 15 mins walk to downtown. We didn't use the car for the time we were there, whcih was great. Also plenty of free self parking which is great. While we were there we did the Wine Train for lunch and a days cycle tour around the vineyards - both highly recommended. Enjoy Napa and this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHapp, Director of Sales at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear mjools,
We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast here, quiet and spacious rooms, great views, and amenities! We're also very happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our convenient location! We are very proud of our staff and we're happy to hear they contributed to your positive experience. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and others. We genuinely appreciate getting this feedback! We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Napa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

No, they're not on the "fashionable" side of the highway in the downtown area, but they've got an awesome location near the river with a great view. The rooms were lovely---the shower was a real standout--and there was plenty of room for us and our luggage. The staff was friendly and made shipping our wine home a breeze.

On the negative side, our air conditioner and ceiling fan were loud. I have problems with premature waking and things like that will keep me up. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again though. I thought it was an excellent value.

Room Tip: A river view would be nice if you can spend the $$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaB1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHapp, Director of Sales at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear LisaB1138,
We're so glad to hear you enjoyed our location, lovely rooms, friendly staff, and amenities! We work hard to provide the ultimate Napa experience to each and every guest. Thank you for making us aware of your concerns. We sincerely appreciate your thoughts so that we may continue to improve upon ourselves. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we can't wait to see you the next time you visit Napa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I really enjoyed our stay at River Terrace. We stayed 2 nights and didn't have any problems. It is fairly close to the main drag of the Napa wineries. The room was comfortable but pretty pricey. The room and bathroom appeared to have been remodeled recently. Our only complaint was the we paid over $300 per night and it did not include breakfast. It does have a restaurant in the hotel but we did not eat there. Overall good stay and we would come here again but probably during the week so the price is lower.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestHoneymooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHapp, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear WestHoneymooner,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please know that we value your insights. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

As background, we had lived in northern CA for five (5) years, have visited multiple times since we moved, and only stayed at the River Terrace Inn because it had been selected by friends. We reserved our room through a internet vendor and, in some ways, felt like we were penalized for it. For example, our room only had a desk chair to sit in; there was only one luggage rack, so one of our suitcases remained on the floor; the staff's building entrance was outside our window so keeping our curtains open for daylight was not an option; and when we asked if we could purchase the breakfast plan--like our friends, we were told it was not possible because we purchased our stay through a third party. In addition, we left the hotel early our first day and when we returned mid-afternoon, our room had not been serviced and we had to ask for assistance.

Now--to be fair, the staff was excellent, responsive, and in particular, the bar staff was great; and the gas fire pit on the patio was very enjoyable during the cool evenings. On the other hand, we've stayed other places like the Best Western (Napa)--which has receive outstanding reviews and is a better value--and I would recommend staying there. But if you are going to stay at the River Terrace Inn, don't reserve it through a vendor, use a travel agent (like our friends did) or call the hotel--to get the best package deal possible.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolfpack77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHapp, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Wolfpack77,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We apologize that some aspects of your stay were not satisfactory. Please know that customer satisfaction is our highest priority and we appreciate your insights. Booking direct through the website is great advice as we often have great packages that are a perfect fit for guests travelling such as our bed & breakfast package.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I guess for the price it was sort of passable. But, the entire hotel felt dirty and not maintained. I mean from the door to housekeeping on the first floor....white and had not ever been cleaned in months. That was the preface to the rest. The halls all had an antiseptic smell. Upon check in the room had a few problems, broken hair dryer, one bath towel, no shampoo.
Maybe i might be picky, but I made the reservation 6 weeks in advance. My room was in a closet area. The rooms are tiny.
Dont think I would go back. Even for free.

Room Tip: Dont bother staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSWTRAVELS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHapp, Guest Relations Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear BSWTravels20,

We regret that your experience was not satisfactory. Please know that your feedback regarding the cleanliness of our hotel is very important to us, and we often receive praise for the cleanliness of our rooms & hotel. We appreciate your insights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a very enjoyable two night stay at the River Terrace Inn recently. We had a village side room which looked out over the very centre of the hotel frontage, over the car park and to views of mountains and countryside beyond. It had a small balcony and was very peaceful.
The room was of a very good size with a most comfortable bed and pillows. The large walk in shower was excellent with a double shower head producing powerful jets of water.
There is a good sized refrigerator that is empty for your own use.
As a result of us e-mailing the hotel prior to arrival informing them that we were to celebrate both of our birthdays, we were pleased to find a gift of a card and a bottle of red wine that was left for us in our room - a very nice gesture, thank you very much!
We didn't use the pool area, but did have a look around one day. It was very quiet, nicely set out with good sunbeds and nice towels available. Adjacent to it is a small gym area. We wished we could have stayed for longer to enjoy it all.
We had excellent complimentary cooked breakfast each morning at Cuvee (the restuarant at the far end of the carpark); it's also a relaxing place to have a drink there in the evening.
There is a large free car park with plenty of room.
Overall we were very satisfied and wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterSitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,990 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
2.0 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Napa Valley
#11 of 30 in Napa
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel

Property: River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559-1908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#5 Family Hotel in Napa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#12 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than an hour's drive from San Francisco and the Bay Area, the River Terrace Inn, a luxury Napa Valley hotel, offers the perfect Napa retreat. With its refined, pastoral charm and innovative features, our casually elegant Napa Valley hotel is the perfect balance of Wine Country serenity and urban hospitality. Discover wine country in Napa Valley, a peaceful sanctuary nestled among lush, rolling hills, a sea of vivid wildflowers, and radiant vineyards. Set in the heart of the Napa Valley Wine Country, River Terrace Inn features luxurious accommodations, personalized services, and a pristine riverfront setting. The River Terrace Inn is an enchanting blend of modern elegance, laid-back California charm and the energy of downtown Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Napa
River Terrace Napa
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing